Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
90
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£39.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2009
What do you get in this deceptively small box? Virtually the complete works of the Monty Python team on TV and in the cinema, that's what. All four series of 'Monty Python's Flying Circus' - 45 episodes in total - plus feature film spin-off 'And Now For Something Completely Different'. On top of that, you get Special Edition releases of the feature films 'Monty Python and the Holy Grail', 'Monty Python's Life of Brian' and 'Monty Python's The Meaning of Life', plus the live show 'Monty Python Live at the Hollywood Bowl'. As such, this set represents fantastic value for money. The television series discs are pretty much bare-bones aside from the episodes, but the Special Editions of the films are loaded with extras, including archive footage, commentaries, and even new sketches from the team, specially filmed for the DVDs.

Serious, hardcore collectors will probably be able to note the omissions from this set - two episodes of the Pythons' German television series 'Monty Python's Fliegende Zirkus' (though I've no idea what the rights situation is with those at present), the 'Live At Aspen' reunion programme and sketches recorded for BBC TV's 'Monty Python Night' in 1999. But these are fairly niche items primarily of interest to die-hard fans, and die-hard fans will no doubt either have acquired them already, and will know how to do so. What this set boils down to is 15 discs of comedy greatness, and a fantastic (and space-saving!) way of collecting all the UK R2 'Monty Python' DVDs in one go for a very reasonable price. Enjoy!
22 comments| 153 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2012
The merits or otherwise of the Monty Python oeurve will, no doubt, be argued about for many years to come. Personally, I'm a huge fan and am glad that [almost] everything is gathered in this set.

However, whoever designed the packaging deserves to come to a sticky end in a Terry Gilliam animation or have the sixteen ton weight dropped on him. The outside box is not prepossessing, amusing or informative. Inside this are three self-contained disc holders which could hardly have been designed in a worse way. The films and the tv shows are mixed up and a magnifying glass is required to read the information on the discs, which is minimal. Discs overlap one another and it is very difficult to get them out without damaging the contents. It is also difficult to replace them. The three 'volumes' are identical in design so that they give no clue as to individual contents. There is no booklet and nothing at all in the way of an episode guide for the tv shows.

I have given four stars because the material is, in my opinion, top comedy but I have to remove one for the pathetic presentation of this great material.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2010
For fans of Python wanting to get their material on DVD, this is the place to start - and end!
Many hours of great viewing here and the DVD's of Holy Grail, Brian and Meaning of Life are the special editions which mean you get plenty of great extras.
Particularly good is the documentary on the making of 'Life of Brian'.

Everything you could possibly want, Python wise, is here.

Superb!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
Bought as a gift and it is perfect....we had been looking for one or two of the Monty Python movies then saw this and it fits the bill perfectly.....as it says it contains "Almost Everything"....an absolute must for Monty Python fans out there....there will be much laughter ahead
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
Whilst it is great to have all this together in one place, the pythons and their production company really need to consider including some lost gems (such as the german shows which are amongst the best they've ever done.) An excellent place for those new to python but completists may want to wait for another anniversary because they will undoubtedly re-release it with many extras. Disappointingly, the series discs only have the episodes with no extras at all, but the movies are chock a block with them. Enjoyable every time I watch it and it still makes me laugh out loud.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Must admit, bought this box myself for Christmas - you know the trick of giving it to your children to wrap it up nicely and give to you under the tree...
Everything I ever wanted from Pythons is here, and I can introduce them to my children gradually as I would really like them to get into it.
Looking forward to many happy hours!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
Please ignore this review if you have no interest in foreign language subtitles.

Only 3 out of 8 of the features of this box set have subtitles in the languages advertised above. I was after French subtitles and only the "Flying Circus" discs have them. I love Python but this was a gift for a non-English speaking relative and the description provided by Amazon is simply incorrect.
33 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
The material and indeed the idea itself is fantastic. Virtually everything they've ever done in one box. But the presentation is an absolute shambles. The box is a joke. There is no index. It is impossible to know which DVD is which when it comes to the TV Series. No booklet. Nothing. And as someone else pointed out Disc 1 of the first TV series goes haywire midway through the third episode and you miss the rest of that along with episodes 4-7. And that's after you literally BREAK the DVDs out of the case, so bad is the packing. I can only hope the rest of the DVDs work ok. A great idea farcically executed. Terry Gilliam would kill if he was aware of this I am sure. It shames the Python's legacy to have such a shoddy product representing their ouvre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
I bought this box set as a Christmas present for my son to show him how the Monty Python comedy from back when I was a kid was so very much better than the rubbish being aired today.

He was thrilled!

I will probably nick it from him when he's watched it all though!!

So a double treat for this family!!

Marvellous price and really complete unlike some box sets.

Get this set...and your nipples will explode with delight!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2011
This is a wonderful set for Monty Python fans both young and old. As well as the Monty Python Tv programmes there are the feature length films, "The Life of Brian" and "The meaning of Life", all contained in 15 DVDs. This set will keep you quiet (apart from the laughter!) for a good long while! My teenage grandson LOVED this Christmas gift and it is great to see him get pleasure from something that I enjoyed!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse