Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
61
4.7 out of 5 stars
Mistresses: Series 2 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 August 2017
Excellent value and very good quality. Good value for money. Very pleased, would always recommend !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2017
Just loved this. Would have like more series. Must watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Dubious relationships celebrated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2009
This is an excellent second series of this well written series.
I had followed the series on television and purchased the DVD to send to my daughter ( and her friends) in Canada - they love a dose of good english TV to watch on their girls night in!
As ever delivered promptly by Amazon.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 12 March 2009
If, like me, you loved the first series of MISTRESSES, you are bound to enjoy this second series just as much. Currently showing on BBC1, the second series picks up where the first season left off. Siobhan and Harry are trying to build their marriage back up following her affair which bore her a child; Katie is in a new job at a hosiptal following her relationship with a younger man and one of her patients; Jess has fallen in love with and married a man just like her, spirited; and Trudy is building a new life with Richard, who is seemingly mister perfect.

This is definitely SEX AND THE CITY, only British style. I like all of the characters - they are not perfect, they have vulnerabilities and their own charcater traits. Watching this series every week, there seems to be a bit of each woman within me - I can empathise and relate to various parts of each woman's separate story. Watching this, you can easily see that mistresses rarely are the sort of person who go out of their way to catch married men - love is never an easy journey and before you know it, it can get you doing things you never expected you would. But what I also love about it is that, especially through Siobhan's story, MISTRESSES shows that women also have sexual needs.

I recommend this series just as much as I would recommend series one. Great story lines and superb acting by all.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2009
Mistresses Season 2 lives up to the hype as our four favourite ladies return for lots more lies, secrets and affairs of the heart.

So what's happening for the four lovely ladies in this season? Well Jessica (Shelley Conn) has apparently abandoned her lesbian tendencies and is now getting married to a playboy millionaire but can the two really do exclusivity? Katie (Sarah Parish) is starting a new job in a hospital and romance is blossoming with one of the doctors but could an old flame be set to jeopardise things? Trudi (Sharon Small) appears to be having doubts about her now live-in boyfriend, Richard as a mysterious woman enters the scene. Siobhan (Orla Brady), meanwhile is still waiting for her husband Harri to forgive her for for having an affair. Sexually frustrated she searches for a release with disastrous consequences.

All sound very exciting? Yes the storylines are meaty and are guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seats for all this wonderful series. The script is sharp, with the story moving along very fast. There is no room for lapses of concentration.

The acting is superb. All four ladies are different and bring something fresh to the role as they excellently portray very much real, everyday women. That perhaps is the charm of this series: there is something remarkably ordinary about it. The women are not perfect. They all have their own weaknesses and they portray situations that one could easily find themselves in in real life. Everyone will have their favourite lady: the one they feel they can relate to. The men, both the originals and the new members are equally complex and different.

How does it compare to Season 1? Well unlike so many second seasons, Mistresses Season 2 will definitely satisfy former fans of the show, while possibily even hooking a few more along the way. The great news is that this series is easy to follow even if you haven't watched the first series.

I cannot find anything really to fault this series on as I found it really enjoyable and I was sad when the series came to an end. Thankfully there will be a third series. If I was to really be picky I could say that this series was not as tense as the previous one. The storylines in the previous series such as Trudi's mysterious phone-calls,(which often made me feel scared in the seat) Katie's dangerous affair and Siobhan's give-in to temptation (which made me tremble for a whole different reason!)were perhaps somewhat grittier and more mysterious. This however is a minor fault and certainly does not decrease this series's value.

To conclude I would highly recommend this series. It is sleek, sexy (especially Jessica's wardrobe) and seductive, a perfect way to relax after a hard day at the office. Above all it will make you appreciate how simple your life is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2009
if you have missed this series on television i would strongly recommend that you purchase this dvd. mistresses is smart sexy and keeps you gripped every episode, one of the best drama series on tv.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
I bought Mistresses: series 2 because I was so impressed having watch series 1 (see my review). The central characters all return and, whilst their lives move on and into 'other teritories', the intrigues and almost inevitable heartbrakes that follow, weave their dreaded spells on our central characters. There are a few surprise twists and turns in this series which add to the interest. Again, sterling performances from the cast although it does not quite have the same impact as the first series did. For all who like the best of BBC dramas, I can thoroughly recommend this addition (along with series one and three) to your collection. It is sure to make you experience a whole host of emotions. It deserves 10 out of 10, though I can only give it 4 out of 5 stars. For it unfortunately has no chance of a perfect score as it lacks the originality that the first series had in its favour. A great viewing experience nevertheless and well worth the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2009
I don't get the Sex in the City comparisons - I suppose it's just BBC marketing hype. This series is a lot grimmer and a lot less fluffy. I found the doctor story a bit dull (sorry Sarah Parish - it wasn't you, it was the script), but the Siobhan/Hari story was truly fantastic and truly tragic.
Another thing I liked was that all the women were of a sensible age - the "young" events manager was played by an actress in her early thirties, and all the others were in their forties, with Orla Brady (Siobhan) being an impressive 48.
I hope there isn't a third series though - I can't see it going anywhere but downhill.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)