Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
11
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2017
Seven exceptional pieces played by a great violinist with real feeling, accompanied by the Vienna Philharmonic under the leading conductor, James Levine. Always by my armchair.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
:-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2010
I have still got her first recording of the 3rd and 5th Mozart concertos that she made at age 14. I was only 2 years older than her and studying violin and found her spellbinding then as I still do now. This recording is brilliant ranging from the big encore style show off stuff to utterly breathtaking quietness in Meditation and Berceuse. If you love Carmen you'll enjoy the playfulness and sheer brilliance of the Fantasie. There are no rough edges as with some violinists and the purity of sound that Mutter produces is awesome especially on the top notes. Thoroughly recommend this even if you're not too familiar with these works as you'll recognise some of the tunes. Enjoy!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2012
This is a real feast for Muter lovers and for Carmen lovers. Throughout the playing is sensitive and as always with her, maximizes nuance. The "Zigunerweisen" is especially memorable. Recording is crisp and plays beautifully on my four-speaker surround. Loved every glorious second of it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2003
This is one of Anne Sophie Mutter's finest CDs and includes possibly the greatest interpretations of Sarasate's "Zigunerweisen" and Tartini's "Devil's Trill" to be heard. Mutter's incredible passion and dazzling virtuosity bring this music to life in a way no other violinist has achieved. From the very first note she commands your attention as she communicates the full range of human emotion through some of the most beautiful melodies composed. Her pianisimos in the Massenet Meditation and the Faure Berceuse are so exquisitely delicate they take your breath away.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2001
What a great CD! It contains many of my favourite showpieces for the violin. Mutter's superb virtuosity and interpretation are displayed most clearly in the Carmen Fantasy, the Tzigane and the Zigeunerweisen, all of which have some treacherously difficult passages for the violin to negociate. I was particularly impressed with the beautifully whistful tone of Faure's Berceuse; this also appears in parts of the slow section in the Zigeunerweisen. Tartini's Devil's Trill sonata is a joy to listen to. My only negative criticism is of the last section of Zigeunerweisen where some of the left hand pizzicato passages are a little scruffy. But, having said that, this is still an absolutely excellent recording. It is to be recommended very highly.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
Masterful technique, vibrant interpretations, first-class sound - What an extraordinarily intelligent & gifted musician...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2001
This CD is one of my most favourite classics. It contains many wonderful works that would very often be used as "extras" at concerts, but all in one it is a potpourri of popular's like Tzigane, The Devill's Trill whose major difficulty lies in playing extremely difficult passages , while having to master the "devil's trills" at the same time and Winiawski's unforgettable "Legend". Though I think that there were little technique-problems, she had to fight with during the faster passages in the left hand in track number 10, the moderato from Sarasate's Carmen-fantasy,the German Anne-Sophie Mutter performs with such a beautiful, touching and hot temperament that the audience recognizes that origin doesn't matter, when it comes to playing this wonderful dynamic repertoire with a "gypsie's soul" that she undoubtedly has. Her musicality is as female as it can be. She made me cry during the "devil's trill", dream, when I listened to Wieniawski's "Legend" and finally during Sarasate's "Carmen-fantasy" I knew that the Carmen among the world's greatest violinist's was born.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
Love Carmen Suite. Other selections hard listening for me. I love sounds of violin. Brilliantly played.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
Brilliant playing from the best violinist of out time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£7.09
£7.99
£3.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)