Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
Puccini (The Very Best Of)
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£10.89


on 30 April 2012
I bought this after googling 'music from room with a view' because I find the opera segment used in that film (A Room With A View ) very moving and atmospheric. I don't know much about opera, and knew nothing at all about Puccini, but I have been delighted with the music in this collection.

Listening to the CDs I have found I recognised several other pieces - Nessun Dorma, of course, and at least one from Inspector Morse, as well as others I couldn't quite place. Even those that are not familiar are easy to listen to, and convey real feeling despite all being sung in Italian. Looking up IMDb, I was astonished at how many films and TV shows have used excerpts from Puccini, including a few very unlikely candidates such as Mr. Bean's Holiday, Babe: Pig in the City and Star Trek: Voyager!

I would thoroughly recommend this CD to those of you who, like me, are not really 'into' opera, but who appreciate the sense of grandeur and emotion it brings to your favourite shows.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2012
Great recording, easy listening,bought it for my son and he is very pleased with it.It is light and nice to listen to in the car!!!Great value for money too!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
This was a good present! My husband likes Puccini and this is the best cd he's owned its varied and he likes it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 9 July 2007
This Naxos double CD is effectively a reworking of the original single CD release `The Best of Puccini', expanded to include more of the composer's music then attractively packaged with new artwork and a card slip-case cover showing an amusing caricature of the composer.

As with any `Best Of' compilation much of the composer's work will inevitably be omitted although surprisingly, given his popularity, Puccini wrote just 38 works and 12 of these appear in various abbreviated forms on these CDs so the 2 and a half hours of music here give a good cross-section of his compositional style.

The sleeve notes are helpful for those wanting a little more than these highlights, for they provide recommended further listening (all Naxos label CD's of course!). But for those who do not wish to delve any deeper and are content with these types of collections there are a number of other Naxos `Very Best Of' releases featuring other composers, which together can form the basis of a respectable and reasonably comprehensive classical music CD library.

In summary, an informative and attractively presented mid priced CD.

(The complete Naxos `Very best Of' series features Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Debussy, Dvorak, Elgar, Grieg, Handel, Mozart, Puccini, Rachmaninov, Ravel, Satie, Shostakovich, Sibelius, Strauss (Johann) II, Tchaikovsky, Verdi, Vivaldi).
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
Some of the loveliest music! I listen to some of it each day. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
MP3 version should apparently have automatically downloaded but has not done so
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
Fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Puccini: Opera Arias
£5.69
100 Best Verdi
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)