Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
18
4.4 out of 5 stars
The Cult
Format: MP3 Download|Change


on 21 January 2008
Following the Cult's "stadium years", which to be honest never really suited them, yeh a couple of great albums were released under the cult banner, but problems with Ian & Billy peaked during the Ceremony recording sessions. With this album differences were resolved, habits were kicked & emotional issues were faced head on, hence a settled Cult line up releasing a deep, soulful & brutally honest gem of an album which quite frankly took everybody by surprise.

If your hankering for the days of Astbury grabbing his belt screamin baby baby, you wont find any of that on this one, a truly underated gem of an album which sees the cult display raw emotion & new musical depth, listen without prejudice, you won't be sorry.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2001
This album followed the Cult's commercially disappointing Ceremony (which is a 4/5 stars album). I bought The Cult's self titled album as soon as it was released. I was the only one who bought it too! But, as we well know how an albums success has little to do with its quality - this rings true for "Cult". Quite frankely, this album is one of the Cult's best. Ian Astbury was quoted as saying that it is the bands best since the Love album. I give "Cult" 5 stars because every song is fresh, catchy, deep, from the heart and energetic. The album has serious song star power tunes like "Coming Down (drug tongue), Star, and Be Free. Other songs are deep, journeying, soul tunes like Saints are Down, Naturally High, and Sacred Life. In short, every song is a gem. Why did we stop embrassing the Cult? Also, grab their new Beyond Good and Evil. It is dark and full of gut. Great Shat.
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 April 2007
This is 4.5 stars for a terrific record. The hard rock phase was over, this is an American-style rock/alternative record that seemed to receive zero publicity. Shame because those that did buy it were knocked-out by a fresh, focused and invigorated rock band who weren't merely going through the motions, they were attempting to reinvent themselves - hence the album title. No filler, plenty of variation and a real grower.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2003
HOW ON EARTH THIS ALBUM HAS STAYED UNKNOWN ? EVERYTIME I PUT IN ON ALL MY FRIENDS ASK ME WHAT IT IS AND HOW GREAT IT SOUNDS, WHEN HAS IT BEEN RELEASED ETC... IT IS PURE ENERGY, PURE CULT, PURE GENIUS....BLACK SUN IS A MESMERISING RISE AND SAINTS ARE DOWN SUCH A NICE BALADE. THE GUITAR ARE POWERFULL, THE BASS ( EX MISSION BASS ) HEAVY AND TONIC AND IAN ASBURRY AT IS BEST. PURE GENIUS...A MUST HAVE FOR ALL PURE ROCK FAN.
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2008
Duffy and Astbury are a great songwriting partnership. This album is a real gem. To be fair, this album was made in their quieter years after the chart presence they had with Sonic Temple and Electric and after the self indulgent Ceremony. They bounced back with 'Cult'. Not a huge commercial bounce back but in a musical sense. It's a sublime and brilliant album with some of their best work. This is Ian and Billy just trying to create good music. In my opinion, their best album.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
Occasionally a band hits mega stardom after release of a brilliant album and a tour which ignites unprecedented interest in them. This happened to The Cult with their brilliant 'Sonic Temple' release. Stadium tours and Led Zeppelin sized audiences beckoned. They were in such blistering form they released as good an album in the form of 'Ceremony'. Then suddenly it all came unhinged.

Although I was aware of The Cult album back at the time of the original release I never listened to it simply because I was elsewhere. I had honestly thought I was missing another staggering work along the aforementioned lines and was almost going to buy it on a complete punt without listening to it before purchase. Anyway just in time I decided to check it out on Spotify This for me was one of the greatest escape acts since Houdini.

Simply put this album is ATROCIOUS.

The Cult as a band were in a state of flux at the time and had some troubles which almost finished them permanently. But fortunately they were able to make a sort of comeback. Sadly this album was at least part of the reason for the demise . It is an unholy cacophony of a pile of rubbish kind of like the Sex Pistols meets Lindisfarne and the result is not a pretty sight or sound .

Mr Astbury is given over to using the 'F' word liberally (this really should have a Parental Advisory label on it!) and sounds all over the place. Billy Duffy's usually awesome guitar playing is muted and neutered. And the rest of it is so tame as to not really matter.

I've seldom felt so utterly let down by a band which has had my respect for many years. An ex fan warned me at the time that they had lost their way after "Electric" and had sold out. Whilst I disagreed with him I think he meant to say after 'Ceremony ' if this is anything to go by. And as stated elsewhere the mix is atrocious. It has to be the biggest let down I've come across in years.

Artists even at the level of Queen and the Beatles occasionally make mistakes whether they try a new cover concept (The Beatles did with the 'Yesterday and Today ' cover which almost finished them in America and Queen tried a Gay club disco album with 'Hot Space' and again this almost finished them) . This is The Cult at their nightmarish worst. And if I could give it minus 5 stars I would.

There is a theory that bands like The Cult have made a pact with the Devil and as a sign of that they usually have some sort of Satanic reference in the cover. The goat,ram,stuck out tongue etc are such alleged symbols and The Cult have it all here on the front of the cover.

Absolutely without a doubt their WORST offering and really should be avoided like the plague.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
At a Cult concert, Billy Duffy referred to this as the album that most people aren't aware of. It's got some brilliant tracks and Cult fans ought to get their hands on it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
on first listening to this album I was pretty disappointed I must admit. But then again I didn't give it a real listen too. In hindsight this is a very good album, a bit dark, but a good album never the less. Not as hard as some they have done. Great bass though. Give it a chance and listen to it properly and you will see it as a worthy Cult album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2012
Two weeks ago i found this album in my older cd collection.I haven`t stopped listening to it every day ever since.It has a real good sound,produced by Rick Rubin!After a few days listening,you won`t skip one song,i promise.They really do their best,can`t understand why the people didn`t buy it at the time it was out,i did and i love it!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2008
This album is like "phase 3" for The Cult - Dreamtime and Love being the gothic albums, Electric, Sonic Temple and Ceremony being the rock albums, this goes back to a more paired back sound, and has definitely been influenced by the 90s alternative scene. After the somewhat weak follow up to Sonic Temple with Ceremony, this is back to a strong, innovative sound. Even now this has aged better than most Cult albums, and still sounds as fresh as the day it was made.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)