Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 29 June 2015
This is one of records that justify claim about Mozart's music being universal, touching the cosmos, lifting you up to the realm where not many people dare or even think it exists. My favourite will be always the Prague Symphony first movement, but all this double CD set is pure Mozart played by a gifted orchestra and conducted by Karl Bohm, a Mozart expert with decades of experience under his belt. It is difficult to tell these are the definitive performances, but certainly belong to the top echelon.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
I used to have these on vinyl. Great to have them back again. Performance interpretation slightly of another age but just like putting on an old pair of slippers again!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
I was already familiar with Haffner, and symphonies Ni's 40 and 41 -- although not yet my favourites the rest are enjoyable also - Totally satisfied
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Content superb. Delivery etc great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Here are some of the greatest symphonies ever composed. These early stereo recordings are amazing. It was typical of Karl Böhm to create tender interpretations with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. These colourful performances make Mozart's late symphonies sound beautiful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
Wonderful sound and fantastic performances of some of my favourite music. I refuse to bow down to the self appointed fashonistas of the classical music world, Mozart is fantastic especially in recordings of this quality.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 January 2007
These are excellent performances which have stood the test of time well.

Conductor and orchestra have lived with this music for years and it shows : they are beautifully conceived and beautifully played. They persent this wonderful music without distraction - no eccentricties of interpretation, no 'new ideas', just fine phrasing, crisp attack and a good sense of structure. For me, now, a more authentic 18th.-century approach yields even greater dividends, so I have stopped short of 5 stars, but if you prefer what became the traditional post-Romantic style of Mozart playing, Bohm does it as well as anyone.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
Reader, this is the B-52 job – the 12 CD block-buster with the 1988 remaster. In the sophisticated innermost circles of the Australian Knappertsbusch Association, it’s known as the “Green” in contrast with the “Blue” (]the latter being 1996 remaster where from 12 CDs were squashed down to 10). Both bad boys reside in my hangar. The Green is the definition of a shelf-clogger (three separate boxes, each containing 4 CDs) but it has the mojo to warrant the real estate. Its booklet offers a list of tracks and nothing more. Time is caustic to us all and my copy is no exception. Purchased in ‘89 and having suffered a Babylonian Captivity at a mate’s house, it looks as if it led the assault on Fallujah with the First Marine Division and barely lived to tell the tale.

I cut my teeth on this cycle. More often than not, I gravitate to the Green. It could be mere nostalgia at play. DG’s diligence is self-evident in the Blue – a Warner cyborg job it ain’t. Nevertheless, in cleaning up the image, much of the acoustic of the Jesus Christus Church was lost and bass curbed. The Jupiter Symphony is an apt plumbline here. On pungency alone, Green trumps Blue. My wider critique of the cycle, which you’ll find in detail in my review of the Blue, remains unchanged. Empowered by the Berlin Philharmonic, Uncle Karl offers the best KK 22, 110, 129, 132, 181, 297 / 1 and 338 on the market (and his K 543 from February 1966 is superlative) whereas his cadaverous side is exhibited in the finales of K 183 and the Paris Symphonies. K 130 and K 550 are lifeless too.

If I were to organise an Aussie salute to King Tut, I’d be buried with this monster. It has served me well in life. If it comes in range, give it a home and ignore the hype from DG.

PS, Amazon has posted the wrong image for this box-set. Click onto the product itself to see the Monster.
44 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
This is undoubtedly beautifully-shaped and beautifully-played Mozart. The only problem is, it's a bit too deferential. For me, only the Linz and Prague symphonies leap off the disc with energy and fire; the last symphonies in particular are taken a bit too slowly, as if Böhm is self-consciously trying to 'make' them very important. It's a pity, because (coming back to this record after a couple of decades!), those 2 fast-driving symphonies don't fit the image I'd recalled of an older, slower Böhm - in these 2,at least, there's no sign of Klemperer-like monumentalising. Frankly, at this bargain price, it's worth having for those fantastic Linz & Prague versions - but I can't give those last 3 symphonies 5 stars...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2003
Karl Bohm was a perfectionist, and these are truly great performances which have aged very well indeed. The Berlin Philharmonic are sumptuous, but not excessively so. This is Mozart for the purist, the collector, and also an excellent starting point for anyone wanting to experience Mozart for the first time. The value is excellent too, six of the greatest Mozart symphonies in classic performances at a good price. And the recordings, decades old, are really very fine:there is a warmth, a mellowness here, very easy on the ear.
On the other hand, this is Bohm's Mozart. A perfectionist yes, but that could also imply sometimes a lack of adventure or too much of an eye for detail, as you might sense if you compared Bohm to say, Bernstein or Karajan. These latter vary tempos much more, and show more dynamism and excitement I think, as well as a little more romance perhaps. So it all depends either on what you think Mozart should be, or simply what sounds you like to hear. Which also brings up the question of instruments: do you like, or should Mozart be played by, a 'modern' orchestra or one which uses only period instruments? And what about the benefits of Mozart recorded by modern crystal clear digital equipment?
Clearly there are questions one can raise about these Bohm Mozart discs, but regardless of whether or not you might feel that one of the great perfectionists has produced a perfect Mozart selection, they are surely a good choice, and definitely excellent value.
22 Comments| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Mozart: Symphony No. 40, 41 & 25
£4.99
Mozart: Complete Symphonies
£9.69
Mozart: Clarinet Concerto / Clarinet Quintet
£6.99
Mozart: Symphonies No.41 "Jupiter" & No.40
£5.99
Mozart: Symphonies Nos.40 & 41 "Jupiter"
£7.39

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)