Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
174
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2014
Adam Sandler is right on the money with this story and my little boy loves it and watches it over and over. He quotes bits from the film all the time especially "I see London, I see France, I see my golden underpants" love the characterisations and acting by the stars in the movie and it's really enjoyable family movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
an amazingly entertaining film . it doesn't buffer its free and its instant . The film itself is awesome , very original unlike most films . Well , Skeeter (Adam sandler ) and his dad and sister own a small motel but Skeeters dad cannot afford it and ends up selling it to this rich guy . It becomes a top end massive hotel and when skeeter is an adult he works as a janitor or something . Anyway , the school his neice and nephew ( Patrick and bobbi ) attend and his sister plays principal to is closing down to become a new hotel so Skeeters sister a very health conscious mom goes to Arizona for a job interview . She asks Skeeter , along with the help of her friend and fellow teacher , Jill , to babysit Bobbi and Patrick for the week . Bobbi and Patrick don't know how real kids behave since they've never watched tv or eaten a hamburger so Skeeter tells them stories instead like his dad used to do for him . Skeeter discovers whatever Bobbi and Patrick contribute to the story comes true so he tries to get them to say things that will benefit him . The genre is very mixed . maybe slight comedy , adventure and almost like sci fi or fantasy . Great movie would recommend . keeps kids quiet!!!! which is saying something/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
I was living in Norfolk Virginia during this time and fortunately persuaded my husband to see Bedtime Stories with me at the movie theater(inside the MacArthur Center mall). The bonus features attributed to the Bedtime Stories dvd movie are sneaks on; Double Feature dvd of Dadnapped and Hatching Pete, Morning Light, Disney Princess Protection Program, Walt Disney Pictures; Tinkerbell and the Lost Treasure, what looks to be a commercial ad for Disney XD, G-Force, Walt Disney Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Disney Pixar Monsters Inc., Disney Blue Ray Magic in High-Def, and Disney Magic movie rewards. The actual Bedtime Stories movie stars Adam Sandler as Skeeter Bronson. Skeeter Bronson puts a lot in his hotel job and is surprised one day when he finds out that his boss Barry Nottingham (Richard Griffiths) promotes Kendall Duncan (Guy Pearce)for the job that he was sure was his. It was not from Skeeter Bronson having a sense of entitlement, rather it had to do more with how hard he was working and the original promise that Griffiths had made to this father Marty Bronson (Jonathan Pryce). Duncan is shown to be so crude and calculating to the point that he even dates the boss’s daughter Violet Nottingham (Teresa Palmer), but secretly carries a romantic torch for fellow hotel worker Aspen (Lucy Lawless). Skeeter’s friend Mickey (Russell Brand) tries to patiently explain to Skeeter Bronson why Duncan was chosen but Bronson appears to avoid taking Mickey’s suggestion (for certain reasons). Anyhow, in the meanwhile, Skeeter Bronson is also tasked with watching his niece Bobbi (Laura Kesling) and nephew Patrick (Jonathan Heit). This is because his sister Wendy Bronson (Courtney Cox) is looking to get a job in Arizona after hearing that she is going to be laid off. Fortunately, Wendy Bronson does have a good friend in Jill Hastings (Keri Russell). Anyhow, Skeeter Bronson also takes on the role of father figure as well because his sister also happens to be a single mother and he also cares to be a father figure influence in his niece and nephew’s life. Bronson’s life changes dramatically once he notices the power that his niece and nephew have with just telling their stories with their imaginations. The movie even implies why their storytelling is powerful when the quote in the movie is mentioned ‘Your Fun Is Only Limited by Your Imagination). There are some song snippets that play during the movie such as Fire by The Ohio Players,I’m On Fire by Bruce Springsteen, Disco Inferno by The Trammps, Eternal Flame by The Bangles, Rock Me Amadeus by Falco, and Don’t Stop Believing by Journey (towards the end of the movie).Of course, there are more actors and actresses featured, yet something tells me to save some plot info for those who have yet to see the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2009
Loved this film. I wish there were more film children oriented like this one available these days.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2009
This is a great film for all ages even my parents enjoyed it. very funny
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
I cannot believe all the great reviews of this film. it is simply not worthy. obviously money was spent making it, but it was lacking in anything of meaning or substance. The lead part is not what I regard a role model to children in his behaviour and basically, after pre viewing, did not show this to the children.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2008
today we saw this film and think it is a perfect family film with lots of humor.
perfect for your collection
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
One review that I read of this in the press said something along the lines of Adam Sandler destroying the magic of Disney. It's certainly not that bad but it's not that good either. Unfortunately I'm not a fan of the leading man and his brand of goofiness but he does a decent enough job and Russell Brand isn't as bad as painted either - he's just Russell Brand. He doesn't act, he just appears as himself in everything he's in. The story line is simple, Sandler looks after his sister's children for a week and finds that the bedtime stories he tells start to come true the following day. He soon realises however that only the parts told by the children themselves come true and so he tries to influence them with predictable consequences and of course it all ends happily ever after. Your kids will probably love it, you can probably bear it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
Didn't know anything about this film, except the adverts I saw when it was in the cinema. I thought it looked funny and that my 2 young girls would enjoy it. However, I must admit to being somewhat disappointed. I vaguely knew that the bedtime stories came true before watching the DVD, but the chap telling the stories cottons onto this and tries to use the stories to his advantage and make his life go the way he wants - hence the stories he tells his niece and nephew are a bit rubbish and short and stupid. There were some funny bits which my girls laughed at, but it wasn't quite what I expected and I didn't realise Russel Brand was in it.... euuuck!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
I bought this film in a weak minded moment, despite the fact that I really can't abide Russell Brand in general, but I eventually got round to watching it. And it is great fun! It's a charming family comedy with a little romance, and a lot of good clean slapstick that everyone can laugh at! I would have watched it sooner if I had known it starred Guy Pearce as a stiff-neck! It has some other familiar faces too. It is over all, great fun with no nastiness. I would have liked to have seen more of Courtney Cox though, as I've had a soft spot for her since seeing her in '3000 Miles To Graceland'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here