Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Kind Of Blue
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 January 2016
My review is for the Legacy edition only and only with concern for the quality of the recording as the content is legend.
Like just about every other historic album, there are many different CD releases on the market of the same thing, well not quite.
Older digital recordings are often flawed by a rush to market philosophy, combined with early digital recording technology. Later so called remasters using state of the art equipment, are more often than not much worse due to over compression and equalisation. It has been a marketing con of record companies and corporations to promote these louder dynamically squashed rehashes as remasters. I have been caught all too many times by what should have been a better quality sound recording, to find it was in fact much worse.
Back to Kind of Blue (Legacy Edition). Recorded back in 1959 on 3 - track tape and remastered for this edition by Mark Wilder, who was clearly on a mission to produce not only the best quality of sound but also an authenticity of the sound at that time, the result is stunningly good. It is hard to believe it possible that a recording made on 3- track magnetic tape 56 years ago could sound so alive, alive in a kind of magical way that almost takes you back to that time and place. There are so many works of great musical art now available to us all, sadly there are so few that do justice to the original recording of that art, it is I believe criminal, but a crime to which this recording is not guilty.
7 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 28 April 2017
I am increasingly becoming interested with Miles Davis' works in most recent times. Despite me not being a big jazz fan, I really love this record, I already own the Dave Brubeck quartets' classic album 'time out' I've developed a keen fascination of Miles Davis' albums. The tracks are very intriguing to listen, and sounds like an after hours type of rhythm. I love this vinyl reissue it is very relaxing and enjoyable.
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 28 March 2013
I started off as a Rock/Blues man and never really got into the whole jazz thing. A few years ago "Kind Of Blue" was reccommended by a friend and well....My musical life has never been the same since. I now own almost everything by Miles Davis and he is my ultimate musician of all time which is rather strange for a rocker.......haha. I appreciate that there are other jazz musicians who are greater masters of their instrument but they lack the emotion that Miles Davis offers. He is the only artist to touch my soul...In a almost haunting way. Davis was such a great composer , talent scout and creative force. Kind of blue , due to its commercial success is sometimes given a wide berth by jazz purists who insist there is better stuff out there.....Well I have yet to find it. I have bought stuff by Coltrane , Parker , Shorter & co and while they are talented guys they lack the ability to move me in the way that only Miles can. I like jazz but I LOVE Miles Davis. This is essential listening for all music fans.
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 14 June 2012
Not a jazz fan, but this is a great album. Elegant and sophisticated and a joy to listen to. A must for all music lovers.

However, I don't feel I personally know enough about jazz or Miles Davis to write a useful review here. At the risk of getting unhelpful votes I instead want to make people aware that the 2 disc version comes in a badly designed case which could lead to issues later on. Most 2 disc albums have a double sided tray which flips up to reveal the second disc, great stuff so far. However, these trays usually have a proper hinge meaning you can easily gain access to the discs, but this one instead seems to just have had a crimp/crease put into the tray so you can prise it up to get at disc two... but this also means it is prone to being snapped with use! It also prevents the case itself from closing properly leading to me having some issues storing the CD case in a rack.

Buy the album, but be warned the case design leaves a lot to be desired.
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 17 January 2011
Everyone will tell you if you only ever buy one jazz album in your life, it should be "Kind of Blue." There is a reason why this seminal collection of musical improvisations from 1959 still sounds fresh through the decades whilst most popular music from the 1960s, 70s and 80s has become dated and forgotten. When you hear KOB you'll probably recognise most of it because these numbers have been played endlessly in a thousand places all over the world for 50 years and in countless movie soundtracks, and they never age.

The musicians Miles assembled around him for these sessions were all at the top of their game: Bill Evans and Wynton Kelly on piano, "Cannonball" Adderley and John Coltrane on saxes, Paul Chambers on bass and Jimmy Cobb on drums. Davis used simple modal scales to define to the musicians the limits within which they could improvise, instead of more standard harmonic structure with chord progressions. This gives the album a loose, relaxed and super-cool feel, yet the music is complex enough to hold the listener's interest even after hearing it hundreds of times. It's one of those rare triumphs of musical genius where everything came together to produce something sublime and special. Listen and you will immediately "get it."

So, yet another five-star review for "Kind of Blue." If you don't have it, then buy it. It's the essence of cool. It's great. It's timeless. It won't sit in your CD rack: it will be played, often and forever.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 17 January 2011
Everyone will tell you if you only ever buy one jazz album in your life, it should be "Kind of Blue." There is a reason why this seminal collection of musical improvisations from 1959 still sounds fresh through the decades whilst most popular music from the 1960s, 70s and 80s has become dated and forgotten. When you hear KOB you'll probably recognise most of it because these numbers have been played endlessly in a thousand places all over the world for 50 years and in countless movie soundtracks, and they never age.

The musicians Miles assembled around him for these sessions were all at the top of their game: Bill Evans and Wynton Kelly on piano, "Cannonball" Adderley and John Coltrane on saxes, Paul Chambers on bass and Jimmy Cobb on drums. Davis used simple modal scales to define to the musicians the limits within which they could improvise, instead of more standard harmonic structure with chord progressions. This gives the album a loose, relaxed and super-cool feel, yet the music is complex enough to hold the listener's interest even after hearing it hundreds of times. It's one of those rare triumphs of musical genius where everything came together to produce something sublime and special. Listen and you will immediately "get it."

So, yet another five-star review for "Kind of Blue." If you don't have it, then buy it. It's the essence of cool. It's great. It's timeless. It won't sit in your CD rack: it will be played, often and forever.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 21 November 2011
Another rave review from someone who doesn't listen to much jazz....despite that, in the 3 or 4 years I've owned this album it's given me more enjoyment, solace and interest than any other piece of music. How nice to hear soloists who don't cram in as many notes as possible to show how clever they are, but just what's needed. How pleasant to hear all the players supporting and encouraging each other in the common cause of making a perfect take. What a smooth, supple, relaxed rhythmn section as a backcloth to those exquisite solos. And isn't "So what?" the epitome of cool, even down to the title?

The most amazing thing for me is that, according to Bill Evans' liner notes, the whole album was recorded with the minimum of rehearsal, and at the first take. I read somewhere that Miles Davis at one time planned to record with Jimi Hendrix. Poor Jimi. Although he was outstanding in his own genre, he'd have been outclassed in this company.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 6 November 2017
Summary:
This record is one of the most influential jazz albums that exists. Albums such as Time Out by Dave Brubeck or The Black Saint And The Sinner Lady by Charles Mingus, this conveys some of the best jazz songs to date. The track 'So What' is iconic and instantly recognisable.

The Product:
The record is a dark blue colour which is shown through a C shape cutout on the front and it sounds flawless, not much else to say.
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 March 2013
If you like jazz trumpet, you will already be familiar with the work of Miles Davis. Along with Chet Baker, and some others, he was the standard that all the rest were measured by. This album sees Miles in a contemplative mood, with soulful tunes as a result. I do not feel the need to 'over review' this classic collection. If you like him, you will almost certainly already have it. If you don't like him, you probably will not be swayed by a review anyway.
2 people found this helpful
|22 Comments|Report abuse
on 12 November 2014
A very good price for this hybrid SACD version. However, it is disappointing because it is not the implied USA release, which has the alternate take of "Flaminco Sketches" as a bonus track. Nevertheless. the sound quality of this Japan-made product is superb on both stereo and 3 channel playback. NB it is far better sonically than all the CD versions issued up to 2014.
One person found this helpful
|44 Comments|Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)