Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
25
Very Best Of
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 4 December 2017
Bought this after hearing "the revolution will not be televised" on a TV documentary about rock poets. The rest of this album matches up to the standard of that track , while giving a good overview of Heron's musical vocabulary
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2017
Best songs of Mr Gil Scott Heron . . Full of words of wisdom honesty and truth.. Bless you Gil .. 😇..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2017
Top tracks - only Johannesburg is missing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2017
Great thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2010
Picked this up after hearing, buying and loving GSH's latest album I'm New Here. Delighted to find that what I loved about that album - the intensity and tunefulness - is a feature of all his best work, sounding a little like a brooding or embittered Bill Withers.

This album features 80 glorious minutes of some of GSH's best songs from 1971-1982. The songs work together well, despite different recording eras, subjects and styles - varying between reggae, folk, soul and r&B. His voice is such a gorgeous and powerful instrument that you find yourself glued to the spot listening to his strident raps about Watergate, Ronald Reagan, the rise of consumerism and so on. Interspersed between diatribe songs like 'The Revolution Will Not Be Televised' and 'B Movie' are the most incredibly groovy songs like 'Home is Where the Hatred Is', 'Blue Collar' and 'Lady Day'.

I could listen to this all day - and will now investigate his solo and live albums. Excellent and value for money compilation.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2011
This CD is soulful, eclectic, passionate, poetic and cool all at the same time.

I stumbled across Gil-Scott Heron after having it suggested by Amazon after I had made purchases of music by Roy Ayers and Lonnie-Liston Smith and have found it be be a joy.

I had already heard opener's 'Bottle' (which is just a complete classic) and 'The revolution will not be televised' which are argueably his two biggest and well known tracks.

There are elements of soul, jazz, funk, folk-pop, poetry all with alot of raw passion and emotion. And it is the variety that makes this CD so good. It is not just based within a jazz, funk, fusion or soul base. It has them all with other elements thrown in.

This CD is great for Sunday morning relaxing but it also has a very powerful political message which can also be tapped into depending on your mood.

I have also recently purchased 'Storm Music' which is another greatest collection of GSH as it has other great tracks on that are not here. But this has others not on Storm Music. For the price you can get them I would say it may be worth getting both but if you just want one then this CD would be my choice as it has 'Bottle' and Storm Music doesn't.

I love GSH. Great musician and lyricist. Good all round quality to his music in whichever form it takes and obviously he had very strong feelings about his roots and the problems faced by the black community in 60's, 70's America.

Great buy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2013
This is a superb collection featuring GSH's finest work from the early 70's to the late 80's! Revolution, bottle, lady day and h20gate blues. The collection is 80 minutes a pure class from the jazzy pieces of a man to the soulful croon of Blue collar. Underrated and misunderstood this guy could work four genres and be cool,and at home on each one! Legend!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2011
died way too young but left us an amazing legacy, you need this album in your collection, pure undiluted brilliance
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2013
Father of rap - poet - political commentator - well labels don't matter when the basics are so good, I'd forgotten how good these songs are, not just the obvious ones but 'pieces of a man' for example. 'home is where the hatred is' and all the rest. I've bought it three times more for friends. You won't go wrong with this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2014
Ok it's a 'Best of'.. so absolutely nothing here not to like. For me, best played on a Friday afternoon just before clocking off from work in the spring time as the evenings get lighter IMHO - with the prospect of intellectual stimulation love and revolution. If this don't turn you on - you've already dropped off
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)