Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
54
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2017
Love American Dad! Very funny! Arrived on time and in good condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 April 2009
American Dad is on fire at the moment. I've always enjoyed it, but it has lived in the shadow of it's bigger brother, 'Family Guy', since it began.

And that really is unfair, because while 'Family Guy' of late seems to be getting increasingly desperate for your attention, and the overtly American references can leave a British viewer cold more often than not, 'American Dad' has been getting better and better.

Seen 'American Dad' before, and thought "Meh, it's alright, but it's not 'Family Guy'"? Forget that. Now is the time to return to it, and see just how deliriously good it's become. Despite what else has been said, the plots are very good and surprisingly clever, and it's willingness to go where other shows won't keeps it fresh.
It is, of course, a comedy, and the laughs come thick and fast, and louder than ever. But what I really appreciate about 'American Dad' is that it doesn't artificially fish for a giggle like 'Family Guy' tends to do. In fact, in one episode here, Stan so much as points out the fact, after talking, and leaving a long hanging silence: "What? Not everything is funny, sometimes you just need to get information out." Ironically, this willingness to be more relaxed and less hyperactive than Family Guy actually makes you appreciate the humour all the more (and there's plenty of that).

Really, I can't describe to you just how brilliantly this show is maturing. Dare I say it, quality-wise American Dad is moving in on the Simpsons in it's heyday, and I'm not exaggerating. This is the better show compared to Family Guy; if you've wathced before but lapsed, this is the time to return. If you're new to American Dad, this is where the best material lies (so far).
You're in good hands here, and I honestly can't wait to see where this show goes next. I can't recommend this high enough. By hook or by crook, get into it: you won't regret it.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
If you like the Simpsons or family guy , the Cleveland show you would love American dad ! It packed with joy and it's funny. But this is the end of series 3 and the beginning of series 4 but still very good and I couldn't stop laughing !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As with most American Dad and Family Guy (shudder) boxsets, this isn't so much the fourth season as broadcast as the end of the third and the start of the fourth. No matter, the episodes on offer here are crackers.

Tearjerker (a sort of Bond parody, and one of the finest AD episodes to date)
Oedipal Panties
Widowmaker
Red October Sky
Office Spaceman
Stanny Slickers II: The Legend Of Ollie's Gold
Spring Break-up
1600 Candles
The One That Got Away
One Little Word
Choosey Wives Choose Smith
Escape From Pearl Bailey
Pulling Double Booty
The Most Adequate Christmas Ever

For the most part these episodes keep the quality level high. As ever, the actual plots are awful, but its the gags you watch it for, and the gag rate is high. The series is getting better with age, so expect this to be the best of the four sets released so far.
44 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
i like u can hear the beep words on the DVD compare to seeing it on TV. Tear Jacker episode is very funny making fun of James Bond films.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
If you like "The Simpsons" and by that "Family Guy" then you would love another animated series regarding family life, action, problem and best of all humor.

The seller acted quick and the product arrived in great (as described) condition. The third and most important thing here was also the price for a full season of "American Dad" - it was quite cheap so I RECOMMEND buying from this person.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
I love all American dad dvd's I have them all 1-9 cant wait for 10 to come out ,recommend them to anyone!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
I am a huge "American Dad" and "Family Guy" fan and I have every season of family guy and decided to begin buying American dad. I bought the first true volumes from a store and then I bought volume four online. It arrived just 2 days later on standard delivery! The price was great and the show itself is hilarious. I highly recommend this to anyone that doesn't get too easily offended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
There was not enough episodes!, the James Bond spoof is by far the best one of this series. Roger just gets better and better, I didn't like the episode ' the most adequate Christmas ever' as it featured mainly Stan so bit of a let down.
The mini documentary on Rogers disguises was quite good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
Fun enough to watch and better than some previous series but not as engaging as the first series of American Dad or Family guy.
This (volume 4) is one half of the American series 3, you need volume 3 to complete the series. Bear in mind this means you're getting less episodes for your money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)