Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
24
3.9 out of 5 stars
The Best Of Burlesque: 50 Original Club Classics
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 September 2017
A great selection of Blues, Soul, Alternative music. From music legends to obscure artist. A must for all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2009
In these hard times it's refreshing to find a compilation of fine tunes at such a cheap price. Every track on this album is great in it's own right. So get your cat clothes on and enjoy a rollicking time of quality blues, jazz, rock 'n' roll and crooners. Worth the price alone for "Good Morning Judge" by Wynonie Harris and His All Stars. Try Listening to David Rose Orchestra's "The Stripper" without recalling Morecombe And Wise making breakfast.
Fifty classic tracks and a girl with big red pants well worth the money.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2010
I teach Burlesque dancing to students of all ages and was looking for "The Stripper" but came across this album. Whilst not all the songs are strictly Burlesque, and not all of them are suitable to dance to it is great to have such a large number of songs to use as background music for my classes. A huge number of songs for a very reasonable price - I am a happy lady!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
At one time, you could purchase a song you liked on a 45 with A and B sides. Then there was the LP and everything changed for me with the CD's. This is a double CD of 5o classic works. The most notable track is David Rose and his orchestra "The Stripper".That alone is worth the price of this collection. Just to mention a few others, "Just a Gigolo" "I ain't got nobody" "Fever""Let the four winds Blow""Big Ten Inch"" I want to make Love to you" and on and on. I am proud to have found this collection and recommend this selection to live the history in privacy or even better, shared with someone special. Thanks for making my search of one selection turn 5o fold. Buy, play it and live it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2009
The subtitle on this compilation reads, "50 Original Club Classics", and I have to confess the term `Club Classics' strikes fear into the heart of even a seasoned music writer, like myself. It evokes images of bell-ends in techno-clobber, the shrill sounds of atonal referee's whistles, luminous fishing tackle being swilled around the mouth of a slack-jawed moron. It makes me picture Brian Harvey, Tim Westwood, and an endless procession of identikit, headphone-wearing twats.

It's this that blights my day and leaves me frozen - not from the wintry, snow capped, vistas visible from my upper-storey window - but from the cold chill of the suggestion of dance music that so ices my veins. This concern even overrides the first part of this title that causes me concern, and that is the fact that this is a Various Artists release: a compilation. A mix-tape.

It can be difficult to critically assess work that is essentially just the art of making a recording comprising of the works of many other artists and a mere list of the tracks contained herein might serve you, the reader, better than this review. But I'll struggle on for you.

If you've ever been to a burlesque night, a Fifties night or anything that similarly involves women in period garb taking their clothes off for your entertainment, then you have nothing to fear as you'll be quite familiar with the tracks on this release. I too was pleasantly relieved to find that it was indeed the sort of music that accompanies such hedonistic, yet classy, nights.

If, like me, you have even a passing penchant for rock-a-billy chicks, Betty Page, the art of seduction or even good old-fashioned rock `n' roll, then you'll not be disappointed by this excellent collection of sexy lounge tunes. If you need a sleazy soundtrack to your speakeasy, or vaudevillian vulgarity for your vampish vixen to strip to, look no further.

J Capeling
33 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2010
Whether its Burlesque music or not i wouldn't know - but it's a good selection of interesting tunes - some just Quirky, some good Jump Jive, some Jazzy, and a few Bluesy - but most are pretty jolly and lively.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
This CD is fantastic, exactly what I wanted for my burlesque themed party. Loads of dancing happy sexy music. It was delivered within a couple of days. If you like soul,jazz or blues and dancing then this is for you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
A good rendition of the famous piece.2minutes of uninterrupted strip tease extravaganza.Relaxez vous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
Brilliant CD, excellent not just for tassel teasing etc but as back groud music for dinner/parties and when doing the house work!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
Great mix of songs, not necessarily burlesque based, but still a fab selection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)