Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
87
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2013
I love the Dr Who Christmas specials, and this one was no exception. I could really see David Morrisey as the next Doctor, and part of me hoped he would be when David Tennant hung up his trench coat and trainers (however, I think Matt Smith is great in the role now). A fantastic Christmas romp and well written, well acted addition to the Christmas specials. Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2012
This was an excellent purchase. I am very saticfied with it. You may think it is better to buy it in the complete specials, but it is better to buy them all individually. This DVD has an excellent clever storyline, with a excellent ending. Also it comes with Doctor Who at the proms. I would highly recommend it as it is great for every large doctor who fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2009
can anyone tell me what the facination is with the cybermen?
the story is passable, but for a christmas special to me it was anything but.
now,you may be asking why did i buy the dvd? well one simple answer, the special feature,
dr who at the proms,excellent!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
i always look forward to christmas mainly because of these dr who specials. and it was enjoyable, with the cybermen coming back, but there was one MASSIVE error. when i saw that giant cyberman come out of the thames i shook my head with shame. how could RTD do that to us?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
If you are a fan of the new Doctor Who series of recent years, you will want to own the Christmas specials. Great Christmas viewing every year, although not my absolute favourite, but very atmospheric and some great acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
I bought this DVD after listening to the 2010 DR Who Proms. I wanted to watch the 2008 Proms.
I was not disappointed and in addition was able to watch the brilliant Xmas special.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
When the Doctor meets another Doctor, the two must combine forces to stop the CyberKing.

25 Dec 2008

Includes:

Doctor Who at the Proms
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
Watched at least 10 times since bought. Just LOVE Dr Who especially with David Tennant or Christopher Eccleston. A must have for any avid Dr Who fans anywhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
Good solid special with the new doctor enigma and cyber an making it one of the better Christmas shows. But that isn't really saying much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2009
The eagerly awaited regeneration of the Tenth Doctor has been the hot topic for Doctor Who fans and viewers ever since David Tennant announced his decision to leave the show. The 2008 Christmas Special is tantalisingly named; will this episode be Tennant's last..?

Set in Victorian London (in my view the setting for the best stories so far) The Next Doctor stars David Morrissey and, as seen at the end of Series Four, Those emotionless metal monsters, The Cybermen. The highlights of this episode are its creepy opening, the partnership of Tennant and Morrissey, and the awesome Cyber King. The publicity shots of Morrissey made my mouth water at the thought of him taking the role; I appreciate what Russell T Davies and co. have done with bringing the Timelord up to date but wouldn't it be great to have another Tom Baker-esque Doctor look - not garish like The Sixth Doctor or dandified like The Third, but eccentric and intriguing, marking The Timelord as an alien rather than simply the man on the street.

Criticised by some for not being `epic' enough, the story is easy to follow but not dull, and the cast are uniformly excellent. The episode's twist is one that I certainly didn't see coming until halfway through the adventure. Whilst not a classic and subject to the usual vagaries of the Christmas Specials, this is certainly a memorable addition to the Doctor Who canon, and undoubtedly features the best Doctor Who companion who never was, in the spunky no-nonsense Rosita.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse