Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
37
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2016
Brilliant , no metal mickey but with tonka back excellent sounds from ufo
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
An excellent album from one of my all-time favourite bands! I did buy this record on cassette tape back in '81 and is great I now have this CD all these years later. Excellent VFM too, thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
This was far better than i remembered it by a country mile the best lp without M.Schencker
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2005
this one is great. bought it when I was 17 on vinyl. not sure why I got rid of it but know I have it on cd and in all honesty absolutly adore it. its quite heavy but what balance, theres all sorts, beautiful elements of subtle 'classical' music merged with heavy rock in perfect 80's heavy metal. Great lead guitar, great choruses and superb vocals. the production is superb as well. bought phenomenon, lights out and force it. none compare.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
I have to say I was very surprised by how good this album is having been listening to Schenkers' guitar work on previous albums but the reviews in the main were very favourable. I remember the single,"lonely hearts" on TOTP and really liked it but didn't take the plunge to buy the album, I was a punk after all!!
I came to UFO very late but I'm glad I got there, this is a superb album with no fillers, great melody, great guitar and great songs
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2003
OVERVIEW.
What can I say about an album that was voted rock album of the year (1981). Only this, listen to it, and you will see (hear) why. In my opinion this is U.F.O s best album, by a very long way. On it you will find great use of loud and quiet sequences, tempo changes and splendid, splendid guitar work. The guitar playing is unashamedly upfront and powerful, reminding me of the Scorpions at their very best. You can not fail to be impressed by this album if you like your rock on the heavy side.
TRACK BY TRACK.
Chains, Chains.
Amazing Intro, such power, such guitar work, a headbangers dream. The track also contains subtle use of pauses to build up the power of the music, or for changing tempo. The lyrics are good and there is a simple chorus. All in all, a truly awesome opening track.
Long Gone.
Gentle intro of acoustic guitar and bass guitar, leads into vocals.Second verse and chorus burst out at increased volume, with heavy electric guitar and drums. There follows a good section featuring lead guitar, supported by drums and bass.After this comes a well produced work leading to a reprise of the intro. Finally a string section is used to good effect in a piece which is first menacing and then poignant.
The Wild, The Willing And The Innocent.
Piano and subdued string section feature in the intro to this track. It builds up to the entry of the lead guitar, then on to the vocals. There is a great backbeat throughout the track. Listen out for an interesting background vocal harmony. Tempo changes are well used to re-introduce piano, vocals, or lead guitar.
It's Killing Me.
Electric guitar introduction with bass and drums fades in from nothing. The opening lyrics are almost spoken, until the conventionally sung chorus, which is accompanied by keyboard. There is a strong, slow rhythmn section throughout, with prominent bass guitar work.
Makin' Moves.
A gentle inroduction, gives way to a heavy guitar sequence and drum roll. Interesting lyrics, clearly sung, are folowed by a long electric guitar featured section which goes up and down the scales. More good headbanging stuff!
Lonely Heart.
The track begins with a lovely piano intro, which leads into vocals (good lyrics again) and a veritable explosion of instruments including saxaphone and drums. There is a great guitar lick in the central instrumental section, which is perhaps too short. After this, sax and piano section is punctuated by drum crash, leading into the next verse. The track concludes with piano and sax to fade.
Couldn't Get It Right.
Listen out for the great production work on the electric guitar intro, that is then followed by the rhythmn section and then by the vocals.This builds up towards a chorus of increased volume and tempo. The second verse and following chorus repeat this pattern, punctuated by an instrumental section. The final chorus is followed by a heavier electric guitar instrumental to finish.
Profession Of Violence.
A great rock ballad, from beginning to end. The beginning is an acoustic guitar with strings and piano, with gently sung, rather sombre lyrics. It is by far the slowest song on the album. Even the lead guitar, when it comes in is slow and almost mournful. The expression "My guitar gently weeps" might have been coined for this very piece. A fitting finale to a great album.
11 Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2005
I loved this album when it first came out (still have the old vinyl copy!), and it showed a 1st class rock band firing on all cylinders. Mostly written by long-time singer Phil Mogg and Guitarist Paul Chapman, TWTWTI features a barrage of great rock songs, driving riffs, and soaring solos that were (and still are) the UFO trade mark. There is melody to, as UFO eschewed the usual mindless grind that typified many of their contemporaries, in favour of a compelling mix of power and finesse to produce their best album of the Chapman era, and one of their best ever.
From the driving rock of Makin' Moves, through the light/dark melodic shades of Lonely Heart (I still remember the TOTP performance!); From the epic Long Gone to the ballad Profession of Violence, UFO were right back to their best, and firing on all cylinders. Chapman had laid the ghost of Schenker to rest and the keyboards (played by his erstwhile Lone Star colleague Jon Sloman, despite the credit given to Neil Carter on the sleeve) added the kind of texture always associated with this band.
It was too good to last though, and a year later the descent into (relative) mediocrity was underway. Buy this and remember the good times!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2009
this has to be the best album ufo have recorded, not a bad track on the album. in my opinion this is when ufo were at their peak, i had this on 33 rpm record and went to see them live on the tour that promoted this album, i am pleased to add this to my cd collection, brings back old memories. if you like heavy rock mixed with soft rock this is a must for every rockers cd collection, timeless and a classic. I never tire of hearing this album.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2010
UFO too often get tarnished with everything that hasn't got the wonderful German axeman on it being sub standard. With 'Tonka' Chapman back in the band (he was originally in for a spell around 1974)they released some excellent albums with only the fourth (Making Contact - still good but patchy)batting below the avarage.
Wild Willing is my personal favorite of the early 80's bunch without a bad song on it. It was the first to feature Neil Carter although I believe he only featured minimally in the recording with most of the keyboard parts being supplied by session men. Mogg's voice is in fine form as ever, melodic with the rock edge when required. From the rockers (Long Gone, Makin' Moves) to the singles (Lonely Heart, Couldn't Get It Right) he was then and still is one of the finest and most underrated voices in rock music. Andy Parker and Pete Way supply the solid backbone underneath Tonkas great guitar parts, and it is here where he shines on 'Profession Of Violence', a wonderful ode to the Kray brothers complete with a guitar solo to die for. Great stuff.
Complete with bonus live cuts and remastering this is an even better package than was originally released. If you want some quality hard and melodic rock you will nit be dissapointed.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)