Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now


on 18 December 2009
Without a doubt the best Christmas song and perhaps the best Irish Folk song ever created. Every beat, every tune, every chime ... they all fit perfectly to the song. But the words alone are enough to make even the manliest of men get a tear in their eye.

The song isn't "happy" or "exciting" like most other Christmas songs, but it is what a Christmas song should be... a song that reminds you of the less fortunate people that don't have a home to celebrate Christmas in. That is what all Christmas songs should be like, not a product of the media to make us go and spend a load of money.

Come on people, the song costs less than a can of Pepsi - just buy it! This song deserves a better chart position than this!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2009
Fairytale of New York is by far - hands down the best christmas song ever, and a truly magnificent song.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
It's Christmas Eve, and Irish people fresh off the boat in New York City complain, argue, get maudlin, boisterous. In short, they're drunk... and acclimated to New York. They fancy themselves romantic for finding the occasional ray of optimism through their self-inflicted drama and misery.

Surely one of the best comedy Christmas songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'm sure that there is scarcely a Brit or an Irishman who has not heard this song. This is not the usual Christmas song, despite its title. If you're looking for alternating wistfulness and rowdiness, with a distinctly Gaelic flavour, you've come to the right place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
This is a golden oldie. I have liked this tune a very long time and when the opportunity arose for a free download then it would have been sacrilege to ignore it. I like this song & the recording for what the sound and memories it brings. Just love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
So different to the usual Christmas stuff it draws your attention immediately,to say nothing of the really catchy tune. The Pogues together with Kirsty MColl are excellent, you couldn't imagine any group pulling it off. Not just for Chritmas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Not everyone likes this song, but for me it will always be a classic. I only listen to it at Xmas normally, but this year it will probably end up being shuffled on my phone, so I can enjoy it all year round!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
An incredible song with a wonderful mixture of pathos and beauty. Shane MacGowan's voice shouldn't work but does. Kirsty MacColl does what comes naturally. In my top 5 of Christmas songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
One of the best Christmas songs of all time, if not the best.

every time I hear this song it allways reminds me of the time I meet my wife.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
Received CD this morning have not stopped playing it and singing along with most of the tracks.
The Pogues at their best. I love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)