Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Flood
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
38
4.6 out of 5 stars
Flood
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


on 4 April 2015
I bought the 12" of Birdhouse In Your Soul back in the day and it was 'our song.' Finally got around to buying the album and very good it is too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
Had this album when it first came out in 1990. It was good to hear it again brought back a lot of good memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Fantastic CD by an underrated group, nearly every song a hit, recommended highly.
Arrived punctually All good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2017
A classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2003
Since hearing this collection of mad, mad stuff a long time ago (courtesy of a friend with more money than I had at the time) I have constantly been uplifted when listening to the clever, catchy lyrics and droll commentaries on life and the world in general.
The fun I got from learning the lyrics of Rock, and trying to sing them in time to the music has occupied many happy, if exhausted hours driving home from work late at night. (Probably kept me awake too!)
Yes TMBG, not only do I love your music, but I probably owe you my life too!!!
If you are trembling on the verge of 'to buy or not to buy'
BUY - you won't regret it.
Then, when you have made that decision, buy Apollo Two too as it is also excellent.
Then stop until you are richer, and can afford disappointment!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2001
one of the greatest ablums i have in my collection this is one of those albums, and generally one of those bands, that you never tire of listening to. These tracks manage to successfully combine catchyness, rock and when listened to properly, quirky but also quite meaningfull lyrics. Songs such as birdhouse and dead are really quite thoughtfull but they combine this with the totally bizarre minimum wage in a seamless fantastic way. BUY THIS ABLUM RIGHT NOW IF YOU HAVE ANY TASTE AT ALL, CLICK BUY, GO ON DO IT, NOW GO ON. NO DONT LEAVE IT TILL LATER RIGHT NOW.
ps i can also recommend sever tire damage worth it for the live version of istanbul alone
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2004
This is where the party begun for many TMBG fans. It is the definitive TMBG album. This album spurred me on to buy all their other albums.
Ingenious. No two songs are alike, it is an album full of surprises. Most people I have lent this album to have then gone out to buy it for themselves. I see it as a must have for music fans, if only to broaden one's collection.
There are a lot of highlights to this album, most people who have heard it would cite 'Birdhouse in your Soul' as the best song, but in my opinion there are a lot on a par with this. Notably, 'Letterbox', 'Sapphire Bullets of Pure Love' and well, I could go on and name all the songs, because they all have qualities.
TMBG are musical innovators. This album proves that.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2004
I found this album because I'd heard 'Birdhouse In Your Soul' on the radio and decided that I would like a copy of the song. I then listened to the rest of the album and wasn't disappointed. Istanbul (not Constantinople), Dead, Particle Man, They Might Be Giants, Road Movie To Berlin, the great songs just keep on coming. A word of advice. Don't listen when you're trying to work as you'll get caught up in the songs and never get anything done. But buy it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2002
They Might Be Giants are so unlike anything you will have ever heard it's hard to find words to sum them up. Yes, they're 'quirky', but the loathsome 'q' word is over-used and far too generic to do them justice. They are runner-up act of choice to Barenaked Ladies fans, currently enjoying renewed interest thanks to the (uncharacteristic) Blink182-esque hit Boss of Me. The music is self-mocking and subversive (just take the daft hidden politics of We Want A Rock); the duo dole out catchy choruses like there's no tommorrow. Best of all, the two Johns have firmly turned their backs on the corporate fashion parade that is the 'popular' music industry. If you're going to get anything from songs like Minimum Wage, Someone Keeps Moving My Chair or ten year old UK hit Birdhouse In Your Soul, it's the distinct impression that they just don't give a damn.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Pathetic. Vinyl is faulty. Jumps on Birdhouse of all songs. Got a replacement and the exact same thing. It is recorded or mastered incorrectly rather than scratched. For the price you'd expect a working item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Here Comes Science
£6.99
Here Come The 1, 2, 3s
£12.99
They Might Be Giants
£8.99
No!
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)