Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
47
Trompe Le Monde
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99

on 20 June 2017
😊
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2007
The Pixies were an unusual band. They have been named as one of the most influential bands of all time yet, like the Beatles, no one actually honestly sounds like they did. A unique prospect, many would argue. And this album came at the end of their natural life, in 1991 - the same year as Kurt Cobain's Nevermind - and again showed the world what a few misfits and geeks from MIT in Boston, Mass. could do with some guitars, a penchant for Spanish and aliens, and the most frantic frontman of the era.

Songs as strong as 'Alec Eiffel' (a song about the designer of the Eiffel tower - 'He thought big and they called it a phallic little eiffel'), 'Bird Dream of the Olympus Mons' ( a song about the highest mountain/volcano in the Solar System, found on Mars) and 'Motorway to Roswell' ( a song about an alien) cannot help but make this album one of the most amazing slices of punk-fuzz-pop ever heard, and I would recommend it heartily.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2015
Antother fantastic Pixies album. The albums gets 5 stars for the music and this review is only focusing on the technical production side of the album and the packaging. So, I remember when this album was released in 1991. I preordered it some weeks before the release and couldn't wait to get it. And I waited.....and waited..... I walked to my local music store at least 10 times in 3 weeks, as the record was pending from 4AD. It was so frustrating that I will never forget it eventhough it is 23 years ago. So now I bought it again with great anticipation in the SACD version as Pixies as in my opinion never produced their music very well. They always lacked clearness, definition and especially dynamics. The SACD version is much better sounding then the CD version. But, it is not perfect. Especially dynamics have been improved but far from good enough. Clearness has improved greatly and is close to perfect. The different instruments come out separately and in nice stereo perspective. Nevertheless, comparing it with my reference SACD versions Dire Straits' Brothers in arms and Pink Floyd's Dark side of the moon it gets 4 stars. It is also a shame that is comes out in a cardboard sleeve as it is a limited number edition. It must be mentioned that the SACD disc is put in a separate cotton like sleeve protection which I have not seen often and I find very nice, but i would have prefered it in a standard cd case which is not to be warn out as fastly as cardboard is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2017
Unbeatable. Pixies were the soundtrack to my life when this was released and they just got better and better. I loved everything they had done previously but this really was the sound of a band who had realised that they could do anything they wanted and be the best in the world at it. There are boundless vision, confidence and accomplishment oozing out of every track; regardless of music genres, in those respects this ranks alongside "London Calling" "The Stone Roses" and "Mellon Collie..." . If you don't own it, you should.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2017
Love this album. Remember sitting in a class in 91 and talking to abother Pixies fan. Both mentioned it's heavier than their previous stuff. Play Loud.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2004
This album is a fantasic journey from the first note to the last.Each track takes you to a different place.Tracks like Distance = Rate x Time , and Head On and U Mass, really put this album up there with the best.The Pixies originallity and way of expressing themselves really is phenominal, and anyone who is interested in the Pixies should start with Trompe Le Monde.I Love It!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2003
As a relatively new listener to the Pixies -but nevertheless an owner of all their albums- I found myself discovering the joys of Trompe Le Monde far faster than any of their other releases. For me, Doolittle and Surfer Rosa had their weak points, although relatively small and difficult to spot, they were there. This does not. The entire record is a lightning fast trip through the mind of Charles Thompson, the genius and wit behind lyrics concerning outer-space, the Eiffel Tower and sea monkeys. From start to finish Trompe Le Monde provides all the answers. From the smoothly quirky title track to the screaming, pain-ridden 'Sad Punk'. Believe me when I say the song will make you feel as though you've just beaten a complete stranger to a bloody pulp and then become the best of friends with them afterwards. There are really far too many brilliant aspects of this album that it's impossible to express quite how much I love it; the heart-wrenching piano at the end of 'Motorway To Roswell', the sheer infectiousness of 'U-Mass', even the way 'Space...' and 'Subbacultcha' have been linked together so damn coolly. And even if you don't buy it for any of the afforementioned reasons then at least buy it for Thompson's subtley hilarious rendition of the Perry Mason theme in the middle of 'Space...'. Trust me, I'm an addict.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2000
Over the past years it seems the pixies are always mentioned as "very influential" etc. Yet many critics simply wrote(and continue to write off) trompe le monde as the weakest album. It is my humble opinion that anyone who actually listens to this album will be impressed beyond recognition. Who gives a toss if Charles/Frank/Black(or whatever else he decides to call himself) sings about UFOs and Mexicans, the end result is pure genius resulting in an extremely gifted songwriter approaching the peak of his career. At the end of it all I defy anyone to knock someone who can pull off singing a line like "oh alexander i see you beneath the archway of aerodynamics".
Buy it, you wont hear better
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2004
It took 10 years for me to "get" Trompe Le Monde, but when I did, I realised that this work of celestial genius could well be the Pixies' best. Their previous albums are faultless, but TLM distills all the various elements that made up their sound, reinterprets them yet again, and blows your mind with its creativity and energy.
It's definitely an album that needs time to sink in, but it will reward the effort thanks to layer after layer of imaginative songwriting and incredible musicianship from all four members of the band. There is such subtlety and detail in the drumming and the bass lines that you can listen over and over and discover new sounds each time.
Apart from the Pixies, I cannot think of a band that invests so much energy into their songs. The first six songs just belt out a relentless stream of Pixie noise, but it's impossible not to scream along with these catchy songs, with a huge grin on your face.
Love it.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2005
Trompe le Monde is an aquired taste. Everyone's first Guiness tastes...well...afull, but matures to be exquisite. TLM goes beyond this sensation; it dazzles. An early NME journo accurately described it as 'a wall of noise with pockets of genius'. There are moments of appaling musical grime but, emerging from the ruins, come melody to which even John & Paul would nod their approval. Persevere, and this album will make your vocal chords strain as you sing 'Palace of the Brine' on the way home from work. History will shine most brightly on Trompe le Monde.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)