Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Eden Lake [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 November 2017
This is a brilliant British film. Very dark and quite disturbing. Loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2014
I was gripped from 20 mins into the film, just when you thing things couldn't get any worse for the couple......what is even scarier is this could actually happen in today's thug culture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
Great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2017
Good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2017
This movie, depicts the dregs of the human race, in it's purest form. To all those who said this film was unbelievable, I can only assume they live in fairy land. The vile thugs who inhabit this town, and some of the kids they have produced, are capable of such cruelty and evil, that it depresses me to remember there truly are, such people around. There is always a ring leader, one particular, evil and psychopathic teenager, who although young, is beyond help, and is hell bent on terrorising and killing this poor couple, who have only gone to this place, thinking it is a beautiful country getaway for the weekend.
For those who say it's unbelievable, you must get off those ivory towers, and look at the real world. These teenagers, are products of aggressive vile parents, and there is no hope for them. There are only a couple of the kids, who retain humanity and have gentler natures, who are forced to go along with this horror.
This movie deeply disturbed me, especially the end..........."We look after our own"..............This movie, leads me to finally conclude, that the US has it right, in allowing people to have guns. If this couple only had a gun with them, they probably could have got out of this situation more easily.
The movie made me angry, angry that there are human beings so cruel and evil in this world, even before they start on the couple.......they are seen torturing and terrorising a badger in a cage. They are referred to as children at times, these monsters are not children, not all of them. The girl is around 15, and an evil witch, the ring leader, around the same age, and almost satan himself!
Wonderful acting, keeps you stressed and gripped right to the end. It could indeed happen to anyone in the wrong place at the wrong time, and is set in the UK.
So sad, so horrifying, a reminder, we must stay tough on criminals, whatever their age.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2016
It's quite watchable if you like this kind of film and I did watch it through to the end. The problem for me was that it is difficult to believe that anyone could be so, sorry to say this - stupid. The romantic couple find a moderate kind of nice place to pitch up beside a lake (made from a quarry), it is not really what you might call a true 'beauty spot' as such, not a place you would be drawn to like a magnet and never want to leave at any cost. Okay... along come a bunch of tearaway teenagers with a vicious snarling dog, the dog keeps coming up and harassing them and the wild teens play loud annoying music and throw foul insults when asked to turn it down, but the crazy thing is the couple insist on sticking it out instead of simply moving on, they have little to carry, it is not the most idyllic place on earth anyway and they have a 4x4 motor so why stay there until disaster unfolds? It just does not make any common sense. Their obvious stupidity in stubbornly remaining in a very dangerous situation creates what unfolds, horrific scenes. It could have been a better story, the acting is fine and the cinematography is excellent. Sorry, for me it is only 3 stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2013
I love this movie. I saw it so many times and it still scares me and makes my heart race.
Great Thriller!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2016
Very very powerful yet disturbing thriller! I'm not one to normally write reviews but really enjoyed this. It shows what lengths people are prepared to go to to either survive or not get caught! Well made with plenty of realistic gore! One of the best British movies I've seen. Simple but very effective thriller with realistic acting, especially the twisted ring leader of the gang. 5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 9 August 2017
A very powerful, but exceedingly nasty film; it is visceral, exploitative, manipulative and plays on class fears of an unruly, violent underclass.

It is, however, an effective psychological thriller; the notion of an ordinary young couple terrorised by a group of violent delinquents puts the film squarely in the Hoodie-Horror genre; its a well-made, stylishly shot piece of low-budget cinema and the casting – particularly of Kelly Reilly as Jenny and Jack O'Connell as the sadistic gang-leader - is a key element in the successful realisation of the drama.
There are a lot of implausibilities, as many reviewers have noted, but people do make wrong and stupid decisions in real-life, and movie-writers capitalise on this – its up to you how far you accept things as dramatic license.
It undoubtedly demonises a section of the working-classes in the most blatantly sensationalist way; but, although “nuanced” isn't quite the word to apply to it, it does have some subtle tensions working within the group dynamic of the gang and how much they are influenced by one, twisted individual – mirrored and possibly originated by the adult community.

“Liking” this film isn't an appropriate response – no-one, I should think, will find this anything less than upsetting and uncomfortable to watch, but you won`t forget it in a hurry and thinking about it beyond first impressions is probably an important consideration. It is a strong commentary on society, but is also a rather distasteful example of how this minor genre of cinema can reflect the horrors – real and imagined – of our age.

This DVD release has a number of interesting extras, mainly interviews with the director, producer and and cast-members and a Q&A with the director.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2017
Their accents annoying, apart from that a edge of seat movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)