Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
19
4.5 out of 5 stars
Complete B Sides
Format: MP3 Download|Change


on 15 March 2001
Well, I recently discovered the Pixies and I wish i had found out about them sooner, they have influenced a thousand bands and quite frankly rock HARD. ;] Its great that they have included two videos, especially one to the unforgettable "Here Comes Your Man". No matter how heavy or soft you like your music, you WILL love the Pixies. 'nuff said ;]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2001
IF EVER THERE WAS A TIME we needed bands like the Pixies, this is it. We all know how manufactured the music in the charts is, courtesy of the marketing men behind the scenes. How this band never hit the big time is frankly beyond me. Well actually, it isnt really. The Pixies were a band that the marketing men chose to pass on because they were just a little too real. Too difficult to put an angle on. Too ordinary looking. Maybe. But these songs are far from ordinary. The quality of these B-sides alone far outstrips anything similar in the charts today. Newcomers to the band will find this album very very accessible, particularly songs like Santo and Winterlong that will have you instantly hooked. In fact, I could have chosen virtually any of the songs to illustrate this point.
The two vids at the end of the album show how subversive (and truly entertaining at the same time) the Pixies were, particularly on 'Here Comes Your Man', where instead of the usual miming the band look blankly into the camera with their mouths wide open. The subject matter runs the gamut, covering such topics as skyscrapers, video game soundtracks, hitching rides on meteorites, suicidal Japanese businessmen, Debbie Gibson infatuations etc! No wonder MTV gave em the cold shoulder! ;)
The sleeve notes by Frank Black are also a nice touch, giving us an insight into this wonderful wonderful band.
If albums like this were common we'd all be dancin the manta ray... ;)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2011
As great a band as the Pixies were/are, the experience of listening to a proper Pixies album is where it's at for me, and this collection of random B-sides and live tracks isn't coherent enough for it to stand alongside their proper albums which have such a strong identity of their own. If you're a massive Pixies fan (and why wouldn't you be?) looking for any rare little gems you can pick up on, then of course you should dig into this and see what you can find. Personally, I really like Make Believe, and I love the closing track, the instrumental Letter to Memphis. I think it's killer. However, I couldn't advise much better than borrowing this album or listening to it online and cherry-picking the tracks that you want to add to your Pixies collection, because there are bound to be some here that you could do without (for the completists, I'm not sure why you're even reading my review - just click the "add to basket" button!).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
Loads of Pixies songs ive never heard but love and 2 or 3 different versions of songs i loved previously so everyone a winner. Dispatched quick and came fast
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
Everything ok
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
Excellent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2003
I can't agree with most other reviews and give this a 5/5. There are some good tracks but then there are some bad ones! Highlights include a live Vamos, Weird At My School, Dancing the Manta Ray, The Thing and the instrumental of Letter to Memphis. Bad tracks include Manta Ray (Frank Black admits it's bad), Into the White (badly sung by Kim) and a couple of instrumentals near the end. The cd also includes videos of Here comes your man and Allison which are cool!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2001
Okay, maybe I'm imagining this, but wasn't there a B-side version of 'Down to the Well' ? -- one that was, by the way, much tauter and more exciting than the version that eventually got onto 'Bossanova'. Well, it's not here. Very disappointing.
On less sure ground, 'Into the White' also isn't the B-side I remember. Hmmm...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2003
Lets get this straight: I think the Pixies were brill. BUT the B-Sides album is a bit rubbish.
Half the tracks seem to be alternate versions of the stuff already on albums and the rest are just not-very-good.
Of course buy it if you're a big fan, some of the tracks are fairly interesting - just don't expect any hidden gems; I don't think the Pixies had any.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)