Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9


on 25 November 2000
Released in the wake of the Nephilim split I only recently bought this album after hearing many goods things about it from my friends.I hadn't liked the Nephilim very much before this but after a few listens I fell in love with their music.This compilation of the singles from FotN's three albums chronicles the sound that many later goth bands modeled themselves on.Includes an extended version of "For Her Light" and a live performance of "Dawnrazor"
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2006
When I got 'The Nephilim' album a few years back I was very hooked on this band and just had to hear more songs by them that were so imaginative, haunting and beautifully arranged. So I just had to order this and I was not disappointed at all. Even though I have all the studio albums this was still worth getting because of the uncut version of 'For Her Light, Blue Water and the very progressive Psychonaut. But if your only new to the Fields of The Nephilim definitely get this or 'The Nephilim' album and you will soon be wanting to hear more of this great band.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2011
Revelations is a superb compilation of singles and tracks from The Nephilim. I re-purchased it after lending it out and not getting it back, (never lend out your c.d's only the dull come back). Featuring my favourite nephilim song ever which has become there anthem "last exit for the lost"(I wish I'd wrote this) plus "love under will" a really beautiful song, plus blue water a brilliant single and the amazing Watchman. Psychonaut also fantastic, every track is great. This is a brilliant album from a truely amazing underrated band. love it to death.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2006
Encompassing their career prior to the bombastic industrial goth of Zoon and the very weak comeback albums - Fallen and Mourning Sun, Revelations throws together some of their sharpest stompers(Preacher Man, Power)with the trancendant epics and cinematic monsters (for her Light. Dawnrazor)but leaves out so much. But thats great, for if this is your first listen and you love what you hear, then I insist you gather up every album they made prior to Fallen and either trip out on the beauty(Elizium,Nephilim) or figure out how to gather your mates together to build a human pyramid(Dawnrazor, Nephilim)!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2008
Buy this purely for "Psychonaut", ( wonderfully deranged trancey epic )which you can't find on any of their albums, it was a single. The rest of the tunes can be lived without once you've heard that one, although the snarling viciousness of Dawnrazor always sends shivers down my spine ( here is a live version ) and the upbeat yet murderous Moonchild is a real rocker...honestly, this is not Goff, just 'cos the guy sings from the bottom of his dusty black biker boots does not mean it's Goff, y'know ?
As for the lyrics....you do have to have some clue as to what he's talking about in the first place to appreciate the lyrics so if you're not familiar with certain philosophies then you won't get it...
Other notable tracks are Preacher Man ( get the DVD and watch the video, it's fantastic...), The Watchman, and Love Under Will, but what I can't understand is how Chord of Souls ( too shouty ) and Last Exit ( too miserable and droney ) got on there, and Sumerland ( another sparkling epic ) and Endemoniada ( more toe-tapping viciousness ) didn't.
None of this music dates, and not much of it fits neatly into any category; it's still as spine-tingly, nightmarishly good now as it was when it came out, because the Nephs never followed fashion or jumped on any bandwagons.
Listen to this just before bedtime and your dreams will be screwed >:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2013
I don't know why I didn't get into this band earlier. Have been aware of the Fields of the Nephilim for years as I live in their home town. Revelations is the idea introduction to the bands early work. The highlight of this CD has to be the live recording of Dawnrazor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2011
A great and thoughtfully put together complilation from FOTN. Love Under Will and Last Exit for the Lost being stand out tracks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 March 2005
I loved the Neph as a student. I have many happy memories of sitting in Patchouli-oil and joss-stick scented student parties loudly discussing politics and quantum physics to impress the girl sitting next to me whislt the Neph warbled miserably away in the background.
Ten years on, the music is revealed as what it is - overly pretentious student-friendly music who, stripped from their spiritual home of booze-soaked undergraduate old bedrooms, have really nothing to offer in a modern market which demands either more (in terms of thoughtful music) or less (for easily listenable pop). Not to mention that, but they do go on, you know?
If you're a 19 year old goth like I once was, you'll love the Neph. If you're not, you probably won't.
99 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2015
GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here