Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
45
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2014
These seven short comedy vignettes are very entertaining and well worth what I paid on Amazon (bought second hand for £7.55 at the time of writing). The Amazon price of a new copy is now £9.81 (26.03.2014) which is very reasonable.

The video is a good print although a bit grainy and slightly offset from centre with a black line down the left side although I can live with that considering the broadcast dates of the original shows. The sound is good - not at all compressed sounding and there is no line noise or spotting and an absence of artefacts that might spoil the enjoyment of the content. Network have done a good job with the print here.

A good buy.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
This DVD is a gem, all episodes are fine entertainment and Arthur Lowe &
Len Rossiter ones are classics. Good quality reproduction too for its age - buy it and have a few good laughs
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
great bit dry in some places but still 90%funny
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
Thanks for the Galton and Simpson Playhouse dvd - it is excellent!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
A bit hit and miss. The first episode with Arthur Lowe is hilarious but some of the others are less so.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
I remember watching the G&S Playhouse series at the time as a teenager, and really enjoying it. 40 odd years later, a lot of the humour and social attitudes have dated badly, or the episode comes over as more farce than I recalled.However, the episode featuring Arthur Lowe as a puffed up Little Englander on holiday in continental Europe still packs a punch, despite my criticism.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
I purchased this Galton and Simpson collection as I have always adored "Steptoe and Son" which I believe to be the second best sitcom of all time maintaining, as it did, high standards over a long period between 1963-1965 and 1970-1974.

However I was disappointed with this collection of "Also ran" sitcoms. There was one, though, that I found extremely funny and that was a story with Arthur Lowe, as a puffed up " Englishman abroad", on holiday in Switzerland with his long suffering wife. When they and other people get trapped in a Cable Car he takes control even though, in Military terms, he is outranked by an ex Luftwaffe Squadron Leader.

On the whole I feel it is worth purchasing this set as it slots into the history of Comedy on Television. The other episodes are eminently watchable but not of the standard that one expects of these Giants of the TV genre. There are performances by many well known actors. One, for example, is the wonderful Roy Kinnear who only scratched the surface of his talent. Other stars include Richard Briers, Charles Gray, Leonard Rossiter, Warren Mitchell, Frances de la Tour and many others.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2009
Galton and Simpson have written some brilliant comedy in their day. Sadly, this is not some of their best.

The inclusion of world class actors and actresses, to play in these short stories, fails to excite - as it should have done. As it is, the stories are workmanlike and highly competent, but not of sufficient comedic calibre to warrant high praise.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2011
I bought this specifically to see again the episode called 'I Tell You It's Burt Reynolds,' with Leonard Rossiter playing a knowitall who becomes obsessed by the absurd notion that a minor, unnamed, actor in a modest TV show is actually the famous Hollywood star. It made me laugh for ages when it first went out, and I was delighted to find it did so again on DVD. The other plays are all amusing to varying degrees, and, as always with Galton and Simpson, they maximise the comic potential by using skilled character actors who know all the tricks of the trade. The picture quality is very good indeed, and, as a whole, this little collection is very entertaining.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
It didn't really travel very well for us. Enjoyed a couple of them but with hindsight we wouldn't have bothered buying.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)