Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
448
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.75+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2009
Pinocchio has always been regarded as one of Walt Disney's finest, if not finest, animated films by animation historians and film critics alike, and it's good to see that it's finally received a 2 disc DVD version a film if its stature deserves, with a well-made documentary and other rare footage. It's miles better than the one disc Special Edition released a few years ago. Pinocchio has always been a special film for me personally, as it was the first film I ever watched as a child in the cinema. The story is timeless, and the picture and animation are even more beautiful with this latest digital restoration. A true classic.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Pinocchio' is a childhood favourite of many and one I particularly remember loving as child. It was bought for me recently as a present and I was immediately impressed at the quality of the animation; you tend not to notice these things as a kid! I am usually quite dismissive of Disney films for a variety of reasons but say what you will about them, the early films were exceptional and beautiful. This follows the fairytale of Pinocchio who is a tiny wooden puppet who is brought to life and who has to prove his bravery, honesty and unselfishness before he can be turned into a real boy. Some adventures then follow as he tries to fulfil this goal, with the help of Jiminy Cricket as his conscience. This has some wonderful songs and it is amazing how well these are still known. The part in the film when the boys are turned into donkeys could be deemed scary or mildly disturbing for some children, but I watched this film a lot as a kid and I never remember being upset by this part and loved this film. It is important to remember that we watch this from an adult perspective now and with adult sensibilities and political correctness and sheltering our kids can go too far; kids are more hardy than we give them credit for. This is a good length for most children at just over 80 minutes and it should kept hem spellbound for the duration. Modern animation is very polished and impressive, but there is something organic and real about hand drawn animation that leaves you feeling warm and contented. That may be rose tinted glasses and reminiscing about watching this film as a kid, but it feels right never the less. This disc has various extras on it, from sing along features, to a `making of' documentary but they are mainly aimed towards kids. The whole package has been reworked and spruced up for it's DVD and Blu-Ray release which makes for impressive viewing overall. This is a classic children's film and makes for magical viewing for both kids and adults alike and is well worth watching.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2003
The special DVD edition of Pinocchio is a perfect collector item, for Disney fans. The Special edition is digitally re-mastered, so that sound quality is a significant improvement compared from watching the animation let's say several years ago. The magical and musical dimensions of this Disney classic are re-lighted, whilst watching this DVD. The values and qualities of what most Disney animations typically represent are clearly depicted in Pinocchio. What I really admire about Pinocchio is the cheerfulness and way the characters are represented, which are colourful and humourless.

Pinocchio is fairly tale which originated from Italy. It is about a lonely and innocent toymaker's dream for his creation (wooden puppet) to become alive. Does his dream come true? The magic of Disney comes to light whilst watching the animation. That is the general gist of the story.

The extras accompanying the DVD include a commentary on the creation of Pinocchio. It is really interesting and fascinating to learn about. You can relieve the musical beats and moments of the movie which are real pleasure to listen to.

In a nutshell and straight to the point, Pinocchio is a Disney classic for all to enjoy and cherish. Disney is renowned for promoting family entertainment and this is an opportunity to watch the magic which Disney films continue to captivate audience with. To watch on DVD, is an extra bonus and real to joy to treasure in a DVD collection. If you are fan of Disney animations, Pinocchio is a truly recommended, as it consist of a simple story to follow, colourful characters and truly the voice of Disney.
11 comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2004
Hot on the heels of their success with their first full-length animated film, Snow White And The Seven Dwarfs (1937), along came Disney's second: Pinocchio (1940).
It tells the tale of a wood-carver who longs for a little marionette he created and named Pinocchio to be a real boy. One night, a Blue Fairy comes down from the heavens and grants him his wish -- sort of. She gives life to Pinocchio, but she refuses to make him a completely real boy until he does the following thing: prove himself brave, truthful and unselfish. Fortunately for him, there is a delightful little character determined to keep him on the straight and narrow and act as his conscience: Jiminy Cricket.
This feat Pinocchio is entrusted to fulfil seems easy, but as anyone knows, the world is full of temptations, meaning that there are many ways that, if Jiminy fails to influence him otherwise, will cause him to veer off course and scupper his chances of becoming a real boy...
This film is just magical. I don't just mean that it contains magic within the story. I mean that the whole thing just comes together beautifully, resulting in a technically impressive film (check out the rooftop panning shot that took out a sizeable portion of the budget!) that remains a classic. Delightful artwork, animation, story-telling and music combine to make a lovely film that kids and adults should enjoy very much, and should even find very moving in places.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2009
I'm sure you've all seen this classic film, so I will just get down to the nitty gritty. Picture quality is absolutely stunning. The cartoon looks like it was made yesterday! This Blu-ray package also comes with a DVD copy of the film.

There is also third disc with tonnes of bonus features including deleted scenes, an alternative ending, a trivia challenge, games, a documentary, an audio commentary and more.

The Blu-ray has English, Latin Spanish, Italian and Dutch subtitles. The DVD has English, Italian, Hindi, Dutch, Croatian and Slovenian subtitles. They both have English for the hearing impaired.

I almost forgot to mention that also included is a little Pinocchio doll that dances on command!

*Nose grows*

Okay, not really.
44 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2009
I was so relieved to find that this glorious film had been transferred to Blu-Ray in its original 4:3 format. So many times in the past have classics been ruined by "expanding" them into 16:9, causing the loss of the top and bottom of the screen (or even worse; the up and down pan-and-scan).

This Disney classic needs no introduction. Its an excellent film that has been marvellously reproduced. The colours are vibrant and clear. Detailed backgrounds come alive with clarity that I didn't know existed in this film.

A wonderful story that both young and old can enjoy.

Also the inclusion of a DVD version is a great plus to allow the kids (or indeed the parents) to watch it in another room.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2004
"When you wish upon a star, makes no difference who you are, anything you heart desires will come to you."
You've heard this song on the Disneyland and Superbowl commercials, but do you remember where it came from? It came from this cartoon, Pinocchio, Walt Disney's second feature to "Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs" in 1940. I repeat 1940!! Wow and to this day ,Pinocchio still stands out as one of the greatest movies of all time.
This opinion is about the 60th anniversay version of Pinocchio with THX sound and Remastered visual footage. It even has a bonus at the end about the making of Pinocchio!!! Wow.
This was a Christmas gift for my best friend and she loved it, and I can see why. Pinocchio is filled with dazzling animation,music and filled with so much fun and happyness that at the end of the movie , you will feel like wishing upon a star youreself.
Pinocchio is about a wooden puppet made by toymaker Geppeto (Christian Rub) who wants his own son. Geppeto makes one wish, to have his own son. Geppeto gets his wish when the Blue Fairy brings Pinocchio to life!!!
It took nearly 700 animators and technicians to bring Pinocchio to life and the hard work definitely shows!!!
People can say whatever they want about Disney current movies, true they lack a certain magic unlike their cherish cartoon like Pinocchio, but Disney is one of a few companies that has a SOLID record of making Cartoon Classics that are loved by everyone.
The fairy brings Pinocchio to life and promises to Pinoccho (voice of Dickie Jones) that he will remain a real boy if he follows the basic principles that every boy should have.
He has to be loyal, truthful and above fair. She assigns Jiminy Cricket (Cliff Edwards) to be Pinocchio's conscience. Well it sounds easy at first, but living up to these values is the real challenge here and Pinocchio tries his best to follow them,but since he has just being turned into a boy he doesnt yet know right from wrong.
This is where we meet characters like ,J. Worthington Foulfellow, Stromboli and Barker who take advantage of the young boy.
Jiminy Cricket and the fairy save Pinocchio from his judgement calls ,but yet Pinocchio doesnt learn to tell the truth and when he lies his nose starts to grow like a Christmas tree. :-)
Meanwhile Geppeto is looking for Pinocchio and ends up being captured by a giant whale Monstro!!!
Pinocchio saves Geppeto in a brillian animation sequence and Pinocchio by displaying bravery ends up being a real boy permanently.
It's a classic, I can say more but I dont want to spoil it for anyone
In an age, where moral, brilliant, wholesome cartoons are scarce you look back to the classics and Pinocchio will forever stand out as one of the greatest classics ever made by Walt Disney who has left his print in the world and in children's hearts.
Go out and buy this for youre children
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2000
This film is the most endearing of all Disney's full-length animation features, and, despite its age (it was made in 1940), it still remains fresh with every new viewing. This has as much to do with the perfect characterisations of the main protagonists as it does with the supreme quality of the animation and the picture's beautiful colour. The songs and musical interludes are also mainly memorable (high-lighted by the Oscar-winning and now classic "When You Wish Upon a Star"), but are not overbearing nor an infringement upon the story-telling and the morals and sentiments on which Collodi's fable are based. Some of the scenes, particularly that in the pool-room in which Lampwick mutates into an ass, achieve relevant moods and atmospheres which subsequent animators, even with the benefit of modern techniques, have never approached. With "Fantasia" (also released in 1940), this film marked the pinnacle of the Disney studio's development of the art of movie animation. Whilst the pictures of subsequent years continued to be hailed as classics and to achieve huge commercial success, none have surpassed the freshness, originality and technical innovation of Pinocchio and Fantasia.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Bought this for myself ( 49yr old mum and grandmother ) well why not?! I love my Disney too. I used to watch this when my son was just a little boy and now he has children of his own! My grandchildren watch this with me. It's wonderful to share with them the meanings of the story portrayed in the film as they enjoy the magic of Disney.
I would recommend this to any one who likes a good old fashioned favourite.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ah Pinocchio....

Such a sweet & cute little story about a old humble wood-carver named Geppetto who carves a wooden puppet named Pinocchio. Geppetto loves little Pinocchio so much that when he goes to bed that evening he makes a wish upon a star in the hope that his puppet, Pinocchio, will become a real boy!

I wont say anything else in-case you haven't seem the film & I don't want to spoil this perfect film. But I promise you, give it a chance & you will love it, such a classic!

The main film running time is 1 hour 24mins long & the DVD has full English subtitles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.75

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)