Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 17 July 2008
Truly an excellent and exciting record. It seemed worth adding a comment just to say that the much-hyped African graceland influence of this band is somewhat over-emphasised. True, on one or two tracks, it's very obvious and a key part of the sound (Cape Cod). But to be honest, it's a bit of a red herring. For the most part, this is a quirky melodic original and catchy pop album brimming with ideas (how about a comparison of early Police meets the more commercial side of Pavement?). Perhaps some of the negative reactions are because this band really is hard to categorise - so inevitably, people may feel let down if it's not what they expected.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2008
Having listended with disdain as boring guitar hooks have begun dominating the radio stations, I was so relieved when I heard this album. For years, the best bands were releasing albums of high quality, but since guitar music returned to being all the rage, record companies have been more willing to release the mediocre in order to cash in on the popularity of it. Finally, this album has seen top quality, inventive music return.

It is somewhat ironic that this British observor has needed some more New Yorkers to reignite his passion, but after hearing all the recent, average British deliverings from the likes of Pigeon Detectives, Foals and the like, it was just this slick, confident New York helping that I needed. It is a similar feeling for me as when The Strokes first burst on. That relief. Granted, this period of mediocrity has not been as long as it was preceding The Strokes, but this is still an important break from an important band.

It has been apparently hard for bands to be original in the current climate but this album achieves that and more. From the first bars of "Oxford Comma" and "A-Punk" to the cute, African influenced strings of "Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa", this is so refreshing. Synths are also used in careful quantities and they fit in perfectly. The vocals are young, naive and bold. Which is superb.

"I Stand Corrected" is a beautifully crafted, lyrically-confessional masterpiece of this moment in musical time. It is, for me, the standout track of the album with it's elegant mixture of harmonising strings with military-style drums. It's length and abrupt end just bring about more of the inevitable comparisons with Casablancas and New York's finest on their legendary debut. And in the next track, "Walcott", they seem to combine epic with lo-fi, however impossible that may seem. And again, the abrupt end is brilliant.

This album is one that will make you sit up and listen and take great note. Unlike so much recently, it is not background music. It is innovative, inventive, original, bold and confident. When a band can cram all those things successfully into a debut, only good things can come. And at little over 30 minutes, you will be left craving more.

Absolutely superb.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2009
Vampire Weekend is an alternative music band. There music is soft, different, and really enjoyable (it is my favorite group). The vinyl version is not disappointing at all. Go ahead and buy it, you won't regret it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2009
This is my first ever Amazon review and I think it's a great album to break my cherry to. Vampire Weekend manage to make music that sounds so retro yet so fresh at the same time. And perfect for summer time. They certainly don't sound like they're from NYC. The thing that makes it stand out for me is the drumming. Listen to the first track "Mansford Roof" or "Bryn" or "I Stand corrected" - the drumming sounds so fresh and clean, it just makes you want to listen to just that part of the mix. All the songs have that strange "I'm sure I've heard this before" vibe to them - these guys write seriously catchy pop tunes but then match it with a unique sound - with the African style drums and the caribbean style guitar work. Hard to pigeon hole them which is always a good thing. Excellent work - only misses out on a 5 star by the album not being diverse enough - I think they could have brought a few more experimental sounds/directions in - they definately have the ability to - they do this on "One" with a pulsating synth in parts - I think this is probably the best track on the album for me. Also "I stand corrected" goes down the slightly darker tip which is a direction they could try. I hope for their next album they push things on to another level but for now this is a great album and one of the most original sounding bands I have heard for a long time.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2008
Definitely not run of the mill, but the tracks are so upbeat, they have a poppy quality. Superbly crafted and a very enjoyable listen. The tracks grow the more you listen.
Some bands receive hype because they have a record label vigorously pushing them along. In this case, the hype (in no way have they been over-hyoed) is driven by the music.
I bought this on a whim on reading a favourable review. I'm in no way dissapointed and recognised A-Punk and Monsard Roof from 6 music, never really noting who the artist was but liking the sound.
Buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2009
This is definetly one of the best albums of 2008 along with MGMT and is full of great songs that don't follow the well trodden path of alot of todays music. Vampire Weekend have used African style guitar playing in Indie style songs and the result is just so refreshing. It may take a couple of listens to get comfortable with it but ultimately it is just great from start to finish-and the finish comes in good time so the album doesn't go on too long so at about 30-40 mins its over before you've finished your dinner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2009
Having never heard of Vampire Weekend, I bought this CD on the basis of Oxford Comma and a friend's recommendation. One day, I asked her what song she was singing along to at her desk...it was the song Oxford Comma by Vampire Weekend.

Purchasing an album on the basis of one song (hummed poorly by a work colleague) can be risky but I am anything but disappointed with the album. It's bright, breezy, chilled and perfect for a BBQ in the Summer. My only criticism is that there aren't enough tracks!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2008
OK. So I'm bored with the parade of safe singer songwriters and 60's style soulsters who are clogging up the charts, and Radiohead's latest doodlings are not making me feel any better.

But this is a breath of fresh air! Thank you Vampire Weekend!

Every so often there is a band with the breadth of vision to put a lorry load of influences into the blender and come up with something crisp and fresh.

Yes, there is Strokes style Noo-York Noo-Wave in here, African beats and Rythms, Classically influenced chamber pop, Barber Shop, and........ The sort of feast that pop groups served up between 1978 and 1984. But it is a lot more than the sum of it's influences - and Vampire Weekend show some great songwriting ability. And heck, it's just plain fun. This is going to get a lot of 40somethings putting their dancing shoes on again and getting on down to the likes of A-Pop which is pretty much 2Tone Ska revisited.

This is a college record and proud of it. It's a smart record and proud of it. It tosses words around with a gay abandon that reminds me of Lloyd Cole and the Commotions.

Best of all this is a Spring and Summer record with a mixture of New York and African sunlight oozing from it's grooves.

Pop just got smart again - Rock just got fun again!
22 Comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2008
Just imagine it, one of those rare sunny Sundays, sitting in the garden and you need a bit of music to go with it - this is the album you want! Never mind the neighbours (they're probably playing it too!) bang it up loud and enjoy the African influence. If you're anything like me the hype puts you OFF an album, so just ignore the hype and enjoy the songs, majority of them are superb!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2008
After hearing A-Punk what sane music lover couldn't want this album?

But with few tracks being as fun or catchy I was slightly disappointed. The album failed to make me bop continuously for the 34.2 minutes like i was expecting instead bringing out a slightly less catchy side. It's still listenable... Just not as listenable as I wanted it to be.

I'd give it a 7/10 in all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

A-Punk
£0.99
Contra
£7.99
White Sky
£3.96

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)