Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

  • Zoon
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change

VINE VOICEon 14 September 2015
An incredible album. Way ahead of its time.

It was a revelation to hear such stunning thrash metal riffage - as powerful as Sepultura or when Ministry went all Slayer. Tracks like 'Venus Decomposing' and 'Black Rain (Pazuzu)' are simply mind-blowing.

I agree with the reviewers who describe 'Zoon' as a work of genius, a dark masterpiece. It is so multi-layered and intricately crafted. There is also great passion and beauty, genuine feeling. I really don't think I have heard anything quite like this before.

The soundscapes begin with connected opening and closing loops which seem to represent the grinding of eternity. And the only reaction to that is the first crazy, intoxicated scream of joy. The production values are breathtaking. Every detail is there for a reason (or 'unreason').

There are many moments which are simply transcendent - where everything is firing on all five cylinders, building up so intensely, like the very best metal albums.

From a purely speed/death metal point of view 'Zoon' is one of the best albums I have ever heard. But it is so much more.

0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2017
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2017
Wow my fave Neph album x Carl's beautiful voice sounding both inhuman and mind blowing x love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2013
This is Fields Of The Nephilim. Called Nefilim. Its Still Filled with soundscopes, Haunted music. But its drumming could be on metal bands album. Its the heavyest. Nephilim cd.. So if you like gothic you will still like this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2014
For me "Elizium" was the classic goth album, and The Fields of The Nephilim's finest hour.
I was devastated when they split up not long after its release.

The Nefilim's "Zoon" is not goth per se, but rather Carl McCoy's industrial metal vision, embodying the sense of "One More Nightmare".

I won't pretend that I understand ever "magickal" reference, but the whole album is enjoyable and several tracks remain a floor filler at various clubs, nearly 20 years after its release.

In particular, Xodus, Penetration, and Venus Decomposing are full double snare assaults.

If you are a fan of early Fear Factory or Machine Head, then you will love this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2003
This is the debut album release by Neflim and the only one so far. the album starts off with the ferocious track still life.The opening track is titled "Still Life." A beginning in the most violent sense, a heavy, warlike rhythm and jackhammering guitars, all surrounded by ominous samples, and later, snarled vocals of "Rise" and rebirth, maybe he was using it as a parable for rising out of the ashes of his former band like the mythical Phoenix. Not gentle at all, and probably not for everyone. Good driving music though, and good to play those evil violent video games by. This flows naturally into the like-mooded piece "Xodus," which seems to be pretty much more of the same and I might consider to be part of the former, only with the rather creepy 10-second clean-toned arpeggiated interlude. The violence then swirls away leaving us with "Shine."
This track baffled me when I first heard it. It harkened back to the old Fields in the prog-Goth vein in some ways, but unmistakenly touched by a new sound and feel, and is one of my favorite tracks on the album. It's the closest I've ever heard to a Nefilim/FotN love song. Only it's more a heady ode to a Robert Graves-esque female idiom rather than an actual person, but who knows? Actually the Greek deity Hecate is mentioned once in an offhand way, this might be a clue. It starts with gentle guitars, and Carl actually singing in a quiet, almost mellow voice. Of course, it breaks into a more distorted and powerful tone and rhythm eventually, but the whole piece does little to invoke an aggressive feeling, and goes away leaving the listener feel dazed. This does not last, however...As this darkly pretty song ends in favor of the goth-thrash piece, "Penetration."
all in all quite good
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2000
Do NOT expect the dreamy and lucid sound of Carl Mccoys last band "Fields of the Nephilim" to continue. If Fields music were created in a dream, the album Zoon definitly rose from a nightmare. But it is still a musical masterpiece from the darker realms of McCoys mind, and this time the beauty is more hidden and harder to appreciate and enjoy. But if you like darker and harder music, you should give Zoon a run for it's money. It is clear now that after every dream, we have to wake up and smell the coffin...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2005
Not being a big fan of extreme metal i wasnt sure about getting this album, fortunetly i did as i discovered the tracks, shine and zoon (part3) which have to go in my top 10 songs of all time. I totally love the fields of the nephilim, but mccoys nefilim has managed to take what was great and add more power. The songs may be brutal sounding, but they all have breakdowns in them which manage to get you hooked. The whole album is saturated in a deep mythology, each song is crafted with guitars, samples, extreme drumming and mccoys amazing vocals. More please!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2000
Zoon is a truly amazing album, quite different from McCoys "Fields of the Nephilim", it is one of the most intense yet beautiful albums I have heard in years. It literally assaults the senses with relentless riffing, blast beat drums and death growl vocals, yet it is extraordinarily moving for all that. It's definitely not music for the faint hearted; but for those willing to let it invade thier soul it rewards in the deepest sense. Buy it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2002
McCoy has always been keen on sound design and the atmospheres that are created in this album are superb. Some fantastic stories are being told if you take the time to listen or analyse the lyrics.
If you don't like heavy, thrash metal then the majority of this album won't appeal to you. However if you're an open minded Nephilim fan with a love of the atmospheres and concept behind the Nephilim as well as the music then you'll love it.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Singles & Mixes
From Gehenna To Here

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)