Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 21 August 2017
Doesn't disappoint. Buy it then buy all their other albums!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Great service...10 out of 10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Best band in the world amazing album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 May 2015
I know that so many fans are very quick to dismiss Oasis' fourth studio album, 'Standing On the Shoulder Of Giants', released at the start of the new Millennium. Whilst it is certainly true to say that it marked a big change from the band's past releases, and indeed, anything they did afterwards, I am personally able to appreciate this different sound. Although it still ranks towards the bottom of my favourite Oasis releases, it isn't a terrible record at all, and didn't deserve a lot of the negative response it received upon release.

Noel has penned some of my favourite songs of all time, and although none of them appear on here, there are a handful of very good tracks that earn 'Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants' a definite three star rating. The obvious single choice 'Go Let It Out' gave Oasis their fifth UK chart topper, and is very catchy, the dark and sinister 'Gas Panic!' probably contains the best lyrics from Noel on the album, and I'm not ashamed to admit that I regard the standout ballad 'Where Did It All Go Wrong', to be one of the best displays of Noel as a vocalist, as well as the following track, 'Sunday Morning Call', which is another gem with a nice melody. The much needed 'I Can See A Liar' is up next, and this song, written by Liam, is very upbeat, and a nice way to cool off after the other songs. The beautiful 'Roll It Over' closes things out, and is in the same vein as the legendary 'Champagne Supernova'.

This neo-psychedelia rock album is more experimental than any other Oasis release, and has a much heavier sound than it's outstanding predecessors. Although I much prefer to listen to my prized copies of 'Definitely Maybe' and '(What's The Story) Morning Glory?', this is by no means as bad as some people have stated. Oasis were experimenting with different styles when they recorded 'Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants', and hats of to them for trying out other things. Often considered the black sheep in the back catalogue, if you still share this opinion, dust it off again and listen to the songs I've highlighted, there is still some good material here. Far from great, but not bad.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2015
Its hard to imagine an Oasis album being braver and bigger than Be Here Now by the time their 4 album came along.

This album is almost like listening to the hang over from the party of the 90s that Oasis created, entering the new millenium.

So how does it hold up against the others? Well, the first half of the record is interesting. But then it slowly starts sinking.
Lets all Make Believe which was the first song Noel wrote and recorded after coming off the Be Here Now tour is a strange unusual song for Oasis, darker. Liam sings on it, its on the Go Let It Out single but it is not on here, which is mental to me.

It is a great song and probably should of been the 1st or 2nd single off this album. Roll It Over would of been another good single to. Roll It Over is very reminding of Champagne Supernova, except more reflective and experimental with unusual sounds.

Also other good ones were Carry Us All and One Way Road and Full On. Full On is much much better than Sunday Morning Call.

Overall it grows on you listening wise, but it is kind of just a bit lost. It sounds lost in the dark.
Oasis did not fit in with the other music industry music at the time, lots of american angry metal acts some with rap tendencies.
Rocknroll was not the flavor of the year at all, a real shame as this record deserved better than it gets or got.

It is just missing something, its missing the spark that Definitely Maybe had, its missing the other band members.
It kind of really does sound like a band without its original members and treading deep water.
It is an interesting outcome but also a strange one and popularity wise probably killed the group off more than they had done with their Be Here Now record.

It has its moments though, its just they are among some of their most uninspired.
Still perhaps playing a boring set list was the problem?
They never played I can see a liar live, or Put your money where your mouth is, or Roll it Over.
Only a select few, and the b sides were good, but Liam only sung on one.

This is why Oasis records were better when Noel sung just the 1 song or b side not a whole heap of them.
If I could rate it out of 10 I would give it a 7 probably, nearing on 8.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2000
Well... what can one say, is this the 'New' Oasis, or are they in transition? 'New' material comes in the form of the albums two strongpoints, 'F***in In The Bushes' and 'Go Let It Out'. Evidence of samples gives a new feel and impetus behind the band. Perhaps the band has learnt that stagnant music cannot be revived with overproduction. The unfortunate low points are the Noel Ballads 'Sunday Morning Call' and 'Where Did It All Go Wrong'. Dull and dreary, Gallagher snr. really needs to get his backside in gear, because songs like 'Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is' is basically two different lines repeated but with a couple of words changed now and again. Along with 'I Can See A Liar', however, there is a look back to the 'Sex Beatles' days of 'Definitely Maybe', and rightly so. Overall verdict? Better than 'Be Here Now', could do with better lyrics, and a new direction in the waiting, so the next album should be THE MASTERPIECE.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2011
I had lost all my original Oasis CDs and I decided a few months ago to buy their albums once more.

At first I disregarded getting Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants. I couldn't quite remember when it first came out and the ratings didn't seem all that good (not compared to Definetely Maybe and Whats the Story...)

However, I ordered it last week and since I received it not stopped listening to it.
I think it is absolutely brilliant and wish I could play the guitar and join in.

I really enjoy Gas Panic! and Roll it Over but even the rest is really good Oasis music. Glad I got it and even more chuffed soooo cheap as the album is totally underrated in my humble opinion :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2000
Considering that this album was brought to us by Oasis, who brought us some of the most exciting rock 'n' roll of the last decade, this is a bit of a letdown. This is not too say that it is a bad album by any means, but it is certainly no match for 'Definitrly Maybe' or 'Whats the Story....'
There are certainly some standout moments. Gas Panic!' is possibly Oasis' finest song to date, and when Liam sings 'and my family don't seem so familiar/and my enemies all know my name', the listener is taken back to the golden era of Oasis when they seemed untouchable.
Unfortunately, the rest of the album does not live up to this. 'Who feels love?', despite being a blatant Beatles rip off, is pleasant enough, as are 'Put yer money where yer mouth is', first single 'Go Let It Out' and opener f**** in the Bushes'. However, to add to this positive aspect are some really poor moments. Liam's first stab at songwriting is certainly tender and from the heart, but with lyrics such as 'You play with their toys/even though they make noise', he should stick to what he is best at. After Noel's solo foray 'Where did it all go wrong?', the album takes a turn for the worse, and leaves people thinking What if....? Whoever decided to releasd 'Sunday Morning Call' as a single should question their judgment, and 'I can see a liar' and 'Roll it over' are little more than background music.
This is certainly not as terrible as some people have been saying, but it is by no means a classic. It's most glaring omission is the lack of a song such as 'Live Forever, Wonerwall or even (whisper it) Stand by Me. But the signs are promising, and after the low point which was 1997's 'Be Here Now', we can only hope that this positve upwards trend continues.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2008
It is a real shame. No, I'm not talking about the 'demise of Oasis', but I'm talking about this album. The shame is that it is so underrated as an Oasis album. It doesn't deserve the amount of criticism it received when released.

The thing is with this album is that it is much better than Be Here Now. Although the singles of that album were the best thing about it, the rest of the songs were devoid of any inspiration. However, many of the songs tackle Noel coming off drugs, the big comedown on the heydays in the nineties and even one about Liam's son.

There's no 'Live Forever' or 'Don't Look Back In Anger'. Don't expect any of these sort of stadium anthems because your not going to get any. The lead single 'Go Let It Out' is probably the nearest thing to the big anthem on this album. But that's the thing. The album is not about big anthems. Instead, psychedelia is brought to the fold, and while initially many of the songs may seem dull, give them time because they grow on you. The production is absolutely brilliant and not over produced like Be Here Now. The lyrics are probably the best Oasis have come up with. 'Gas Panic' is genius and is one of the best things I've ever heard from Oasis. Yes, 'Little James' has pretty uninspired lyrics but only for part of it and it is a sweet tune, not the disaster that I'd heard people say it was.

To be honest, there are two songs that are missable. Ironically, it's the two rockers 'Put Your Money Where Yer Mouth Is' and 'I Can See A Liar'. Lyrically dull and musically dull aswell, it is certainly not something that would make it on to 'Definitely Maybe'.

The songs don't hit you like the ones on 'Morning Glory', but they are more slow and hypnotic ones. You can't casually listen to this album, you need to give it its full attention, and if you do that, them I'm sure you'll find the brilliance that I found in it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)