Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
47
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 October 2014
Heard this in a pub playing to itself! What a waste! Just had to get it. Man and machine... No frills. To the bone. Weller and an acoustic. It works for me. Alvin
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
Great album, now a confirmed Paul Weller fan!!!
Great value, listening to this over and over in my car - fab
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
Weller at his very best. Some of the old classics sit beautifully with more contemporary songs. A journey through much of what makes the man a genius with some marvelous live recordings. A must have for all fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2001
Following on from Weller's fantastic "Later With Jools Holland" acoustic t.v. special, I was expecting great things from Days Of Speed but was ultimately left disappointed.
We all know you can sing and play with the best of them Paul, but most of the songs here were performed far better on the t.v show. It's hard to believe that whoever complied the album, having the pick of all the recordings made, chose these versions. "Clues" is a prime example; on the Later... broadcast it was a shimmering, emotive triumph. Here, the playing sounds hamfisted and the voice is strident rather than passionate.
Some tracks, which were stone cold classics in their original guise (There's No Drinking After You're Dead/ You Do Something To Me/ Town Called Malice) don't benefit from the one man and his stool treatment at all.
As always with Weller though, there are benefits. A prime example is a lovely revisitation of "English Rose" written when he was 19 years old and now sung like he means it.
Ultimately, it sounds like the acoustic shows which make up this recording were something of a journey for Weller and that the journey wasn't easy at times.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2001
The real value in this CD is that it sheds new light on some real classic songs which I had previously glossed over in their orginal format. A great example is "Back in the Fire", which is simply astounding in this acoustic form. With just a guitar & passion he is able to summon all the anger & energy of the Jam days; in the original version, I found this quite an anoynmous song. Other excellent versions are "Brand New Start" and "The Loved", songs which I had previously not really heard properly. On the downside, there are some really excruciating cack versions of classics; "English Rose" and "You Do Something to Me" are simply awful; In summary, freely brandishing the CD-remote will help you pick out some great songs that you had forgotten about, and avoid ruining the ones that you like!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
I beleive his finest compilation
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2001
This album is a must even if you weren't lucky enough to see one of his live and acoustic sessions. He shows here yet again, that he is not just a band member, Can't knock it. My only issue is that you simply cannot capture on recording the electric atmosphere from when he performs - even armed with just a guitar at his side. You can play this album anywhere and his latest more passionate rendition of "English Rose" brings on a great deal of nostalgia.
Keep it up Paul - Your the guvnor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2001
This album is fantastic, I have always liked the B sides of some of PW's singles, as he included some great acoustic pieces, and what he has done with this album is put all this talent on one album. The energy and atmosphere really do come through and it is a joy to listen to, also some of the well known classics, Out of the Sinking, You do something to me, really do hold up to an acoustic rendition.
David Halcro
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2001
The release retrospective panning all four decades of Weller's prolific career is reason enough to celebrate. Add into the mix that here we have entirely new, stripped down takes on some classic Weller songs and ownership of this album becomes essential. Has his fire really gone out?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2001
This is a fantastic album for those Paul Weller fans amongst us that have followed him since The Jam days. It has acoustic versions of That's Entertainment and Town Called Malice. It feels intimate, like he is sitting on a stool in your home playing just to you - amazing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse