Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
Lightweights & Gentlemen
Format: MP3 Download|Change

on 20 June 2017
Lau comprises Kris Drever (vocals, guitar), Martin Green (accordion, wurlitzer, keys, electronics) and Aidan O’Rourke (fiddle) and create an awesome sound, this album like there other albums I've bought is in my opinion great, consisting of 10 tracks plus a bonus track. Most of which are originals by the band and some awesome arrangements of traditional pieces.
1 Hinba (Hinba- A O’Rourke, Funny Weather-M Green), 2 Butcher Boy, (trad. additional words & music by K Drever), 3 The Jigs, (Mattie and Karine’s – A O’Rourke, The Lau Jig, K Drever, M Green, & A O’Rourke, The Creche Jig, Joe Scurfield) 4 Results, (Come on Wee Man!, M Green, Waiting for the Results, K Drever) 5 Unquiet Grave, Words trad. Music K Drever) The Lang Set - 6 Souter Creek, (the Dog and the Rabbit, K Drever, A Dog Called Bran A O’Rourke, Souter Creek, A O’Rouke) 7 Kris’s (Alyth’s, A O’Rouke, Muckle Moose on the Muin, K Drever) 8 Freeborn Man, (Ewan MacColl), 9 Moorhen’s, (The Moorhens K Drever, Rick Taylor’s M Green, A Tune for Emily Ball A O’Rourke), 10 Gallohill, A O’Rourke,
Bonus track; Twa Stewarts M Green(Auld Stewart, Young Stewart, Last Weeks Efforts).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2017
A powerful trio of top notch musicians. They play numerous instruments to perfection and put their on excellent interpretations on old songs. Souter Creek is one in particular included in a fine trilogy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2014
Wonderful, intricate, exciting stuff. Sometimes hard to believe there are only three guys playing. Takes 'folk music' to a new level. I've now played it about ten times straight (while on washing-up duty) and I still want more --- something new to hear every time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2012
A really good debut from LAU,some really good tunes on this album and some great playing from the 3 members of LAU,BUY BUY BUY :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2013
Bought on spec after seeing them on Jules Holand. Need to be in the right mood but then it really hits the spot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2015
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2008
I really enjoyed this album, although I would have preferred more of the songs to have vocals.
I found the first few songs more enjoyable than the tail end of the album, but then I am not really one for long wandering instrumentals.
A good quality album though and understandable why this trio were voted best Folk Group 2008 on Radio 2.
I would like to see them live and believe they are playing in Norwich at the end of April. Look them up!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 September 2013
Lightweights and Gentlemen: Lau - Lau show themselves to be gentlemanly musical heavyweights

This 2007 release is the first album from `folk' supergroup LAU. I put folk into inverted commas as they are so much more than that. Consisting of Kris Drever, Aidan O'Rourke and Martin Green, I genuinely think that they are one of the most exciting things on the music scene at the moment.

My wife and I first came to Lau through Kris Drever - we had been exploring some Roddy Woomble albums, and had been captivated by Drever's voice on `Before the Ruin'. We got his two excellent solo albums, and then realised he is also part of a group, so we started to get these albums as well. And what an amazing set of albums these guys have produced!

The sound of Lau is made up of Drever's guitar and vocals, Green's accordion and O'Rourke's fiddle. They are rooted in the folk traditions of the British isles, but are pretty experimental and boundary pushing. This debut album is more traditional than their later works, but there is still very much a feel of pushing the boundaries and trying out new musical ideas. With a great mix of jigs and reels, contrasted with slow melancholic essays on life and love, the three mesh together to produce an amazing sound. I have never heard an accordion pumped quite as hard as this, there are times when you fear Green is about to burst the bellows, then suddenly you are into a sweet passage with Kris Drever's simple and beautiful singing completely entrancing you. Then back to a ferocious jig, and O'Rourke's fiddle strings threatening to spontaneously combust with the friction from his frantic and impassioned bowing. It's a real delight of an album, 5 stars.

I loved this album from start to finish, 5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2007
Recorded in the winter of 2006 , Lau's debut album is an hour of sublime anarchic folk music.This time you can believe the hype surrounding this release. Lau sound like men willing to redefine how a trio can sound, arming themselves with both highly original repertoire and some superb takes on traditional song. What strikes you is their fearless appetite for improv, some tunes dig deep into a wild array of genres taking in their influneces from around the world and spitting them out in a perfect folk -jazz stew !

Starting off with " Hinba" a supremely intricate mission statement for what is to follow, Lau's sophisticated arrangements add genuine emotion to their instrumentals whilst Kris Drever's singing on the three songs included " Butcher Boy" , " Unquiet Grave" and Ewan Maccoll's " Freeborn Man" match any song on his Album Of the year nomination " Black Water" ( indeed "Butcher Boy" with its additional words and arrangement could be the acclaimed Orkeny musicians most heart wrenching song yet.

The album is a testament to the skills of all three members, Aidan O'Rourke's playing shows you why he won Insrumentalist of the year at this seasons Celtic Music Awards as his fiddle guides and weaves the tunes into sensational climaxes - whilst Martin Green takes the Piano Accordion to places your ears can only dream of! Many albums tire at around 40 minutes but " Lightweights And Gentlemen" pulls you in all the way to the final hurrah ( bonus track " Twa Stewarts'). The bench mark for contemporary intrumental music is here by lifted several notches - Surely one of the greatest Folk releases in recent years and in time this could well be looked upon as a classic debut album. No guests, No frills just three of the finest young

artists working in traditional music today showing us what can be done when you keep one ear to the past and an eye on the future. BUY without hesitation.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2007
I'm not one for writing reviews-so sorry if this is short and to the point,
after seeing them live well what can you say about this album....simply that all the songs/tunes from the jigs to the mellow songs are just brilliant.
Play this to someone who thinks folk is all "old men singing with beards"and lets see how they react to this!
Could this be a contender for best folk album of the year? oh yes!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)