Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
37
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2015
Jarvis Cockers first solo album is very Pulp sounding, which is good.

And considering Pulp haven't done anything since 2001, apart from a new song in 2012 its good that he did at least two solo albums.
Out of the other one Further Complications I think that this one his self titled one is a much better album mainly because of song arrangements instruments and writing.

It reminds you definitely of Pulps most well known albums His and Hers and Different Class, perhaps being less guitar driven and more laid back slightly , every song delivers well, dark yet still not too dark too be too miserable and dark...

Pretty much every song is a stand the test of time one, it takes a couple of listens to get it.
Don't let him waste your time had one of the most inventive simple and effective videos of recent times, and was probably made reasonably cheaply, unlike some of the other rubbish you see these days.

If you aren't a huge Pulp listener and only own Different Class and His and Hers albums then its either a decision between This is hardcore or this, and I would say this is even better than This is Hardcore, although not better than their last record We Love Life put out in late 2001, which I think is one of their top 2 and hugely ignored.

Essential record too hear without a doubt, particularly if you don't mind a bit of the old Britpop or compilation cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2009
if jarvis was not brave enough to be jarvis, then this world would be a smaller place . thanks jarvis for laying your heart on the line for people like me . it helps a little , and that's all we need .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2007
This album is a 'grower' in the best sense of the word. Rather than trying to hammer you over the head with it's greatness, this album un-expectedly creeps up on you until you are well and truly seduced by it's alternate honesty, sweetness and sharp wit.

It was recorded quickly, despite the LONG gestation time of Jarvis' ideas, and it's all the better for it, for Jarvis sounds fresher than he has for years. He's as up to the moment as ever with his lyrical concerns, but he also adds some less familiar,irony-free cooncerns about growing up and what drives us to be creative ('Black Magic').

Also, in these new wave of new wave times, it is a delight to find someone who is not afraid to write melodies.

Be patient and you will come to appreciate just how grest a songwriter Mr Cocker remains.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2006
A terrific album - the little melodic hooks coupled to those lyrics. The only artist who can make me laugh and cry, sometimes in the same verse, while making a deft political and social commentary on Britain in 2006. More power to your elbow Jarvis.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 September 2015
After all those years as the rebellious frontman of Pulp, the quirky and intelligent Jarvis Cocker has grown a huge fan base. His self-titled debut album, released in 2006, has, unsurprisingly, a different style to the sound of the band who gave us such stone-cold pop classics like 'Common People' and 'Help the Aged' in the mid '90s. If you're expecting to hear a record which is like 'Different Class' on here, you'll be disappointed. The synthesisers are gone, and have been replaced by traditional instruments, and the overall tone is that of a serious singer-songwriter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2006
I've only had chance to listen to this album once, but thought I'd note down some first impressions. Unsurprisingly, this isn't a return to Different Class-style Pulp - but it's better for it. The general feel of the album is perhaps closest to This is Hardcore, both albums sharing a darkly humorous air. The music is strong, but as is usual with Jarvis's projects, the real strength is in the lyrics which are as sharp as ever. It's difficult to choose a favourite track just yet, but Fat Children really ought to be released as a single.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 April 2012
Jarvis Cocker's 2006 self-titled debut album contains a typical mix of sometimes light, but mostly brilliantly acerbic, lyrics, contained within a set of predominantly mid-tempo/ballad songs, with the odd rocker thrown in for good measure. Whilst not quite reaching the creative heights of Pulp's best albums (His n' Hers, Different Class and This Is Hardcore), Jarvis represents a sterling solo debut from this treasured bastion of the British music scene.

The album starts very strongly with the beautiful piano interlude of The Loss Adjuster (which is reprised later on the album), and then two highlight songs, the single Don't Let Him Waste Your Time, which has a brilliant lyric (written from a female perspective) warning would-be romantics against serial time-wasters, followed by Black Magic, a searing attack on religious believers. Stylistically, both of these songs are very close to the Pulp sound. Other standout songs for me include Disney Time, a tale of child censorship and containing the great opening lyric, 'How come they're called "adult movies" when the only thing they show is people making babies filmed up close?', and Big Julie, an extended lyrical soap opera with Jarvis doing his semi-spoken Shelagh Delaney impression. Lyrically (more than musically), other highpoints are Fat Children, a scathing anti-Chav (and obesity) rant, and From Auschswitz to Ipswich, where Cocker laments the general decline in western society and speculates that evil can originate from anywhere (the song title turning out to be particularly apt, since the Ipswich prostitute murders came to light just after the album's release). The album is also notorious for its hidden track, another Cocker rant entitled `Cu!!s Are Still Running The World', appearing twenty minutes or so after the final song Quantum Theory.

In summary, a worthwhile follow-up to an illustrious band career for this lyrical raconteur. Oh, and Jarvis' follow-up album Further Complications is also well worth a listen.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2006
This album takes you right back to classic 'This Is Hardcore' Pulp. Think 'Dishes' and 'TV Movie', from that album and you are about where we are here.

I think it will please most Pulp fans who liked that album.

I'm not sure why 'Running The World' is on after 30 minutes of silence at the end, a bit of a pain really especially as it is a stand out track.

Apart from that 'Heavy Weather', 'Don't Let Him Waste Your Time','Baby's Coming Back To Me' all stand out to me but this is a no filler album and I could have named others. Just don't expect big synths, those days ended in Pulp years ago.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2007
Jarvis shows that less can be more. More sparse than Pulp's rather full sound. Composed and mature in it's outlook with rather minimal orchestration. Perhaps Jarvis is more at ease with himself nowadays now he is no longer so much in the public eye.

The ballads stand out for me. In particular, 'I will kill again' and 'Baby's coming back to me'. These are beautiful songs that could bring you close to tears.

I'm so pleased that Jarvis has come back with something very different to Pulp and has carved out a niche all of his own. Please don't put you pen down for so long next time.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2007
From first listening this is a truly enjoyable vinyl album, and it made me want to listen to it straight away again. a good sign.

Great lyrics, meaningful, strong melodies, depth and power of vocals as you would expect from JC. Sometimes he sounds like he has touched upon Tom Petty / Traveling Wilburys melodies and some vocals touch Pink Floyd territory in terms of delicacy and meaning, and the album is the better for it. Tracks are also well balanced side 1 and 2. and they work together...it all fits.

I bought it on impulse and am hugely satisfied with it musically, a great album. all tracks hit the spot...no duff tracks.

From a vinyl lovers point of view, it just gets even better.....the music is so good you will never wish it was a CD so u can skip a track, all are great. The sleeve is quality gatefold, well printed lyrics, nice card and you even get an insert containg a 7" single! It feels like a 'proper' old school vinyl album, it IS a proper vinyl album! get it for your collection. Thank you Jarvis and well done!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)