Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
51
4.6 out of 5 stars
Days of Speed
Format: MP3 Download|Change


on 17 March 2017
Great Live concert songs of all Paul's classics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2016
Days of 'Speed' and slow time Monday's !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
This is one of my favourite Weller CD'S ..... Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
Great accoustic album, highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2001
This album is a faithful record of Weller's recent accoustic tours. It finds the man in good humour and equally good voice as he dips into his extensive back catalogue. At last he has started to embrace the calls for Jam and Style Council numbers, realising that far from being a millstone around his neck, they should be celebrated. And celebrated they are; English Rose, Down in the Seine, Headstart for Happiness, That's Entertainment and Town Called Malice sound fresh and sit well alongside the solo material. Talking of which, this is fully explored from the sublime Above the Clouds from his eponomous solo debut through to the equally sublime Love-Less from last year's Heliocentric. Along the way clasics singles such as You Do Something to Me and Wild Wood are surrounded by popular B-sides and stripped down versions of album tracks. I've always wanted Weller to do this kind of tour, and this album will serve as a lasting tribute to the fact that it was a brave but ultimately rewarding idea. Now that's entertainment.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2001
2001 saw Paul Weller embark on an accoustic tour of Europe, USA and eventually the UK. Contained on this album are the definitive live versions from this tour collected. What makes this album unique is that Weller returns to his past, something he has never liked to do before. What the listener gets is unique versions of classics like Town Called Malice and English Rose from his Jam back catalogue and Headstart for Happiness and Down in the Seine from his Style Council past. This is Weller presenting his songs unplugged and in the raw, he has added new sparkle to old classics, breathed new life into some great songs. Live albums never sounded so good!
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2005
I've owned Days of Speed for three years and never tire of it - it's easily the most played CD in my collection. Most of the songs sound better live - and from Weller's mature chords - than they do on the studio albums. There are many stand outs but Science and English Rose in particular are real gems. I read Amazon's review and what a pile of old bollocks from the maudlin git who wrote it. If you only ever get one Weller album, make it this one. But once you've bought it, I doubt you'll be able to stop at just one and you'll soon be back for the entire discography. Disclaimer: I'm a sad old Weller freak and own just about anything the man has ever produced.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2001
This album, is a sheer, outstanding, Weller Classic. One way or another, anyone who cant hear that, has, in MY OPINION (of course I'm allowed to be as subjective as the main reviewer here) no ear for music at all.
THIS ALBUM IS A MUST HAVE ADDITION, to the entire Weller armoury of musical warfare..., and anyone who misses out because of the shallow, and somewhat deaf opinions above, is gonna regret not hearing the acoustic versions of all their favourites. Each track has been selectively and carefully put down onto a tiny disk of plastic for your aureal pleasure..... this one is great - GO BUY IT NOW!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2001
This album is a must even if you weren't lucky enough to see one of his live and acoustic sessions. He shows here yet again, that he is not just a band member, Can't knock it. My only issue is that you simply cannot capture on recording the electric atmosphere from when he performs - even armed with just a guitar at his side. You can play this album anywhere and his latest more passionate rendition of "English Rose" brings on a great deal of nostalgia.
Keep it up Paul - Your the guvnor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 13 March 2009
`Days of Speed' is probably one of my favourite Weller albums. You get an amazing selection of his tracks performed live and acoustic and this format really does them full justice. This album has a stripped back, almost intimate feel about it and from the opening few bars of `Brand New Start' you know you are in for a real treat. The renditions of `English Rose', `Science' and `Wildwood' are outstanding, but to be honest this whole album is great and every track blends seamlessly into the next and you feel yourself relax into the music until it envelops you. The audience reaction and approval is fully evident and adds to the overall atmosphere of the CD. To be honest I never really `got' what the fuss about Weller was all about and then I heard this album and everything clicked into place. This is a brilliant live album and is well worth giving a try if you're a fan of his previous work or not.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)