Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
458
4.1 out of 5 stars
King Kong [Blu-ray][Region Free]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 May 2006
KK is a frustrating film because it had the potential to be an absolute classic, but too many cock-ups spoilt the party.

IMHO the '12' rating, though necessary to bring in a bigger audience to recoup the mega-budget, kills the movie. At a '15', or ideally '18' rating, KK could have been a real nerve shredding chiller. Instead it's played as a semi-comedy, particularly by Jack Black, which is a disaster.

The CGI, supposedly awesome, are actually pretty lame, particularly on the big screen. It doesnt look convincing. Kong himself is also a bit of a letdown. He's modelled too much on the silverback gorilla, in effect just a bigger version of said creature. Of course, he has to look vaguely ape-like. But giving him a more unique appearance, more of a monster and less of a gorilla, would have been a better bet.

It's not all bad. The crew setting foot on Skull Island and meeting the natives for the first time is a pretty scary encounter, and the showdown at the top of the Empire State Building is also impressive. But there's just too many inconsistencies (how did they transport a giant ape across the ocean in a flimsy boat without him a)trashing the thing and b)starving to death - KK must have to eat like a tonne of food a day to keep going?) and irrelevant scenes (the battle with the giant insects is not only disgusting, but completely pointless, just a CGI sideshow to freak us out for a bit).

All in all could have done better. 2.5 stars.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2006
I have just finished watching King Kong, i felt i had to review this film after sitting quite some hours watching it.. To begin with the settings are brilliant and really does feel like 1930s, then we get to skull island and the pace picks up abit more.. In a way it was abit like Jurassic Park but loads better.. After that we see Kong captured but we never see him being moved or transport, next thing hes in chained up in New York..

I felt the last part of this film was rushed and it wasnt entertaining watching a 20ft gorilla being shot to pieces and dieing.. I wont be in a hurry watching this film again..

I just hope we have a Directors Cut with a Happier ending..

Bless Kong lets see you go home even though you never did in the orginal too, but i am sure i saw an old version when i was younger with kong walking into the ocean sunset going home...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2007
What a disgrace of a film. If it was that good I would leave it there but I have to continue. I first saw this "film" in the cinema when it was first released hoping to be entertained for a couple of hours... but no. This was as fun as having a competetion between your 2 favourite leaves on a tree seeing which would change colour first. (if you enjoy watching leaves change colour I'm sorry I offended you, & you probably will enjoy this film.) I mean, when you see Jack Black in a film you expect a few laughs, after nearly 3 hours I conceded that idea & slumped into a gentle snooze. When I awoke I suddenly thought, 'How did they get that massive Gorilla accross the Ocean in a small wooden boat? & when they amazingly did get to dry land, how did they fit it through the doors of the theatre?' If it was possible I would give this film a 0 or even a minus number out of 10.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
bargain tyvm
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
EXQUISIT !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2006
To be totally honest,I wasn't bothered about seeing this film I think what swung it was all the "5 Star" reviews the film critics offered. So I took the opportunity of "wasting" one of my Amazon DVD rental choices on it.First of all how can Peter Jackson,the man who directed, arguably, the best films of all time (The Lord of the rings trilogy) put his name to this?

I loved the pastiche of a group of hammy actors and a dodgy director getting involved in something they never should have begun.- Or is this the cryptic joke we all missed? Come on lets be honest,the special effects and big budget aside,have you ever seen such unconvincing,wooden acting in any film - EVER? And what about simple continuity? Naomi Watts tippy toeing around the top of the empire state in high heels,climbing a ladder in barefeet then getting to the summit and wearing her high heels again (perhaps she kept them under her arm - or in her broad smile!!)All in all another film where the budget was only for the special effects and (probably) Mr Jackson's fee.

In closing - this has got to be a contender for Turkey of the year,If there's a film out there with worse acting, storylines,lack of plausibility,continuity,belief etc.etc. then I've yet to see it - rent or buy anything,even the test card,but not this!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2007
Peter Jackson really did well creating this film, he deserves a pat on the back. Its a slow-moving thriller set in 1933 about a group of people that end up on what they think is a deserted island. They bump into the villagers who just so happen to be raving lunatics that want to kill them all and then they meet King Kong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
Great movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
Good..print
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2008
This is a brilliant film, and has some great CGI. Despite people saying the first 45 minutes of the film being dull, i think it's perfectly enjoyable. My favourite bit, being the Insect Pit (hey! that rhymes) And the great V-Rex fight with Kong vs 3.
One of the only things i don't like is that the famous saying:
"Twas beauty that killed the beast" was replaced by a different:
"It was beauty killed the beast" which i dislike, along with the curious absence of a "The".
This DVD also has some good special features, (Even though nothing near the wonderful LOTR packs horde) and has an entertaining 'The History of Skull Island' feature.
This is a really good film and has a good '2 Disc DVD' pack.
Buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse