Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
87
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2013
I have enjoyed many of Howard Goodall's compositions and this is no exception.
Indeed, it is one of the most satisfying collections I have heard. Like all of his work, it is profoundly moving and is expressed in an understated style that is unmistakably English.
I enjoy a lot of sacred music- Bach , Mozart and Haydn for their richness and splendour; Howard Goodall's music is neither derivative nor imitative- it has a simplicity and tenderness that is immediately appealing..
In this Collection, my favourites are the settings of the Hymn Lead Kindly Light, the evocative Lachrymosa and the heart rending "Spared"- which uses the agony of September 11, to demonstrate that "love is all there is"
Sublimely conceived and beautifully performed, a wonderful addition to my collection
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
On time and what we needed for a concert later. We needed to do this and know the work it isn't one of my favourite pieces though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Well if you like dirges then this is for you, cos this is all that this is, was going to be a Christmas present, but have decided to give it to a charity shop, maybe they can sell it off to someone who likes dirges..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
Beautiful to listen to; beautiful to sing (http://www.parenthesis.org.uk/index.html Performing in Reading, Berks UK 7 May, 2015
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2008
I heard this piece as part of a performance of the ballet by the Rambert ballet company, and was immensely moved by it. It truly lifts the listener to an existence beyond the material world. Buy it! You will never tire of listening to it.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2011
Howard Goodall says in his notes that "this was to be a Requiem for the living, a Requiem focussing on interrupted lives .... in particular the catastrophic grief that follows the loss of young people". In the piece,Howard Goodall skilfully uses English poetry with fragments of Latin, either sung together or antiphonally. There is much to admire in this work and each listener will have their own favourite movements. Howard Goodall displays a great gift for melody as well as providing contrasts in mood. The over-riding feel of the work is one of peace, which is after all what those who are bereaved are seeking. The CD is completed with three other short choral works: Love Divine, The Lord is my Shepherd and Spared. Natasha Marsh, Alfie Boe, Christopher Maltman, London Musici and the Choir Of Christ Church Cathedral, Oxford give a very satisfying performance, which is well worth investigation.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2012
I have recently been rehearsing this work for a small community choir and think it is a great piece of music with some excellent melodies and really good arrangements and stands up alongside many of the great choral works of all time, so I decided to get the download to see how it should sound.

What a disappointment!

I have two major gripes.

Firstly the quality of the recording is very poor. I believe this is a live recording of the premier performance, however the sound is very indistinct. The choir becomes very blurred and the dynamics are very flat and there are often problems with the balance between the vocalists and the instrumentalists.

Secondly The soprano soloist is an opera singer who manages to get vibrato on her vibrato a la Lesley Garrett. Why do beautiful choral works that come over best with a clear pure sound then get big powerful opera singers to ruin them.

If you want to hear a really good recording of a requiem, then I would highly recommend Ensemble Musique Oblique's recording of Faure's Requiem and The Messe des Pecheurs de Villerville by Messager/Faure instead.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2009
This is a beautiful, lyrical, very accessible modern requiem, originally composed for a Ballet Rambert performance of the same name. It combines the traditional format of the requiem mass, in latin, with songs, arias, poems and original words in english set to the most ravishing music. Played by a chamber orchestra including two pianos, a chamber choir and soloists. On a wry note, you will hear an unintended reference to "The Vicar of Dibley", but don't let that put you off. Highly recommended - see the dance performance as well, if you can (2009 tour), to hear the music live in its original intended setting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2009
Howard Goodall shows us what can be achieved by contemporary composers. There is very little on the CD that I didn't like. The Recordare is terrifying clever and sounds very challenging to sing. 'Lead, Kindly Light' is a welcome surprise. The 'bonus' tracks at the end are variable: 'Love Divine' is superb and I have to disagree with the reviewer who thought it would be useful for choirs as the different time signatures from bar to bar will make it difficult for anything other than very accomplished choirs to tackle. Track 10 (the In Paradisum) brings the whole requiem together superbly. One slight criticim is Natasha Marsh's voice - I would have preferred a richer-toned mezzo; however this does not detract from the intrinsic goodness of this work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2008
With breathtaking music played by London Musici and angelic vocals from the Choir of Christ Church Cathedral, Oxford, Goodall's "Eternal Light" is able to evoke the listeners' deepest emotions, successfully showing both the deep sadness and loss associated with death and the splendours of the afterlife.

Goodall's refreshing, original and intelligent take on the Requiem, manages to create a certain relevance to today's society without destroying the foundations of a Requiem. By combining the Latin sequence of a requiem with words to some of the finest poetry, Goodall creates a beautiful array of emotions, and makes the requiem more accessible and meaningful to the listeners.

Eternal Light is a joy to listen to over and over again. Its superbly constructed movements with harmonies that will undoubtedly stick with and move you, Goodall's requiem is a truly magnificent piece of music. Anyone who appreciates either music or poetry will see how Goodall's choice of poems compliment the Latin meaning of each movement, and emphasises the powerful, confusing range of the strongest emotions one feels after losing someone.

Beautiful, inspiring, emotional and stunning, Eternal Light must be one of the best pieces of music I've ever heard. I simply cannot do it justice in this review, nor can I recommend it highly enough.
11 Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)