Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
92
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 May 2017
Classic White stripes album. very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
Brilliant, love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Just enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2017
Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2005
I bought this album after only hearing Blue Orchid and The Nurse, and also because i am a huge White Stripes fan.
The whole album is not dissapointing in the least. There has been doubt previous to the release after Jack White stated that he didn't much use his guitar on the album, but none of these people had heard the album.
Many were put off by Blue Orchid, saying it wasn't "Seven Nation Army", but why would we want to hear an exact replica? Jack wasn't making Seven Nation Army Part 2, it was a new track with a fresh sound.
The White Stripes albums are always slight different; their first, self titled album was ecclectic and noisey, brilliant of course and very very raw. Next up came De Stijl, which sounded quieter than their debut but still as energetic. The lyrics were more mature and the album sounded polished and well made.
Their third album, White Blood Cells was the most "studio-sounding", it featured excellent lyrics and a more folky background.
The big one was Elephant, made in about three weeks this album was a sweet mix of bluesy guitar and quiet, moving songs and of course Seven Nation army.
Their new album, Get Behind Me Satan is probably the most experimental, with the introduction of the Marimba as a prominent instrument (a sort of giant Xylaphone)and more piano than guitar; the album is almost shocking by the way it has been stripped down. The first song Blue Orchid is fantastic and feels very Stripesy, next up is The Nurse, our introduciton to Jack on the Marimba, this song is also very good, the lyrics and rhythm are excellent.
Next is My Doorbell, sounding very fifties and with a catchy tune this is probably their most releasable track after the single out now.
Forever for her (is over for me) is a song on the piano, very nice.
Little ghost, a folky song with some great harmonies.
The Denial twist, fantastic, ecclectic and brilliant!
White moon is chilled out and calm.
Instinct blues is another of the quiet ones, with a bit of guitar, also good.
Passive Manipualtion, short and sweet, sung by Meg, but her voice sounds weaker than cold cold night on Elephant.
Take take take is guitar and rock all the way, fabulous.
As ugly as i seem is sweet and quite quiet.
Red Rain is bizarre and brilliant!
I'm lonely, a good closing track very nice.
This album is definately worth buying given time will become a favourite. BUY IT!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2005
It's really comforting that a band this adventurous can climb such dizzying heights. Record an album in two weeks featuring more Marimba than guitar and STILL headline Glastonbury? Music, it seems, is in a very good state.
The best thing about the White Stripes is the way you can analyse them to death. The artworks full of symbolism and religious imagery, engrossing! And JAck wrote a very thought provoking....thing...yeah, the artwork alone is worth the price, but people ain't like that! They want the music too!
Luckily it delivers, OH IT DELIVERS!
I WOULD say that "The Nurse" is the best track. Built around a Marimba with seemingly sporadic bursts of noise and lyrics about betrayal of trust, how those who you trust with your life could well be the ones to kill you. The White Stripes at their most experimental, adventurous, and best.
There are two other themes that seem to prevail. "Little Ghost" and "Take. Take. Take" seem to be about falling in love with a ghost that only you can see. What a lovely thought.
Meanwhile, tracks such as "I'm Lonely (But I Ain't That Lonely Yet)" toy with the idea of incest....intriguing, seeing as we're still not too sure if "they guys" are brother and sister, hmmm.
See, it's intrigue that makes them. They are...some of the mystics of music. As such it's quite hard to hate them. How could one possibly hate a band this interesting?
Ah, yeah, the music. It isn't to everyone's taste. Some will be expecting (DEMANDING) more Elephant, more riotous rock outs. They WILL be dissappointed, they will spit upon this album and sit in a corner, foetal position, gently rocking, caressing their dog eared copy of White Blood Cells. But for the more adventurous listener, who appreciates the place of the marimba in music, this is a treat, well reccommended.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2007
I recently started listening to this album again after a break of two years and am so glad I did.The tracks still sound as fresh and invigorating as when it was released in 2005,a pivotal year for music.

Every one on this album rocks.My favourites include: Blue Orchid, Take Take Take, and My Doorbell.Blues at its best in the 21st Century and a raw,riveting listen.The White Stripes have one of the strongest visual images in rock at the moment,not contrived like some modern bands.

And it won't date,believe me. Buy this album if you can and if you like intelligent powerhouse blues/rock songs.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sooner or later, it had to happen. The White Stripes have made an album that is Not Great.
Granted, it's not terrible either. But "Get Behind Me Satan" is perhaps the weakest album the Stripes have yet put out, after four albums of solid, bluesy rock'n'roll. And what is wrong with it, exactly? It feels unfinished, like a wonderful album that needs another six months to reach its potential.

It opens with a dark, sludgy riff that cycles around itself several times, before Jack White's high voice slips in: "You got a reaction/You got a reaction didn't, you?/You took a white orchid/You took a white orchid -- turned it blue..." Then he launches off into a string of embittered snaps, telling an unnamed lover that her lips "taste sour."

It's followed by a grim string of tropical-tinged rock, bluesy rhythms, murky ballads and some slightly creepy country-flavoured songs. There's even a song that is played only on drums and piano, with Jack singing wistfully about dying friends, pictures, memories and so on.

With that tone in mind, the White Stripes manage a few more sizzling rockers, but seem to be leaning more on the slower songs toward the end. Though they rouse up a blistering blast of rock'n'roll in "Red Rain," the melancholy end to all this is the mournful "I'm Lonely (But I Ain't That Lonely Yet)," with its meandering piano and sorrowful vocals.

Whether you like them or not, it has to be admitted that the White Stripes have become a major force in modern rock'n'roll, to the point where other bands rip them off. Their rough, raw, bluesy sound has gotten them fans of all types, and unlike many rock groups, they actually have some decent rock (REAL rock, not pop!) to back them up.

But the fact is, these songs don't really feel finished. I love that dark riff Jack plays in "Blue Orchid," but he plays it constantly, without a climax or any real payoff -- it continues and ends as it began, with one simple riff. The same is true of the lyrics, which range from simplistic to wonderfully odd ("White moon, white moon/Breaks open the tomb/Of a deserted cartoon that I wrote...")

As a result, several songs feel almost like good demos -- good listening, but not quite up to the caliber of a finished, fully-realized song. Fortunately several others -- "Little Ghost" and the quirky "Nurse," for instance -- can combine quirky songs with some gritty musicianship.

Jack sounds pretty unhappy here, without much fire in his singing, but it's replaced with an introspective intensity; Meg gets to lend her sweet, off-kilter voice to a brief interlude, urging women to listen to their mums. And they both are in good form musically, whether it's a barn-dance tune or a a mournful ballad. There's less drumming from Meg and more piano, although she does get to rock out in songs like "Denial Twist."

While not-good-enough-to-be-excellent White Stripes is still enjoyable rock, the Stripes weren't quite on top form in "Get Behind Me Satan." A pleasant, if bittersweet listen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2005
The White Stripes have their own special sound that, no matter how their albums vary in influence and style, they retain that underlying White Stripes Sound. That sound is still here on Get Behind Me Satan, so even if all you like is Elephant (which, lets be fair, is their most easily accessible album for the Man In The Street), you should love this album. There is enough here to keep everyone satisfied. There is a bit more funk and groove added to the mix here. They just grow stronger with every album. If you like your music with a garage groove, you can't go wrong with this purchase.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2005
To start with I have only recently delved into the wonder that is the White Stripes and have only 3 of their albums in my collection, the brilliant White blood cells and the equally moving Elephant, and can comfortably say that this album treads over that treacherous line of experimentation with amazing results. From the opener Blue orchid, with its irresistable riffs, to the immensely catchy My Doorbell, to the soothing ballad Forever for her, to the glorious finisher Im Lonely, this album leaves you breathless and craving for more. Despite the awkward nature of certain songs, Nurse being one in particular with its random crashes through certain sections, I highly recommend this album and believe it to be a truly worthy addition to the White Stripes catalogue.
Current favourites off the album:
My Doorbell, Forever for her, Little Ghost, Instinct blues, Take, Ugly as I seem, Im Lonely.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99
£7.99
£7.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)