Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2011
Made this when I was a kid and had plenty of fun putting it together. Twenty years later I decided to try my hand at model making again, and despite having made numerous ones as a child, this was the one that stayed with me (well...this one and the Bismarck), and was my first choice to try again.

The kit is great. Brushes and paints mean you can get started straight away, and there is a surprising amount of detail in the actual model. What is contained in the box is enough to make a perfectly good, basic model of the Ark Royal. However if like me you want to go into a bit more detail, you'll require some more paint. The White Ensign Models website also has extra details available which are designed to specifically fit this model, and I'd highly recommend them for the more advanced model makers.

All in all, this is is a great model for beginners, and a great starting point for more experienced model makers. The fact that it is an aircraft carrier and therefore not loaded with the deck detail of a battleship doesn't detract from the finished product at all, and if you take the time, effort and patience, you'll be left with an outstanding replica of a legendary ship.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2010
I had one of these as a child and it survived several house moves for about 20 odd years. The aircraft on it and the multitude of guns and a little imagination and I had far more fun out of it than from battle ships of which I had a few also. Don't expect a work of art or a pleasing presence. The ship is quite functional and unexciting to look at but the lifts, AA guns and launches make up an interesting model and one whic is easy to make look good even for the inexperienced model maker. Note that this is i:600 not 1:700 scale as many competitive naval kits are. All the better for beign a slightly larger scale though. Shame Airfix don't churn out more of these things - especially WW1 ships which can be quite exciting craft. Their Vosper and Eboat are well worth looking out for though.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
Loved the airfix model and it would have gotten a 5 for the value and product type. However although it says that all the colours are included they are not. Would have been disappointed if it had been for the full price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
I made this kit years ago, I thought it would be nice to revisit it especially as you now get all the paints with it.
One criticism is that the paints were not as described, two of the colours were missing and two duplicated. This is the 2nd modern Airfix kit I have purchased with quality control issues but it didn't stop me enjoying the kit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2012
Nice Airfix model.

Good points:
Paint& brushes excellent quality
Glue included
Quality of the moldings are just OK
Nice box and historical info included.

Bad points
Instructions look like a photocopy of a photocopy of a photocopy
Some bits really small
Box picture on the reverse is missleading regarding number of aricraft and other deatils (aircraft have propellers on the back of the box)

My 9 year old required help building it but seemed to enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
Font and print quality of instructions was not good. Have asked Airfix for replacement instructions as despite using a magnifying glass (yes i had my glasses on too) I still could not read the tiny print. it was as if the toner cartridge was running out. You might get a better copy than me tho.
Comes with 8 pots of paint.
3 x (Grey) 27
2 x (GreenGrey) 117
1 x (Bronze)54
1 x (pale green)90
1 x (red ochre)73
so should be enough to complete the ship.
Also has display stand.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
nice model of HMS Ark Royal from World War 2.
requires care and attention to build as it's an old model (1970's) and not quite as refined as some of the later releases
no decals included so some fine detail painting is needed
contains a nice display card which sets the model off quite nicely
acrilic paints, paint brushes and glue are included - not a model for beginners - skill level 3 recommended by Airfix
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
Its airfix, can't go wrong! Paints are getting on the dry side, although fine after a good mix.

HOWEVER! Yodel delivery is absolutely shocking, arrived 2 weeks late. After a number of supposed delivery attempts 4+ to my work site, which is manned 247. They didn't even bother. When it finally arrived, the box was broken and crumpled. Fortunately nothing was broken!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
Airfix quality poor compared to Revell kits, moulding very substandard meaning parts don't fit well without preparation. Also very poor instructions, husband
much prefers Revell kits, will not be buying Airfix again. Obviously not Amazon's fault but recommend others try kits from other manufacturers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
airfix ark royal model, this item arrived in good time, but when my grandson opened the box to start doing the model on boxing day the hull of the ship did not match as they had packaged 2 of the same instead of opposites and because of the holidays I am still waiting for a response from the provider Hornbys. I hope they are back at work this week to resolve the problem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)