Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2002
Like The Beta Band's 3 EP's, early Floyd, or Sgt Pepper, this album creates its own laid back, stoned world of wonder that makes use of a variety of musical styles, but always feels like a coherent whole. Skewed, relaxed takes on hip-hop and country mix with the easy rock bounce of Sleep on the Left Side and Brimful Of Asha. Easy to play straight through, this is ambitious music with a freindly, positive outlook. Blissful.
It should be pointed out that FatBoy Slim's remix of Brimful of Asha isn't here, and shouldn't be, as it is the exact opposite of Cornershop's desired relaxed mood. In fact, with its speeded up helium vocals, and clunkingly obvious snare rolls, the remix was the equivalent of The Wrong Trousers: a mad, stomping robotic pair of legs, forcing the human inside to march around to it's bidding.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2003
This album proves that Cornershop have the rare ability lacking in most bands, to vary their sound and style successfully. From the well known "Brimfull of Asha", brilliantly mellow "Sleep on the left side" to a stunning cover of "Norwegian Wood", this album will leave you feeling relaxed and chilled. "Good to be on the road back home" sticks in the brain and will loop through your head when walking down the street. If you liked this alum, get their next one, "Handcream for a generation".
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2000
Okay, I put my hands up. I, wisper it, only bought this album because of ( You know whats coming next) "Brimfull of asha" Yes i know that was a bit silly. That if i had a clue about Cornershop i would know that Norman Cooks Fatboy efforts are not a clear guide to the talent of cornershop, I know that The band are alot more than just Three minute pop acts.
I know that now. I know that because this album proves that point over and over again. This album is a gem, a real mood piece.I can listen to it over, and over. Tracks such as "Sleep on the left side" and "good shit" expertly contrast pop with funk, and cornershop show themselves to be a bit handy with both. Ginsberg gives the band a poetic weight with "When the light appears boy" And the highlights have to include a fine rendition of the Beatles' "Norweigian Wood" and the great "We're in yr corner" Just don't try , like me and my friends have done, to sing along!!
If you are looking for something a bit more old Skool than present pop, and you want to open up your listening experience, Buy this album.I can't say much more. But brimfull of asha is still a class tune, don't ya think.....
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2002
Time really does nothing for this album except convince me even more that it is one the best albums of the last few years.
For a start it's a wonderfully bizarre mix of styles, with a real "bung in the kitchen sink 'n all" kind of approach. In many cases this kind of approach doesn't really work, but on this record it most certainly does - incredibly well! I'd also describe it as refreshingly electic, incredibly mellow, funky as hell and often very, very funny. It's worth buying just for the superb bass line that runs through "Candyman" (complete with those excellent handclaps!) and the wonderful cover of "Norwegian Wood" alone.
Whilst I'm sure the lads still consider Norman Cook's remix of "Brimful of Asha" to be a curse (let's face it, the original here is far superior) it did have the advantage of bringing Tjinder and Ben to a wider audience, and frankly the more people that fall in love with this album the better!
So, I'm going to pop it on the stereo again now and keep my fingers crossed for "Handcream For A Generation" (what a great title!).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
I find Cornershop to be a strange group. They recorded some excellent tracks notably, of course, "Brim Full of Asha" and then others that are totally incomprehensible. My view of the group is one of ambivalence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
An album maybe i should have purchased when it was released, only because i have missed out on listening to some great music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
Have always loved this albun and is good to have it again on download. A great listen, worth getting it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
very pleased with product, very fast service, can recommend both.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Interesting indi band. - it will probably grow on me but I'll have to wait and see. So I can't go further than that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here