Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
28
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 5 May 2017
love this CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Arrived on time all soundtracks r positive no problems mark
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2016
Does what it says on the tin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
Very happy with my cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2004
I'm completely gutted! I have the original on tape which was getting worn out and can't be played in the car so I decided to buy the CD. However, some of the tracks are missing and it all sounds completely different. It's still a beautiful album but for lovers of the original - don't bother.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2002
First of all, I would like to echo the positive comments which have been already expressed by other reviewers of this wonderful soundtrack.
Despite the fact that it is a re-recording and NOT the original recording found on the original 1992 CD release, the sound quality here is excellent throughout. And yes, it is marvellous to have the extra tracks and all this being presented in the correct order is also great.
However, I have a problem with this release and that is that (very brief) Clannad song "I will find you" is NOT on this CD. The reason for this is probably because they could not use the song on this Varese Sarabande score release. This is a crying shame really, because I am sure that all big fans of the film will be disappointed to hear this news.
Strangely enough, Michael Mann himself decided to cut the song from his special "Expanded Director's Edition" DVD release in the USA, so perhaps that is another potential explanation as to why the song is missing here.
In summary then, please do not let this omission put you off from buying the CD. However, for the complete Last of the Mohicans soundtrack experience, you will still need both this release and the original CD too.
Now if only someone would get round to finally releasing Michael Mann's "Manhunter" soundtrack on Compact Disc (CD) ...!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2001
This is definately one of the few albums or soundtracks that you'd be pushed to find a track you don't like. It's really incredible and brings back all the great scenes in the film. The slower tracks are so beatiful they almost send you into a dream world and the quicker ones , like The Kiss, get your feet tapping. A great all rounder. You will definately not be dissappointed with this, i only wish it was longer.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2002
i only bought this for the main theme which coupled with the end sequence is the most emotional piece of cinema ive seen. but the other tracks are also beautiful just not of the same majesty. this is a must for lovers of music full stop
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2006
Well what can I say about this reworking of such a great soundtrack, yes I said reworking as that what this is.
Although it reads like that it is the original soundtrack to this great film, it is not.
It is a very watered down version of the original.
I have the original and have played both one after the other and this version has no feeling it sounds like so many other soundtracks, weak and almost forgettable.
I say almost forgettable as the music itself is beautiful and you can nearly get a feel of this with this watered down version.
Gone is the passion the sense of foreboding the thrill of the chase as well as the sadness conveyed in the original.
The record industry are moaning about the state of there sales well if this is what they are offering then I am not surprised. Not only do they mislead the customer into thinking that this is the original soundtrack. But it is at least 10 minutes shorter than the original and it has been turned it to a bland listening experience. They would have been far better digital remastering the original and adding extra tracks and also putting it in the correct running order.
So if I was you forget this version and do yourself a favor and find the original and leave this one in the bargain bin, I wished I had.
22 Comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2000
The film is brilliant and the soundtrack is exceptionally briliant and very moving. It is the best movie sondtrack I have ever listened to and I recommend any interested fan to buy this CD. I would definitely give it a 5 star rating.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)