Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 July 2002
Orbital's "best of" album is supposed to sum this hugely influential electronic band (arguably the second greatest ever, behind their idols Kraftwerk) in one single disc. I think this is the first flaw, Orbital deserve a double CD comparable to Pink Floyd's "Echoes". As for the music, it is difficult to argue with the tracks chosen, (with the exception of the dreadful "Illuminate"), but too many are in edited form, and thus inferior to their album versions. A clear case in point is "Halcyon", an all-time great that achieves moving emotion on the Brown album, but fails to satisfy in the seven inch form. "Impact USA" is also inferior to the version on the Brown album, whilst the "Spawn" version of the classic "Satan" is puzzlingly included. Making a best of Orbital album is sure to cause more than a few murmurs of discontent, but that does not detract from the fact that what is chosen is still pretty damn good. But the question still has to be asked: why does Orbital's worst ever track ("Illuminate") appear on a "best of" album?
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2002
I would just like to make this clear, this is not meant to be a "Best Of" compilation, it isn't. Work is meant (as it explains in the inlay card) to be a singles collection, with the exception of choice and frenetic which are bonus tracks. Each of these were released at various points in the last 13 years as singles. I agree that if it was a best of, the track choice would be radically different, but this is not meant that way. I also cannot understand the criticism of the version of Halcyon included, it is a great track, and in my opinion compares favourably with Halcyon+on+on on Orbital 2. Which, in fact is not even the original version. And anyway, if "Work" only contained the album versions of tracks, what would be the point? Instead of complaining about tracks being missing etc. just enjoy a compilation which shows how a great band's sound has evolved over the years.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2002
"Industry Standard" mix of Are We Here? How apt! A 1 disc collection was never going to do them justice but... Illuminate, Frenetic? These tracks aren't terrible (not by a long stretch) but... what are they doing on a "best of" album, when they're plainly not the best that the Hartnoll brothers have to offer?
Dubious entries, apart from the above, include Satan Spawn (the original's so much better); Halcyon (butchered 7" version); in fact practically every "short" version! A shame that this compilation misses the target so widely.
An industry standard compilation representing an above standard discography.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 August 2012
Not generally considered the right age for such Techno/Ambient electronic dance music, I'd only really heard of/owned a couple of Orbital tracks on compilations.

Thus, to my pleasant surprise, this 'Work 1989 - 2000' is an often beautiful album, always seeming 'hip' and rave-like, with the likes of Halycon a stand out, for me. The duet with David Gray another.

I enjoy rave and all the 'new' genres of music as the next man and sounding very typical, as long as it has a semblance of melody and listenability. My days (yes, the '80s!) of getting wasted and haunting very dive possible are long gone, so now my Ipod and hifi are my only dance-floors.

This tuneful and melodic - and above all - interesting collection is just the thing to quicken one's step to, or lighten the mood or simply to chill out to. You may laugh, but isn't that what good music is supposed to do, whatever your age?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
A good compilation of orbital tracks. As a huge fan just getting into vinyl, it was ideal to get some of my favourites onto the format.

The sleeves include comments from the duo on each song and the story behind them all, and the records themselves are pleasing to the eye.

The songs I won't review here, but I'd say they aren't the absolute best from the duo, but they're still pretty good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
A superb compilation. In my opinion this has all the best tracks of Orbital, save perhaps one or two. And as a collection of their work is well worth getting.
This is a great album. Recommended 9/10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
I think this cd is one of Orbital's best it seems to have all there most well known songs on it like Chime and The Box , cd arrived within 3 days in excellent condition thanks .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2004
What i don't understand is how so many people have given this album a bad review? It is in my opinion a great way of hearing the different styles orbital has pioneered in the last thirteen years. If you don't like one track your bound to find another to your liking on it. This album porbably isn't for those who already own some of the older orbital stuff, but is worth a gander for anyone new to there music.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2012
This album, although I've not heard for years, still sounds as good as ever. A must for any dance/house/electronic fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2016
Excellent listen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)