Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
12
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2004
For anyone who was lucky enough to witness this explosive Mexican guitar duo on their recent UK tour, this new live album is a must have souvenir. Rodrigo & Gabriela are the Jack 'n' Meg of acoustic, flamenco fiery fretwork. Occupying the freshly discovered gap in the world music kasbah between Paco Di Lucia and James Hetfield. This album was recorded at concerts in Manchester and Dublin (where the duo are based). Any fan of beautifully played acoustic guitar works will find much to enjoy here. The performances are dazzling, but never turn into a creative cul de sac of self indulgent showing off for the sake of it. This is warm blooded and latin, like a good Rioja. You get two versions of what is emerging as their theme tune, a sensitive re - imagining of Metallica's anti - war epic "One". However, as this also appeared on their debut album "Re - foc", this is three versions in the space of two albums; so I'm docking one star for recycling material. Overall, if you are looking for a fresh axe to worship post - McLaughlin, Satriani or Williams, or if you just want to be transported to sunnier locations on these long winter evenings; you could do a lot worse than starting here.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Rodrigo y Gabriela are undoubtedly the best acoustic guitar players I've ever heard in my own opinion the best on the planet ! They are second to none live but this album even though its fantastic had a draw back of only having 8 works of art on it , personally I'd buy a studio album just better value for money !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2012
Having bought their eponymous album, I had high hopes of this album. It is certainly not bad, but does not, for me at least, quite capture the excitment that I felt listening to 'Rodrigo y Gabriella' or watching them live (although to be fair it is questionable whether any live album can truly do that). The repetition of 'One' seems unnecessary, and I agree with the reviewer who found the time devoted to Gabriella's chat to the audience a pointless addition. Left me feeling that this was a lost opportunity to really showcase two great musicians and their equally impressive music.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2006
this is the most amazing live album i have ever heard.i was lucky enough to see Rodrigo and Gabriela last year.i will never be in a room again with two such talented musicians.absolutely breathtaking.buy this album-you will not regret it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2007
You will be reading this review because you have heard the guitar music played by these two young Mexicans and - hopefully - you have been stunned by their talent.

So this live CD should capture all the excitement of them playing in front of an audience - and most of the time it does, but unfortunately the production approach is appalling.

Track 1 begins with a full-blooded and stunning instrumental.

Track 2 is 39 seconds of Gabriella whittering on and giggling. This is fine an a DVD, but adds nothing to a CD. Especially after such a stunning start.

Track 3 is them playing guitar again - very mellow and jazzy at first and then on into a superb arrangement of 'Take 5'

Track 4 is a wonderful example of their percussive style. Mind-blowing.

Tracks 5-7 take you through a good range of lively and brilliant instrumentals .... but then you come to the final track. ('One')

Track 8 and the music is wonderful, but after 5m 5s it ends and then there is a totally unecessary silence for SIXTY SECONDS. After that Gabriella returns for an unbelievably self-indulgent whitter about when they arrived in Ireland and felt cold. This goes on and on and on and on and isn't even followed by any more music. You can't even edit it out with your track selector because it is part of the track 8.

APPALLING and is the main reason for docking 2 stars.

The CD cover also says there bonus PC/Mac footage of a performance, but I can find nothing that plays.

Such a shame. My advice is to buy the other two CD's of theirs - and if you can get the one with the bonus DVD, you'll be really happy, even though it still contains that boring whitter about being chilly in Ireland.
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is one of Rodrigo and Gabriela's early live albums and their metal roots are evident throughout, but with their own unique flamenco twist. This was recorded in Manchester and Dublin and has tracks from Re-Foc on it, as well as an excellent interpretation of Metallic's `One'. At one point this is blended with Brubeck's `Take Five' to delightful effect. This live album shows all the flair and passion in their playing and the part at the very end where Gabriela talks to the audience about her experiences in Ireland is especially endearing. If you enjoy their albums and want to sample their sound whilst playing live then this is a pretty good place to go, but be aware there is also an excellent `Live in Japan' disc to enjoy at some point as well.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2011
IBOUGHT TWO CDS AFTER HEARING IT AT MY SONS, BRILL GUITAR PLAYING, MY SON IN LAW IN AUSTRALIA ENJOYED IT TOO
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
Fantastic musicians & a fantastic live album. Great shipping & service from Zoverstocks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
Great album, never get tired of listening to it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2007
Absolutely fantastic. I heard them for the first time on a first date a few weeks ago and thought them brilliant - I only hope that I'll be able to play just as well once I've gotten to grips with my guitar! Once again, fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)