Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
107
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2017
I missed this series when it originally aired, after reading the reviews decided to order it.
Essentially the story is about a woman released from prison after 15 years. Implausible that she would not have been given a new identity and re-located to somewhere other than the location of the original crime. That said first the location is amazing, beautifull Yorkshire scenery. The transformation of the farmhouse is amazing.
Suzanne Jones is excellent in the role of Ruth Slater, child like at times and very vulnerable. Nice twist in the story becomes evident later in the series. Overall definitely worth watching. For a change an ending that is satisfying.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
This three-part mini series is worth watching for the brilliant acting by Suranne Jones. She performs with such intensity that she draws you into fully believing that you can experience the world as seen by a woman leaving prison for the first time in 15 years. Her tone of voice, facial expressions and body carriage all bespeak the bitterness, the sadness, the desperation that must be the lot of a person in that situation. It is a mesmerising performance.

The quality of the other performances in the series is also high, with familiar faces such as Peter Davison, Jemma Redgrave and Douglas Hodge lending strong support. I particularly liked the way Siobhan Finneran (O'Brien in Downton Abbey) played in her role.

The taut script, by Sally Wainwright, deals thoughtfully with the issues it raises and, combined with the skills of director, David Evans, delivers genuine tension and a sense of dread in several crucial scenes.

I took a star off my rating for this show because of the predictability and / or implausibility of some of the plot developments, particularly in the third episode and also because the script made Jones' character a bit too easy and quick to sympathise with. However, I still heartily recommend "Unforgiven" as absorbing viewing. Suranne Jones' performance will stay in your mind.
99 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
I loved this, it had me in tears.

But when I got to the end of the 3rd episode I was really surprised and disappointed that there wasn't a 4th episode to round the story off. If there'd been that last ending episode is have given this 5+ stars, as it is I think it deserves the 4 stars because what there is is brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
The acting is top class (bravo!), the story grabs you and makes you keep watching, but the star is surely the location. How they transformed the exterior of a dilapidated, neglected old farm house into a chic and classy modern dwelling is just miraculous.
I sent for this DVD after I caught the first, tantalising, episode on TV a few weeks ago, having completely missed the series first time round.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
Like the actress and character.
Difficult to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
Suranne Jones is excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
DVD was fine .... service good and efficient, I was well pleased with the copy provided!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
Truly excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
Absolutely riveting. Moving. Exciting. I still can't stop thinking about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2009
For a good actor to attain greatness many things are needed not least of which is luck. Finding the right vehicle for their talents is difficult: there can be few roles around as meaty as that of Ruth Slater. All of the characters are brilliantly drawn by Sally Wainwright though the plot does have a few well documented holes and perhaps the most telegraphed plot twist of the year.

There would have been many actresses suited for this role and doubtless some with a better pedigree than Jones. I have read that the part was written with Suranne Jones in mind and if that is true then, it was an inspired choice. Her performance has such vulnerability and emotional pain that one could imagine many a tearful night away from the set as Jones struggled to contain the character. The scene where she first discusses her sister with her parole officer is played by Jones with such honesty and subtlety as to move even the hardest of hearts. The acting credits don't end with Suranne Jones either: Peter Davidson is excellent, as is Jemma Redgrave and indeed the whole cast. But it is specifically Jones that lays a marker for the rest of her career in a performance that says, no matter what the part, she can deliver.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)