Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

After the incredible tape transfer and audio restoration work STEVE WILSON of PORCUPINE TREE did on the remasters of KING CRIMSON and JETHRO TULL's early catalogue - the other big Proggy Monster was always going to be YES. And with their 3rd breakthrough record "The Yes Album" from 1971 - man has our Stevie stepped up to the Topographic plate. This 2014 CD and DVD-A reissue is awesome stuff and worthy of the praise so far heaped on it. No harm then in a little more - here are the details that are no disgrace...

UK released April 2014 - "The Yes Album" (Definitive Edition) on Panegyric GYRSP40106 (Barcode 633367900326) breaks down as follows:

Disc 1, Definitive Edition CD, 2014 Stereo Mixes, 50:55 minutes:
1. Yours Is No Disgrace
2. Clap
3. Starship Trooper (a) Life Seeker (b) Disillusion (c) Wurm
4. I've Seen All Good People (a) Your Move (b) All Good People
5. A Venture
6. Perpetual Change
Tracks 1 to 6 are the vinyl LP "The Yes Album" - released March 1971 in the UK on Atlantic 2400 101 and Atlantic SD 8283 in the USA

7. Clap (Studio Version) - the album version is a Steve Howe 'live' acoustic instrumental recorded at the Lyceum in London, 17 July 1970. This is the rare unused 'Studio Version' - at 4:05 minutes it's also longer
8. A Venture (Extended Mix) - the album track runs to 3:19 minutes - this longer version extends towards the end to 4:46 minutes

Disc 2 is the Definitive Edition DVD-A. It's a NTSC Region 0 Hybrid DVD-A compatible with all DVD Players and DVD-ROM Drives. From the visual/audio menu on your television or computer - it allows you to choose from 4 variants of the album as follows:
1. 2014 Stereo Mixes: 24/96 MLP Lossless (tracks 1 to 6 above)

2. 2014 5.1 Surround Mixes: 24/96 MLP Lossless/dts 96/24 (tracks 1 to 6 above)

3. Original Stereo Mix: Flat Transfer From Original Master LPCM Stereo 24/96 (tracks 1 to 6 above)

4. Alternate Album:
1. Yours Is No Disgrace (Live, London 1971)
2. Clap (Studio Version)
3. Starship Trooper (a) Life Seeker (Single Edit)
4. I've Seen All Good People (Live, London 1971)
5. A Venture (Extended Mix)
6. Perpetual Change (Live, New Haven 1971)

With a gatefold digipak within an outer card wrap - the reissue feels classy right from the off. CD to the left, DVD-A to the right and booklet loose between them - each disc pictures different parts of the albums original artwork while the photo on the albums inner gatefold is beneath the see-through trays. The well-stocked 20-page booklet offers photos of rare 7" picture sleeves from Germany, France, Italy, Portugal and Japan dotted through the text - as well as the original UK LP on the Atlantic Records plum label beloved by collectors (US originals pictured too). There are British and American trade adverts, reel-to-reel boxes and tape files, a white label promo of the LP - even the lyrics to the songs for the first time. SID SMITH gives us superb liner notes on the creation of the album while STEVE WILSON explains about the master tapes and the new Stereo/5.1 Surround Mixes. It's exemplary stuff...

Yet all of that presentation icing on the cake is not what fans are really after - it's the audio. And having listening to "The Yes Album" for 40 years of my life - I'm amazed at the clarity on offer here compared to previous Rhino versions. Some of the tracks are so clean it's almost disconcerting - they're not supressed nor trebled for effect - just treated with care and attention to transfer detail.

As the opener "Yours Is No Disgrace" goes into that Chris Squire Bass break - it's so good - and that Howe solo still amazes. Listening to the rather dry and somehow uninspired `studio' cut of "Clap" - it's easy to see now why they chose the live version - there's just something extra in the playing that lifts it up into the realm of special. There's real muscle now in the swirl of "Starship Trooper" and "Wurm" kicks in - Wilson captures the build up and spread across the speakers perfectly. As opposed to the album version - I have to say that I'm loving the `Extended Mix' of "A Venture" with its loose and funky King Crimson finish - Yes tripping out. But if I was to single out just one track where the audio improvement is magnificent - it's the Side 2 opener "I've Seen All Good People". It's layers and beautiful arrangements are even more magical now - and those fantastic vocals by Jon Anderson - genius. I have a friend who has his stereo rigged to his television's surround kit - and I can't tell you how utterly brilliant the 5.1 version sounds - wow! I'm going to have to bleeding invest-damn! I thought the `Alternate' version of the album was interesting if not a tad gimmicky - but I don't if it's just that I'm too used to the original (relistens methinks)...

I can imagine that nowadays there's probably a queue of Prog band's sat outside Steve Wilson's front porch clutching bags of master tapes - hoping to catch his eye as he exits for a latte. And on the strength of this groovy reissue - I can totally understand why...
55 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2018
The Yes Album is the third album by the English progressive rock band Yes, released on 19 February 1971 by Atlantic Records.[3] It is their first album with guitarist Steve Howe, who replaced Peter Banks in 1970, and their last in the 1970s to feature keyboardist Tony Kaye.

The album was the first by the group not to feature any cover versions of songs. The band spent mid-1970 writing and rehearsing new material at a farmhouse at Romansleigh, Devon, and the new songs were recorded at Advision Studios in London in the autumn. While the album retained close harmony singing, Kaye's Hammond organ and Chris Squire's melodic bass, as heard on earlier releases, the new material also covered further styles including jazz piano, funk and acoustic music, with all band members contributing ideas, and tracks were extended in length to allow music to develop. Howe contributed a variety of guitar styles, including a Portuguese guitar, and recorded a solo acoustic guitar piece, "Clap", live at the Lyceum Theatre, London.

The album was a critical success and a major commercial breakthrough for Yes, who had been at risk of being dropped by Atlantic Records due to the commercial failures of their first two albums. It reached number 4 in the United Kingdom and number 40 in the United States, and was later certified Platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America for surpassing one million copies. The album has been reissued on CD several times, and was given a Blu-ray release in 2014 remixed by Steven Wilson.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2017
Classic YES. Of course it is and it's just brilliant stuff and is timeless. Well I think it is. I am kinda stuck on Starship Trooper. It's so fabulous. I think I might have been brain washed with this album as a child as my brother played it constantly. Everything on it is so familiar and somewhat comforting, like your favourite jumper that you can't possibly part with. The LPs of old are probably in an attic somewhere but glad I could replace everything with CDs. This is definitely not one I will use as a coaster - that's for sure. These are top notch, fantastic, musicians - nuff said I think.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I'm just another voice in the Halleluwah* chorus, it would appear. Like the Yes catalogue as a whole, this album is varied, and - for my money - not entirely consistent. But neither of these things is a bad thing per se. The first is a strength, and the second is just reality.

Anderson's extremely distinctive vocals, and his unusual melodies and harmonies, are great. So too is the way that the band as a whole can continually recast his melodies via different backings. Chris Squires' bass combines intelligent restraint with a rare kind of musical muscularity, achieving a tastefulness inversely proportional to his sartorial choices (I say this having just watched Symphonic Live... those leggings!). And Bruford's drumming? Well, he was to get ever cleverer, but never so straightforwardly compelling.

People have written copiously on all aspects of Yes, and there's plenty of other reviews here to read, so other than these scant observations I just want to note that, for me, I'd probably give this five stars even if everything except Starship Trooper was utterly awful. Of course it isn't, and that's a bonus. But hearing Starship Trooper - and in fact I'm only referring to the opening Life Seeker portion of the song - was, and remains, an enduring 'magic moment' for me. Some pieces of music really can have an almost magical cathartic effect. I hesitate (unlike Anderson these days) to use the word spiritual, fraught as it is, but hey, it fits! Listening to the Life Seeker section of Starship Trooper, ideally through a good system and loud enough to be immersed fully in the sound, is nothing short of transcendental for me. So, erm... thanks guys!

At the time of writing this gem is selling on Amazon for £3! And that's the expanded/remastered version. If you think the current state of popular music is just peachy, you might find the music on this disc baffling. If, on the other hand, when confronted with the state of popular music these days you think, surely there must be more? The answer is, Yes.

* That's a Can reference, not a typo.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2014
A truly brilliant album from the masters/co-inventors of Progressive Rock.... My personal preference is to focus on the big classic tracks which were a breakthrough for the band at the time - particularly Yours is No Disgrace and Starship Trooper. The Steven Wilson 5.1 mix is the reason to buy this version (otherwise you might as well stick to other editions)..... Wilson's surround mixes of classic prog albums (he has also done Thick as a Brick, Tarkus, Close to the Edge and most of the King Crimson back catalogue) are peerless... Basic rule of thumb - classic prog + Steven Wilson surround mix = no brainer.....
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2014
Yes, this is a very good 5.1 mix. Well worth adding to the collection and at a reasonable price too for such mixes. Recorded in 1970 but sounding very sharp indeed with all the detail you would expect from a multichannel mix. The Blu Ray disk provides two 5.1 options - DTS HD-MA and Lossless PCM. You can feed both of these via HDMI to your amp. Purists might utilise a BD players analogue output connection set to feed each channel of the 5.1 LPCM track individually to the Amp - I would if I wasn't already using them for a SACD player. It would have been better if this mix could have been presented on SACD like Fragile and Close to the Edge but I'm being picky. Go play it loud and relive your youth!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 50 REVIEWERon 8 December 2012
Released in January 1971, the third album from Yes is now seen as a timeless rock classic which marked a step change in style & imagination from the band's competent but unremarkable first two albums. `The Yes Album' also marked the replacement of founder-member guitarist Peter Banks (who fell out with Jon Anderson over the excessive use of orchestration on the `Time & a Word' album) with the truly brilliant Steve Howe, whose compositional input, technical skills and seminal playing in no small way contributes to this album being an outstanding piece of work, and who was to become one of the defining cornerstones of the unique `Yes sound'.

Other reviews have offered excellent song-by-song commentaries of the album, so that won't be repeated here. However some general impressions stand out. First off, this band ROCKS; it's first & foremost a rock group, which plays with feel and passion. The keyboard mix pre-dates Rick Wakeman's joining by a few months so the moog makes only an occasional appearance, Tony Kaye supporting the melody principally with electric organ and piano. The overall sound is a guitar-rhythm section-vocal rock band spiced up with interesting compositional arrangements, great dynamics, vocal harmonies and some experimental pieces like `Perpetual Change'. The band finally seems to know what it's doing and where it's going, its distinctive sound beginning to emerge.

You can hear Chris Squire on this album starting for the first time to use the bass guitar as a lead instrument, where rather than simply work with the drummer to underpin the rhythm, he offers a complimentary melodic structure to the guitar & keyboards, bringing an intelligence and complexity to the music rarely found among contemporaries.

Above all, `The Yes Album' is bursting with energy. The opener `Yours is no disgrace' is one of the all-time great rockers with its distinctive tight opening bars moving into a driving riff, Kaye's organ work giving the impression of trying to constrain the energy of the rhythm section as Howe's choppy, wailing guitar offers bursts of sound as counterbalance to Anderson's equally energetic falsetto-register multi-tracked vocals.

On the `expanded & re-mastered' release you get the original album, plus as bonus tracks single versions of `Your Move' & `Life Seeker' - the first part of `Starship Trooper' - & a studio version of `The Clap', Howe's solo acoustic guitar piece (a live-audience version was included on the original `Yes Album' to spotlight the band's new guitarist). Though the better-known live `Clap' is good, many listeners will agree the studio version has the edge.

Overall `The Yes Album' though perhaps just a little bit rough at the edges and lacking the compositional complexity characteristic of subsequent `Yes' releases, showcases a tight, powerful & melodic rock band which has found its voice and distinctive style. To quote Bill Martin: "The Yes Album inaugurates `The Main Sequence', a term from astronomy for when a star begins to shine at full strength for a long period of time. The star called Yes was already there in the sky but suddenly we noticed it, and we could not look away."

After 40 years `The Yes Album' still sounds great, and is recommended unreservedly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 April 2013
When I was at University I heard a snippet of this album on the radio, on the strength of which I bought it. I played it in my college room and fellow students came to hear it and, like me, were blown away. It became a favourite of mine, and theirs, and has remained so ever since.

This was their breakthrough album. I hadn't heard the earlier 'Yes' releases. It seemed therefore that a new group had burst onto the scene with music that was innovative, progressive, interesting and quite complex. It was an album that asked to be played often, to be listened to with attention and to be remembered.

I recently revisited it through this expanded and remastered version and can report that it has lost none of its interest for me. It is a pleasure to hear it again, cleaned up and improved.

'Yours Is No Disgrace' sets the scene with its variety of speeds and its exploitation of the stereo mix. Once heard, this is not forgotten. 'The Clap' is s solo tour de force for Steve Howe on acoustic guitar, unaccompanied, though at times you would think it was. It is a live recording, but I put in a word here for the studio 'extra': just as good and slightly different.

'Starship Trooper' is now one of Yes' most famous tracks and 'I've seen all good People' is a showboat for Jon Anderson's inimitable vocals.

There really isn't a weak track on this album.

Yes were to change their personnel many times and this line-up didn't survive through to the next album. But the music they made does survive - it is very, very good and it has aged well. It is still interesting and enjoyable four decades after its first release.

If Yes released this today for the first time, I believe it would be received as modern and interesting with musicianship of the highest quality. Thoroughly recommended: five stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2014
For me The YES Album has always been my favourite album by Yes. It's just so good, which probably explains why so many of the tracks from it have been part of the Yes live performances for so many years. This 5.1 version by the amazingly talented Steven Wilson has lifted the album to a whole new level, somewhere beyond brilliant. Everything is so clear and sounds just so right. I thought the 5.1 version of Close To The Edge was as good as 5.1 gets, but this is over the edge. If funds are tight and you can't afford both then this is one to get. You won't be sorry. Although if you can afford both, belive me money well spent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2018
just wow been listening to this album since I was a kid when my dad had the vinyl over the years I purchased the rhino reissue vinyl and the deluxe cd and then the box set and now this what a version crystal clear and the 5.1 mix is superb. not a fan of steven Wilson as a solo artist but you really cant fault his 5.1 remixes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)