Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2014
Very good recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2016
I’ve been puritanically monogamous towards the Grumiaux / Haebler performance of the Trout from August 1966 ever since it came into my life in the mid-Eighties. This week’s advent of the Gilels / Amadeus Quartet from 1975 is the first time I’ve ever listened to a bar from another version. It’s freaked me out. The newcomer is much better recorded than my sweetheart. As others have noted, Gilels / AQ is less fun on the whole than other versions – it’s not wrong to describe it as being somewhat symphonic in pith; this, I can appreciate and do. Whereas it’s such a joy to hear Gilels in any repertoire, I wouldn’t necessarily say the same of Norbert Brainin, first violinist of the Amadeus Quartet. His wobble is an acquired taste. His first ‘fingernail on a blackboard’ experience comes at 2’42” - 2’54” in the first movement of D 667 and it does not stop there.

Brainin is in much better form in the 1958 recording of Death and the Maiden even if I cannot hear anything special about the performance per se. The early stereo recording is somewhat thin and the famous slow movement lacks a climatic moment, such as one finds with the Julliard Quartet.

To my way of thinking, Arthur Grumiaux v Norbert Brainin is a non-contest, as much as I enjoyed this affair. Four stars for this D 667, one less for the Quartet in D Minor.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
This is a beautiful piece of music either as a piece to seriously listen to or as background sound. I heard a snippet on Classical FM and had to buy it. I would recommend it any music lover.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
A top class performance
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
The first piece of classical music I heard was this.....I was very young at the time, yet I have never had it in my collection. This interpretation is wonderful and shows Shubert at his best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
A lovely recording of great pieces of music even though it is relatively old. I will listen to this over and over again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
Bought for a friend who had asked for a Schubert CD for a Christmas present. She says that she is delighted with the CD as she wanted the Trout Quintet. The String Quartet No 14, she says, is a lovely bonus.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
I suppose that it is all a question of personal taste, but this version of Death and the Maiden doesn't have the poignancy that I expected from the recording.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
Arrived safely and on time. Beautiful music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2011
Schubert at his best. I love this music and can listen to it in the garden preparing a BBQ as of last weekends hot weather, for quiet contemplation or even training for a marathon through headphones. This is a good version clear and crisp. Recommended
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.19
£5.99
£6.69

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)