Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
11
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
5
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2005
Dancehall places is a fine collection of poppy dance tunes that really has something for everyone. It kicks off with the lovely 'Blue Song' a dead catchy blues-tinged dancefloor spectacular. This is quickly followed by the now famous 'Sexiest man in Jamaica'. The title track is more of a ballad type song while the cinematic and dreamy 'Miles and Miles' makes you feel you've heard this wondrously dreamy track before. Other breathtaking tracks include 'Show Me', the strangely catchy 'I don't know' and finally the lovely ' Always Welcome'. I think this is a pretty good album to own. Like this? Try LHB's 'Tell 'em who we are.'
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2003
Mint Royale's first album On The Ropes was such an outstanding tour de force that you couldn't help wondering how the hell they were ever going to live up to it with their sophomore effort. And the answer is, by not trying to repeat it: doing something different, yet still not unrecognisable. And I would say the result is not a disappointment at all, as I feared it might be. Overall, it is a more relaxed and more "serious" affair, which even reminds of Moby in places, but the melodies sound just as fresh, and for those of us who miss the playful beats, we have more dancey tunes like The Sexiest Man in Jamaica and 54. I am happy to confirm now that I continue to be a die-hard fan of this fantastic duo.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2002
You've probably already guessed that this album is not going to be like Mint Royale's first album On The Ropes. First single Sexiest Man in Jamaica is a complete re-assesment in direction. In fact listening to this album you may well think that a different band has broke into the studios made an imposters album and persuaded the record label to release it under the Royale brand name.
Not so, this is a great album that grows with plays. A combination of dance and ambient works, even straying into hip hop with Pos from De La Soul guesting on Show Me. This is a stand out track and really should be a single but i doubt it will.
An album for listeners of wide ranging tastes, its a shame its not a bit longer and a little more light hearted as On The Ropes was. Still if you've got any musical taste then this should do nicely. A sound track to 2002/2003.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2003
I picked this up after seeing them perform live as a nine piece band. The live performance was amazing, and the CD evokes it well. The music has originality and energy, and the album is a good mix of the more jumpy dance style, and their own laid back melodic chill-out music. I play this album a lot - its one of those rare CDs that fits any mood.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2003
Dancehall Places is the follow up to last year's acclaimed debut On the Ropes, and is an eclectic mix of joyous blues and handbag beats. The opening 'Blue Song' bubbles along like a summer treat, and ska legend Prince Buster's claim in 'Sexiest Man in Jamaica' is indicative of the mood of the whole album. 'Anything' and 'Floor Basics' are straight-to the-dancefloor barnstormers, and the title track collaboration with Jez Williams of Doves fame is an absorption of guitar-based splendour and wonderment. 'Miles and Miles' wouldn't be out of place in a Moby record, and 'Princess' is of a similar ilk. De La Soul's Pos' breezy contribution to new single 'Show Me' is both relaxing and stimulating at the same time, and '54' revs the engine of this album up a notch. 'I Don't Know' is a similar feet-tapper, and 'Always Welcome' is simply heart-warming. Can't decide what to listen to after a hard night out clubbing? Mint Royale have got the perfect solution to your problem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2004
Mint Royale's follow up to On the Ropes is a brilliant album with some wicked dance/party tracks. However, my two favourite tracks are "Princess" and "Dancehall Places" which are more mellow. They are not only two of the most soothing pieces of music I have ever listened to, but they also show that Mint Royale are far more than just a dance group. Brilliant! Its a must have CD!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2009
Some songs are just 'ok', the rest are all great. Easy going dance music as it should be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2003
I bought this album knowing they were playing at Wakestock 2003 and was really pleased I bought it. The tunes are varied and can put you in all sorts of different moods depending on which one you listen to.
However if you get the chance to see them live they are a must, all the people I was with were totally amazed at how good they were and totally got the crowd rocking!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
Awesome album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2004
They are great live. I saw them at Glastonbury last year and bought the CD as a result. They're much better live than on the CD (a bit of a rarity for the genre) but it is still a worthy purchase. Great when the sun's out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)