Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
287
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2002
I could take hours just briefly summing up the brilliance and pure talent which have been packed into an album which displays the talent of Oasis. 1995's "(What's the Story) Morning Glory" was without doubt, the best album released by Oasis to date. It has everything - a vast blend of tinny, acoustic riffs, marvellous ballads, and the trademark voice of Liam Gallagher.
For once, an album I've bought has the perfect mix of various styles of music, squeezed into just twelve tracks. Every track on this album is excellent - it's not one of those albums which has one or two tracks which could have been produced better. Tracks such as "Wonderwall", "Don't look back in anger", and "Champagne Supernova" are simply brilliant - these tracks built foundations for the success of Oasis, which have become one of Britain's most popular bands in recent years.
Track 1: Hello
With the beginning of "Wonderwall" floating at the beginning of this track, the immediate use of crunching guitar solos make this a marvellous start to the album. The lyrics are extremely clever - they tell it like it is!
Track 2: Roll With It
A superb track, which proves variety as well as quality in the album. The straining vocals of Liam Gallagher make this track marvellous, and the occasional guitar solo from Noel Gallagher improves the track further.
Track 3: Wonderwall
This is one of my favourite records of all time. A beginning which blends tinny, acoustic steel-string guitars with Double-bass and drums is genius, the lyrics are very clever, and Liam's vocals are perfect for the track. You should buy the album just plainly for this track.
Track 4: Don't Look Back In Anger
A mix of John Lennon, and Noel Gallagher at the beginning of the track gets it off to a flying start. Once again, guitars, drums, piano, bass guitars, all mixed into one beautiful Oasis classic. Lyrics famously used on the terraces in football grounds across the world - unbelievable.
Track 5: Hey Now
Not saying that this track is bad, but compared to the other tracks on the album, this is probably the worst song on the album. It seems a track which has been slightly rushed, but it's still very good. The vocals of the belting Liam Gallagher remain strong.
Track 6:
Very short, simple guitar.
Track 7: Some Might Say
A classic track which combines powerful vocals and lyrics with beautiful guitar distortion. Lyrics are all cleverly written (once again) but this time have the ability to touch everyone in a certain way.
Track 8: Cast no Shadow
How do you some up a track like this? A smooth, easy-listening track which is calm, relaxed and harmonic. Beautiful vocals and backing vocals - this track displays a soft, smooth, romantic side to Oasis.
Track 9: She's Electric
It starts brilliantly, it ends perfectly. A great mix of jazz piano and guitar, rolled into one track which lasts only three minutes and forty seconds. The lyrics are hilarious, easy to remember, and one of those tracks you are not ashamed to perform at a karaoke evening. The backing vocals are similar to the last track.
Track 10: Morning Glory
You'll remember this track for a long time. Guitar solos, powerful lyrics and vocals, and a beautifully paced tempo. This track is one that reveals a rash, dirty side to Oasis.
Track 11:
Quick track, which shows the talent of Oasis guitarist Noel Gallagher.
Track 12: Champagne Supernova
This is one of the most beautiful, soothing records ever churned out by Oasis. A blend of guitar fuelled agression, which is evident from the beginning of the track. It's seven minutes of pure genius, as Oasis end an album which will be remembered forever.
A marvellous album, which is a must-buy CD for any Oasis fan. A marvellous, challenging mix of guitar, intense drumming, and powerful vocals. I can't explain the feeling you receive when you listen to an album of such quality. I seriously doubt Oasis will ever match the quality of "(What's the Story) Morning Glory?" again.
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2006
It is not often that I feel compelled to write on a website but I have to say that this is Oasis at thier most amazing, ear shattering, melodic best. After this album things went seriously downhill and if Liam and Noel cannot even remeber recording this due to thier drug induced haze at the time my advice would be to go back to the drugs. For me the standout track isn;t wonderwall (overated), nor don't look back in anger (still brilliant), it is track 5 - Hey Now! What an absolute stonker of a song still being played nearly every day on my ipod 12 years on and all for the last chorus which in terms of musical arrangement and pure emotion far surpasses any other rock track I have ever listened too. Listen to i again and I defy you not to get shivers up your spine. For that I thank Oasis, for Little James I stopped buying your records. If only they were writing stuff like this now....
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2004
If there is 1 album you absolutely must own it is this one. All 10 tracks are stunning (track 6 and 11 are samples from The Swamp Song, found on The Masterplan). No one can mock this album, as every single track on here could have been a single. How many albums can live up to that? Not many! Any artist would have given their right hand to have written any one of these songs. Liam's voice is breathtaking, as is Noel's on the famous Don't Look Back In Anger.
Hello - A great intro to the album, loud and brilliant lyrics
and you will be singing the chorus over and over.
Roll With It - Very catchy lyrics and great music. A bit repetetive in places but the tune is so good you don't care.
Wonderwall - This is the first of three tracks which stand out on this album. Very meaningful lyrics and great acoustic guitar and drums. You will love this song it is quite simply stunning.
Don't Look Back In Anger - Another stand out track. Noel sings this one and his effort shines through. This song will give you shivers down your spine, it is very uplifting and superb from start to finish.
Hey Now - Not one of the best songs, but still great non the less. Drags on a bit but the lyrics are good.
Some Might Say - Now this is Rock'n'Roll! Brilliant lyrics combined with stunnig guitar riffs, their first Number 1 single.
Cast no Shadow - A sad slow song to listen to when you're depressed it will cheer you up. Liam's voice is superb on this song.
She's Electric - More pop than Rock'nRoll but extremely catchy. This is the type of song you would know all the words to when you were a kid and would sing over and over again!
Morning Glory - The title track and the anthem of the album. Brilliant intro and it just gets better from there. Powerful lyrics, this song is loud!
Champagen Supernova - The last track and one of the standout tracks aswell. Over 7 minutes long but it only feels like 3! It has a very relaxing verse before building up to a heavy chorus and the lyrics are just superb. Why didn't they release this as a single?!
I've only given this 5 stars because i can't give it 500 stars. The combination of great lyrics combined with the sheer brilliance of the music make this is the best album i have ever heard, and ever will hear in my entire life.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
This is simply smashing! One good Song after the other, full sound, clever lyrics, a style that tries to recreate Lennon-McCartney magic and manages to. What Revolver may have sounded like, had it come out 30 years later. You'll love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
I'm a fan of Oasis and to find this album cheap was an instant buy. I'd bought it from Zoverstocks, use but in very good condition, in which it certainly was.

Now, I'm one of those people who don't like EVERY song on an album and this applied here. I've not really listed to all the tracks as some don't interest me, but some of the main Oasis songs we all love are on there. The main reason for buying this was I currently have 'Stop the Clocks' and 'Time Flies... 1994-2009' which I picked up dirt cheap too but sadly these two don't feature some of the songs on their other albums, such as this one.

Overall, highly recommended to buy for any Oasis fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
Along with their impressive debut album 'Definitely Maybe', this second volume of no-nonsense hard rocking from Oasis is a must-have addition to your record collection. The singles 'Wonderwall' and 'Don't Look Back In Anger' are worth the 'admission fee' on their own and, in addition, there are plenty of other great songs contained here for you to enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
In the process of replacing albums that have either walked out of my house on their own or not returned when lent out, or when they were returned they weren't in the best of condition. Been buying second hand albums and so far I've been really pleased with what I've bought. No complaints. Wouldn't have replaced them if I had to pay full price so I'm very happy that Amazon has given me the opportunity to do this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2006
A True classic album that everyone must own, true rich Rock 'n' Roll album with great tracks. No track one this album bad, not even the slightest, Noel Gallagher must of worked his ass off to get it to be so perfect, although the lyrics don't make much sense its the music that counts, and none of tracks are bad. However, the album could of benefitted with a few more tracks.
I'll eat my hat if Oasis can create another album better than this.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2000
Without a doubt, the pinnacle of this band's achievements. For all the hype and eventual bad words thrown at Be Here Now, we forgot for a while that only a few years ago, Oasis released arguably the album of the nineties. For anyone like me who was 16 at the time of release, every playing of this great record brings back great memories. Crammed full of anthems, topped off by Wonderwall and the faultless Don't Look Back In Anger, Oasis exude supreme confidence in their status as the biggest band in the world. So what if sometimes Noel's lyrics mean nothing (she's got a cousin, in fact she's got 'bout a dozen, she's got one in the oven...)and if Don't Look Back sounds slightly like Imagine, I challenge you to not sing along or be slightly touched by the song's sentiments. As well as those two notable mentions and the other big singles (Roll With It, Some Might Say), this album shows a wealth of class 'fillers' such as the opener Hello, the brilliant Cast No Shadow, the pub rock Morning Glory and the epic Champagne Supernova.
Yes, Definitely Maybe was a class and Whatever was a sign of things to come, but What's the Story is a masterpiece of an album. I won't say buy it, because most people already have!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 February 2013
Please note: This review is for the standard original deluxe edition, and not for the recent (2014), mouth-watering, three disc re-issue. You can purchase that one here: (What's The Story) Morning Glory? [Deluxe Edition].

With so many reviews (most of which are positive) for Oasis' second album already on this page, it does seem to be rather pointless to write another piece about how good the band's second album was. I would just like to add that '(What's The Story) Morning Glory?' deserves all of the acclaim that it received and is definitely one of the best albums to come from the 1990s, and this is from one of Blur's most (almost) obsessive followers. As well received as their debut album, no one could have predicted the cultural boom that their second would trigger.

With such solid song writing, acoustic guitar work, and overall brilliant music, I think that '(What's the Story) Morning Glory?' will be still selling copies in another 20 years time. The tracks were so good that the four singles released in the UK all peaked within the top 2, two of them went to number one.

Very rarely do I say this, but there really isn't a bad track on here (well, apart from the rather pointless melodies 'Track 6' which is like an interlude, and 'Track 11' which feels like a build up to the next song). 'Roll With It' is an instant classic, and probably the most widely known song, it is very catchy, 'Wonderwall' is another stone-cold nineties anthem, and one of the band's finest hours, with Liam Gallagher's vocals at a peak. Then of course there is the majestic 'Don't Look Back in Anger', with it's heartbreaking chorus, strong, poignant message, and 'Champagne Supernova', a mixture of hard-rock with a beautiful melody, which are personal favourites. The latter is the perfect way to finish off a near perfect album. Noel Gallagher might have himself an ego, but he has some right to, because my God can the man write and sing a good song!

Oasis have left behind a legacy of timeless music, and I don't recommend any of their studio albums as highly as I do with '(What's The Story) Morning Glory?'.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)