Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 28 December 2008
This CD contains a huge selection of wonderful Christmas music. Were it not for problems with the sound levels, I would definitely give it 5 stars. The issue is that parts of the recording are so quiet the volume has to be turned up almost to maximum to be heard (eg the opening of 'Once in Royal..'), and then turned back down again to stop your eardrums being burst when verse 2 starts. Throughout the CD you are constantly turning the volume up and down - sometimes within the same song. I listen to, and sing, a lot of choral music so appreciate the difference in sound levels when performing 'live', however the quiet bits still need to be audible! It is frustrating and does spoil what would otherwise be an excellent CD.
I have played the CD on a standalone CD player/amp, a midi hi-fi system and the car CD player, and have the same problem on each. I bought a different Carols from Kings compilation at the same time and both CDs suffer from this problem.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2010
The music is lifting, a great pleasure to listen to. Favourites mixed in with a few you might not know so well, or know the tune but not the name. Couple this with superb quality of recording and this is the ultimate carols CD. I bought it for myself and took it home for Christmas where family and friends listened to it with much pleasure - some asked what it was, and have now bought their own copies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2010
Carols beautifully sung by the choir of King's College Cambridge and 2 CDs at a price that would have been cheap for 1! Excellent value .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
An impressive choral and organ performance. I feel my self sitting in a big cathedral rather than at home. Worths 5 stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2011
This CD is a must for lovers of Christmas music, particularly carols, sung by the King's College Cambridge which, in my opinion, is one of the best choirs. You have practically all the popular carols loved by most over two discs. The quality of the recording is really very good and, for the price, it is a bargain!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
This is a splendid conspectus of Christmas music from Kings, covering all of the well-known and some lesser-known carols and includes some new recordings such as the Holst setting of In the Bleak Midwinter (Cranham), the 'normal' King's version by Harold Darke is also included.

I do find it amusing though the adverse comments about sound levels in other reviews; it appears that some people are unaware that Once in Royal is always sung as a processional with solo treble in the distance at first so you would expect the wide difference in sound levels which is what you get here as the choir approaches. I picture them frantically adjusting their amplifiers to counteract the intended effect.

Considering some of the early recordings are getting on for fifty years old the consistency of the recordings is excellent.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
Another one of these Christmas CD's from Kings what with the quire and the organ there is nothing that can compère.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
This item arrived a lot quicker than expected, especially as I ordered it from Canada!

The cd is just what I was hoping it would be be, being from Cambridge but living in Canada, this cd brought back a lot of great memories and has added to the feeling of the Christmas Spirit for me and my family
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
The rather scant booklet (8 pages, if you count generously) says the recordings were made in the chapel of King's College -- however, the recordings portray very little ambiance, and certainly give no hint of being made in such a large space. Indeed, the choir seems to be squashed into almost no depth. I was also a bit disappointed that some of the carols did not have a fuller sound. Overall I give a middling rating (neither a positive nor a negative recommendation) -- this CD is certainly better than "Essential Carols" which I unfortunately bought too.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Chose the CD originally as I wanted a recording of Jesus Christ the Apple Tree which is on the second disc but very happy with purchase- good quality recording, very relaxing music and so reflective for Christmas time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Carols From King's
£5.09

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)