Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2017
Can't get much better than Ultravox in the 80's, DVD brings back great memories, I spy my friend Colin King from The Messengers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2009
This could arguably be the best live recording ever... and now it has been remastered it is even more impressive. Having bought the original 6 track on cassette way back when, and then the re-issue on CD, adding two extra tracks, I was not overly bothered about taking a 3rd hit to get an extra track and a remastered version. However the sound is great and worth the extra few pounds. What is even more appealling is the DVD footage of the concert that is included. Albeit the quality of the film is, at best, suspect, when compared with much newer, purpose made shows, the live show from '82 is a brilliant reminder of a band at its peak. And if you think you already have this by taking it from youtube, then you may be pleasantly surprised as the crew at Abbey Road have improved things greatly in the sync department (somewhat out on previous releases).

Best bits? Well, I think everyone reading this will know of the drum solo at the end of 'The Voice', and for me it is still a fantastic sound and sight (I am hoping that the band reprise this in the forthcoming 'Return To Eden' tour), and my fav 'Visions in Blue', I would argue that Ultravox's haunting tones are better here than in 'Vienna'. The addition of 'The Song (we go)' is a nice touch but adds little in my opinion.

As a definitive live recording from one of the most influential bands from the 80's, this CD/DVD package will appeal to a great number of people; those looking to update their Ultravox collection, those looking for some nostalgia, or those simply wanting great music, performed brilliantly.

The best, best bit? Possibly it's seeing it (27 years on!!) at Hammersmith in April '09. Return To Eden? You bet!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2009
Quite simply this is brilliant. It may be short but it is surely a lesson that quality is much more important than quantity. The original CD has been bolstered with the inclusion of The Song (We Go) which was not included on the original album. The sound has been vastly improved giving much more clarity and separation with a much fuller sound. But the real pleasure here is the DVD. Originally available many years ago on VHS the concert footage has been restored for DVD and what a wonderful job the folks at Abbey Road Interactive have done. Both sound and picture are stunning. It really is quite amazing. Once again, it's short but it's a fantastic performance. Especially love the drum solo - a very unique and entertaining idea and a heck of a lot more interesting than some boring guitar theatrics. Great performers and a brilliant snapshot of a band at the height of their success.
Roll on the tour 2009.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2010
having seen the recent performance of Ultravox at the HMV Apollo Hammersmith - travelled from Italy especially for this concert - and knowing so well the masterpieces of the career of the group, it has been, and still is, a pure joy to watch them performing the same songs but in the period of their triumph. Excellent music, pure joy from the audience, the band so professionally involved in their performance, the architectural set so reminiscent of the atmosphere of Fritz Lang's Metropolis: it's a feast for those like me in their fifty-something but I think it's a great lesson for younger music-lovers because in this music we can find at the same time the evolution of the Bowie-Berlin-era and the roots of a lot of the music of the 90s
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2009
This album (or EP as it was originally released) has been unavailable in my part of the world for many years so this re-release is most welcome. The sound recording of this mini concert is awesome, something we have come to expect from those wizards at Abbey Road. But there is more than just sound going on here, you also get a DVD of the accompanying longform video that was released on vhs all those years ago and it looks amazing. For picture that was shot on 16mm film and is now over 25 years old, you manage to get an idea of what it was like to see Ultravox at the zenith of their career. Oh and as others have written before me, there's that amazing group drum solo. Spectacular stuff indeed. I only wish the full concert could have been included but I guess as was the norm in the 80's, the left over footage would have been dumped/binned. So this will just have to do. At least we have a "Monument" from one of the bands that IS the 80's.

The other titles in this series are also recommended. Vienna: Remastered Definitive Edition,Rage in Eden: Remastered Definitive Edition and Quartet: Remastered Definitive Edition should get you started.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It is the generous contents of this CD/DVD package that merits five stars. The original LP had six tracks, barely thirty minutes of music from Ultravox's live concerts. Now the CD has nine tracks (the additions being `Visions in Blue', `Passing Strangers', and `The Song (We Go)'), totalling forty-five minutes. However, the DVD remains with the original six.

I do not usually buy live albums, but in this instance I did actually go and see Ultravox perform, and it was one of the most enjoyable experiences of my mid-to-late teens. Here, the performance of `the Voice' ends with their usual display of dexterous drumming, whilst `Passing Strangers' has a welcome extended guitar solo. The only duff track is `The Song (We Go)', which is a bit of a mess.

The thirty-minute DVD includes brief footage of life recording the `Quartet' album in Montserrat, as well as short extracts featuring producer George Martin, and album-sleeve designer Peter Saville. The live concert itself is interspersed with extracts from the group's videos. The only extra is a gallery of monochrome photographs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Yes there's more tracks than on the original LP but why not just release a full length concert? The opening track Monument is a mediocre studio instrumental, probably a B side in its day, really a filler. The final track "We Go" is from a different concert. I saw Ultravox back in the day live and they did an excellent gig. What's here is good but a missed opportunity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
Loved this first time round, and it is great to get it in this format. I had the video footage on VHS and we recently went through all of those trying to replace them on DVD. I was very disappointed that this was not available, then remembered that the DVD came with the CD. Happy bunny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2010
It's a real shame that Ultravox ever thought this was good enough to release. A handful of tracks from a full show. Every song on the DVD has much of the onstage footage replaced by some from the song's video. In the case of Mine for Life, the only non-single, they used footage from the Passing Strangers video. Given that the VHS of The Collection was available shortly after this was first released in the 1980s, what was the point? I suspect that it was that the band, or whoever else was responsible, thought that onstage footage alone would be too boring to attract the average pop fan. And why so short?

Despite that, the glimpses shown here portray an exciting live band giving their best to an ecstatic crowd. This was the first tour that the band used digital synths like the PPG Wave 2.2, as opposed to their mainly-Yamaha analogue setup previously, and the string sounds in particular suffer in comparison, showing an obvious thinness. Try playing Vienna or Reap the Wild Wind next to their studio counterparts.

I'd say only worth buying if you don't have it already in some other format.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)