Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
61
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£10.59+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2010
Wonderful style, soundtrack, storyline and script. The characters are gruesome and adorable all at once. Lots of dark, black humour, perfect for my kids! We had initially rented this film, but found ourselves singing the songs and quoting the lines to each other, so it had to be bought. It's refreshing to see that Disney and Pixar do not have the monopoly on animated classics.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
Igor is about Igor who wants to be a evil scienist but he's a henchman to his master and can not be a scienist as he's a hunchback. But one shocking day, Igor is left alone with his friends and invents his greatest work ever: a evil girl monster only to his horror that she's called Eva and dosen't want to be evil only a actress! So Igor tricks Eva that she can be on stage when the scienist fair goes on but he soon falls for her and so does she but can he save her from the evil mad scienist and the deciteful king? It's a very iressiable, funny, clever and sweet movie full of romance and odd sorts of characters along the way. But there are some scenes that could frighen children and insults are pretty cruel to hear, other than that it's a kid friendly movie. Recomended if you loved Nightmare Before Christmas and Corpse Bride with some high-rated actors voices and excellent ending.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2009
I got this movie partly because of the competitive price for a comparatively recent movie and got only what I'd paid for. I would say that despite not being for stop motion animation, the character design is heavily influenced by Nightmare before Christmas, and to a lesser extent Corpse Bride... fair enough, most work is influenced by its predecessors, and in that respect it has a good foundation. But the story and scripting is pretty shallow even for a kid's film. And this is a kid's film (not always true in animation... try Watership Down!). The monsters aren't that scary, IGOR himself isn't that ugly and is actually quite engaging. Eva is a pleasant creation even when on the "other side" and the only comedy comes from Scamper and Brian/Brain (don't ask). But what there is, is good. But I do expect a little more complexity in a film that is intended to work for the adults as well as kids in the audience; the patent lack of that here is what brands IGOR as a kiddiflick plain and simple. Not that there's anything wrong in being that. But Nightmare before Christmas is a hard act to follow, and sets the standard for working on several levels, IGOR, ultimately, is Nightmare Lite.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
movie about a evil scientist assistant who want to become a scientist himself.not every one will like it so preview before you buy it.for me it is a good movie worth for my little one.buy secound hand so you can save money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 November 2009
Igor is born an igor and destined to be an Igor. However he knows he is meant to be a mad scientist and when the chance comes along, aided by a manically depressed rabbit and a brain called Brian he learns that a lot of people and a lot of things are not what they seem and that by staying true to himself he can make life better for the town folk around him.

Igor is a great film with a black edge to it, funny and sensitive - we have a great time guessing the voices behind the characters
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2012
The story is about a country that has been transformed by permanent clouds. As a result it's agricultural economy has been destroyed and the king creates a new economy based on evil science. There is a competition every year in which all the evil inventions compete against each other and this is televised to the world. The other countries then pay not to have the winning invention released on them.

The country is then split into Evil Scientists and Igors. The individual is selected as a child and goes to a school to become either a mad scientist or an Igor. This story follows an Igor who has always aspired to be an evil scientist, but been prevented. He suddenly has an opportunity and seizes it, by creating life. The story follows as the Igor struggles to compete as an evil scientist, but finds numerous obstacles, not least that his new creation challenges the need to be an 'evil' scientist.

+ The graphics are good overall, but there are some slightly bizarre characters.
+ A novel storyline overall

- It has a few nice touches of humour for adults, but not to the extent in some other family movies

Overall it's an okay movie. My 10 year old daughter would class it as a 4/5, but as a family movie it's a solid 3 - hence the score of 4.

At under £5 it's well worth considering.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2009
Igor (voiced by John Cusack) is tired of being a downtrodden assistant to an Evil Scientist, and dreams of making evil inventions of his very own. But - as everyone in the land of Malaria knows - Igors just don't have what it takes to make it in Evil Science...right?

The first animated feature-length film produced by Exodus Film Group boasts several famous names in the voice credits, including John Cleese, Eddie Izzard and a sinister turn from Steve Buscemi as Scamper, a death-obsessed rabbit. Watching Igor it's not hard to figure out how it attracted so many Hollywood stars. The film could definitely be a little shorter, but it has enough dry one-liners to appeal to adults, and enough slapstick comedy to keep kids entertained. And between the intelligent script and the Burton-esque animation, what emerges is, in fact, a sweet story about the underdog taking on the establishment. With the help of a not-so-evil giant, a rabbit, and a brain-on-wheels, of course.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2009
Disney does Tim Burton. Unfortunately Tim Burton has set the standard for this sort of stuff & the influences are obvious (not a bad thing)Fairly standard plot, fights bad guy, nearly loses, finds true love etc. It passed an amusing hour & something, Not a waste of time but no Corpse Bride either
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
This film hasn't had very much advertising which is a shame because it is actually very good. Would reccomend this film to anyone with children. My kids who are 16,12 and 6 all enjoyed it. brilliant funny family film
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
i was a little dubious about this childrens dvd, i thought my girls (6 and 5) wouldn't enjoy it. i was wrong :) they watched it 3 times on the bounce before we had to go out, and it was straight on again when we returned. at this bargain price, its well worth the peace and quiet it brings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)