Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2010
This second series of Spearhead was about people escaping from the Iron Curtain in Germany, yet again the subject matter being dealt with head-on. This series, along with the first, relied on well-written storylines and yet again featured a very good cast of actors who played their characters. If you only bought series 1 to start with but were very impressed with it, then I highly recommend that you buy this series as it had, in my opinion, very interesting storylines just like the Northern Ireland-set episodes from series 1.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
i got this for my father as he is an extra in the show and he loves it, he was so happy when i found it for him, as he had been looking for it for a very long time... thanks seller you have made my daddy a happy ex soldier indeed
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 September 2016
I was thoroughly disappointed with this series which depicted life in the British Army in the 1970's.
The series is built around a fictional army regiment, the Royal Wessex Rangers who were part of the
British Army of the Rhine. Six episodes of 60 minutes length per episode, with little more than 'ham
acting' from the cast, most of whom I had never heard of. Thankfully a more fun series came along
in 1991, with "Soldier Soldier" which depicted a more true to life account of army life and with good
quality acting.
I guess this is OK for those who might wish to watch anything to do with the armed forces, but I found
it tedious and somewhat boring, with racism and bullying all within the first thirty or so minutes of
episode one. Not one of the best projects that came out of Southern TV studios.
I will not waste money on the rest of the series.

Released on DVD 2008
Running time 5 hours 10 minutes.
No Subtitles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Good Vintage Show, Still a good View today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
As described great DVDS excellent quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2016
out standing old tv show
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
Not as good as I remembered. Very dated, official summary very misleading. Acting very wooden. Story line were quite good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
6 PLATOON HAVE A NEW COMMANDER,AND IN MY OPINION Lt.PICKERING IS AN OUTSTANDING ADDITION TO A SUPERB 2nd SERIES.SET IN GERMANY IN AN ERA THAT ONCE AGAIN HAS A CURRENT FEEL.IN VIEW OF THE LATEST ACTION BY ALL THE OLD PROTAGONISTS! THE SUBJECT MATTER IS SO INTERESTING, AND THE RELATIONSHIPS BECOME TIGHT AS PICKERING INSPIRE'S HIS MEN.FOR ME LEAVE TAKERS (EPISODE 5)IS QUITE SUPERB,THOUGHT PROVOKING AND MOVING! AND PRIVATE STEVENS HAS TO BE UP WITH THE GREATEST TV BAD GUYS EVER! AND AS FOR STAFFORD GORDON...YOU HAVE TO ASK IS THAT MAN ACTING!!!!!HE IS THE REAL DEAL...I THOUGHT THIS SECOND SERIES WAS SEVERAL NOTCHES BETTER THAN SERIES ONE AND I ENJOYED THAT..I'M NOW OFF FOR A THIRD TERM WITH THE BOYS OUT IN HONG KONG,AND I CAN'T WAIT!!!!VIA AMAZON U.K.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)