Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
157
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2009
A beautiful little film,well cast and with thoughtfully portrayed characterisations.
We will enjoy watching it again and again.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
This isn't a dreadful film, but it shows how hard it is to make the perfect lighthearted, feel good movie.

I would highly recommend reading Winifred Watson's book rather than watch the DVD. It is a joy - light and frothy but somehow you really care what happens to everyone. The sleeve notes for the book say that reading it is like watching a Fred Astaire movie...which in theory is what this film should have been like.

I had really looked forward to watching it, but while it tries hard to be a perfect wheeze, it just doesn't have the natural flair of the best movies from the 30s and 40s. In the book, the characters are immediately compelling, but here they flit in and out without ever really engaging. Amy Adams should have been lovely in this, but somehow is more irritating than endearing. I put it down to the direction rather than the actors, as it's a cracking cast.

I also didn't believe the romance between Miss Pettigrew and Joe, whereas in the book it is perfectly believable.

So yes, it's alright. But it should have been rather wonderful. I shall give the DVD to a charity shop, but I will keep (and re-read) the novel for ages.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 January 2014
Easily categorised as a romcom it's got much more going for it.

A finely observed study of women surviving at a time when they had fewer options, the two protagonists discover they have more in common than seems likely at first sight. Set in the contrasting circumstances of west end high life just before WWII (for a in depth back story on that try The West End Front: The Wartime Secrets of London's Grand Hotels) and how close poverty was, if you tripped and fell.

As the film developed it reminded me of Waterloo Bridge: Vivien Leigh~Robert Taylor~Directed By Mervyn LeRoy.... with similar themes set during WWI; but luckily with a happy ending.

The extras added to my enjoyment, far surpassing the usual pointless fillers, everyone has something to say worth hearing, including the son of the author of the book on which the film is based
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
well i must say..
i want to spend my day like Miss Pettegrew~

This love triangle and rags to riches (sort of).. just hit me in all the right spots.
a perfectly good film for any time of day.
made me feel a sense of nostalgia too. even though i am hardlly old enough to even remember the opening of The Channel Tunnel haha
perfect film.
will definatly be watching again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
A fun and diverting film based on a slender story not without slapstick or sympathy, amusingly directed and beautifully filmed nonetheless, stylish yet truthful, well worth watching curled up on a sofa with a loved one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
I had been waiting for ages to see this film,I'm afrain I was disapointed.I love the book and expected this film to have the same punchy feel to it.It seemed tame in comparison.miss Pettigrew has so many great lines in the book,mostly taken from her favorite Hollywood movies,in the film she seemed a bit stilted.
This film is good but not great.Read the book!It's funnier the people in it are more adorable.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2009
This is an enchanting film. It's not as good as the novel By Winifred Watson and it is not in itself a masterpiece. But the adaptation is adequate, the storyline interesting, the performances excellent and the atmosphere of a country in the brink of war compelling.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
The dvd was delivered quickly and after all the film watching over Christmas I really didn't think I'd enjoy it. This film is lovely with the wonderful Frances McDormand taking the lead and Amy Adams the scatty Delysia. Fantastic support roles from Ciaran Hinds snd Lee Pace. The film was gentle and sweet, seeing Miss Pettigrew come alive. Definitely worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2009
My mum adores this movie a lot not just because she's a fan of Ciaran Hinds but it's a lovely film to watch and cheer yourself up. Having a blue day, I picked this and watched this afternoon. Based on the novel by Winfred Watson, the story is about a middle aged governess named Guinevere Pettigrew (Frances Mcdormand) who has just lost her job yet again and her luck is very down. As she shows up in a posh apartment desperate for work, she meets Delysia Lafosse (Amy Adams) and immediately calls her new social secretary. But Delysia has a problem: she has three men on the go with the youthful and dashing Phillip (Tom Payne), the handsome but dangerous (Mark Strong) and the romantic piano player (Lee Pace). While trying to help her new friend of her struggling love life, Guinevere is slowly falling for Joe (Hinds), a lingaure business man who is getting married to Edythe (Shirley Henderson), who knows about Guinevere's secret and would threaten to spill all if she ever gets near her man. But things end happily for the two though I won't spoil it. It's romantic, funny, brilliant soundtrack, awesome settings and beautiful costumes. The pefomances from them all is worth the running time and your attention, this will surely capture your heart and be remembered forever. It's worth seeing with your friends, mums and grandmums, sisters or daughters as it's a winning romantic comdey with no sex, violence or swearing. Highly recommeneded.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
I wasn't sure quite what I was expecting from this movie but I went for it after viewing the trailer. As it turns out, I enjoyed it very much! It certainly put a different twist on the good ol' chick flick story line and had a fair amount of comedy thrown in as well. I loved the subtlety of the one main character and her interactions compared to the extreme nature of the other.

All-in-all I enjoyed this one and have nothing bad to say about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)