Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
52
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2001
With the chant of "Behold! They're coming back!" on the opening title track, the Chemical Brothers announce their return and give us another example of why they are possibly one of the best dance acts of all time. Ranging from the intense house of "...Afrika", swirling ambience of the Beth Orton collaboration "The State...", through to the unavoidably infectious big beat stormer "Galaxy Bounce", Tom and Ed have shown they are willing to experiment and progress through their albums yet still deliver the goods. It may not be the groundbreaking album that was "Exit Planet Dust" or have an epic standard setting track like "Private Psychedelic Reel" but in a genre oversaturated with brainless identikit eurotrash trance, this is in a league of it's own.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2002
All i would like to say is that this album is pure fusion. It reminded me of leftfield and the prodigy with its mix of hard base lines and catchy riffs. It is a must for every chemical brothers fan. The cherry on the cake is however the last track. The test which features Richard Ashcrofts vocals is the killer track on the album.....I brought the album after listening to this number. It probably wont get realeased as a single but I think it should as it will bring cutting edge underground sounds to the fore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2014
Prompt delivery good quality product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As always the Chemicals produce some good rythmic tunes, however they always seem to follow the standard beat. A lot of the tunes on this album could have been changed with the ones on 'Dig your Hole' with no noticable effect.
There's nothing on this album which I would say is particularly outstanding, it's ok if you're a chemicals fan but it won't convert anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2002
The Chemical Brothers previous album, 1999's Surrender, was clearly their peak and was the best album of that year. Come With Us is best described as pushing in the same psychedelic direction as its predecessor but with the greater energy and heavy beats of Dig Your Own Hole. Although it is closer to Surrender, the tracks Come With Us, Galaxy Bounce especially and Denmark could easily have slotted on two Dig Your Own Hole. Any fans who were disappointed with Surrender's greater suitability for the chill out room in places will feel happier with this effort. Come With Us with it swirling synths and classic "block rockin" beats is a dancefloor killer. Galaxy Bounce and Denmark are the Chemical Brothers of the first two albums while It Began in Afrika is also a dancefloor killer and The Test features heavy beats.
However, the record is mainly dominated by the psychedelic dance-rock of the previous album. Star Guitar features some incredible sounds that will really test the quality of your speakers. The music simply carries you away. In its middle section the album goes from brilliant to out of this world as the Chemical Brothers produce two of their best ever songs, Hoops and My Elastic Eye. Both are highly psychedelic with some great sounds. Hoops escalates beautifully with some elegant guitar playing, deft beats and synth sounds. It sounds like what would have come out of a jam session with their heroes, New Order. My Elastic Eye is similar and also features some gorgeous sounds. The Beth Orton sung The State We're In is undoubtedly their best chill out song with a beautiful melody. Pioneer Skies is a gorgeous soundscape while The Test vies with other tracks fore being the best song on the album. It is closest the Brothers will come to making a new Private Psychedelic Reel. Richard Ashcroft's voice is on top form while heavy beats collide with pyschelic sounds.
Whether Come With Us is their best album we will have to wait and see but it is clearly close to or on par with Dig Your Own Hole and Surrender. It marks no major change in direction for the Brothers but if it ain't broke don't fix it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2002
I bought this album after hearing 'star guitar' that was it for me. Great tracks but not enough of them (only 10)! There all great though, packed with beats, vocals and haunting sounds! Great album by the brothers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2002
This is the closest that music ever gets to paint-by-numbers. Their contribution to the evolution of modern electronic music is unquestionable but it seems that they've taken the title of their previous album too much to heart. This is surrender, but surrender to marketing. I am a completist. I buy everything by artists I love. I own every Chemical Brothers album and single. I'm giving my copy of 'Come With Us' away.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2002
OK - Exit Planet Dust was a fair start, Dig Your Own Hole was held up by Block Rockin' Beats and Setting Sun - proof, if proof were needed that there was no better band in the mid 90s to do loud, "blow your mind" dance music (except maybe Prodigy). With Surrender, a new direction was taken, showing that the Chems could also do subtle, clever and in some ways calming dance music.
With the release of Star Guitar (its best to forget It Began in Afrika isn't it?) the prospects looked good for the latest album, but let's face it, Star Guitar is the only track worth buying the album for. The title track is OK, if a little odd, but the remainder are largely forgettable nonsense. It seems like too often, an interesting beat or drumline was discovered, only to be taken no further - barely any melodies, or interesting developments on any of these tracks. Some may say "That's the whole point" but if they can do it before, why settle for this mediocre offering? Richard Ashcroft is a waste - I was trying to imagine him arriving in the studio and being explained what was required - "Well Richard, we haven't really got much to offer you, but if all else fails, feel free to just endlessly repeat the line "did I pass - yes it is" a lot. No, we don't know what it's supposed to mean either".
Maybe the invitation to "Come With Us" was the beginning of a title which should have been "Come With Us and Give Us Some New Ideas" but like most of their tracks, they decided to keep it basic. And boring.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£4.99
£5.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)