Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
143
4.6 out of 5 stars
Thriller: The Complete Series [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£30.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 December 2014
A ripping anthology and yet another reminder of how good a medium TV used to be. A few weak episodes but in general these have aged well. Also a great cross-section of UK acting talent of the time. A far superior and better value alternative to Tales of the Expected which gradually degenerated into the ubiquitous US trash (presumably due to a lack of ideas from Mr Dahl and a lack of funds at Anglia TV!).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
Episodes range from very good to outstanding!! Best box set I ever bought!!
Every episode was fantastic.
Can't recommend highly enough
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2009
This was a series I watched again and again many years ago, and it is a great set to relive past joys. Probably corny when compared to today's slick productions, but still some great stories with twists and tricks. Great value.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Most of these are well-thought out plots, often with twists at the end, and enough suggested badies to keep you guessing to the end
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
THRILLER THE COMPLETE SERIES WITH EXTRAS!
This Classic TV series is brilliant! It's not dated at all! Great stories! Plenty of suspense & thrills! Every episode has lots of well known stars! The stories are acted out so very well & there are plenty twists & turns to keep you guessing! My best DVD Boxset I have bought this year! It's left me wanting more!I can definitely recommend this box set! Not a bad price either!

Bought from Amazon.co.uk £30.13 & this item Delivered FREE in the UK with Super Saver Delivery.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
As good as I remember. Brilliantly written, a couple of less entertaining episodes and the constant inclusion of token american actors/actresses for no apparent reason (other than making it US friendly) can be annoying. But very, very good some real corkers contained in this long forgotten TV series from the early/mid seventies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2007
This is just fantastic if you are a fan of this sort of stuff. Hammer House of Horror, mixed with Tales of the Unexpected with a dash Beasts thrown in for good measure. There are so many well written stories here for you to enjoy, you'll never tire of them. Written (mostly) by Brian Clemens of The Avengers fame, he belives this is his finest work, and I am encouraged to agree with him. I thought this would never see the light of day, and before its release a couple of years back it was changing hands on ebay for la la amounts of maney (glad this wonderful release has put a stop to some greedy individuals scams to make cash on the back of it!), it is now here, ready for you to buy! 10/10!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2010
I have just finished watching all 44 episodes in this box set, plus the extras (Brian Clemens' interview; the US trailers etc). In general, the standard is very, very good.

One of my own two particular recommendations is If It's A Man-Hang Up, a superbly suspenseful and frightening study of an anonymous (until the very end) stalker: a Whosdoinit as opposed to Whodunnit, with a great, tense climax in an isolated country cottage, and some great twists right up until the very last moment. My other favourite episode is Screamer: a highly disturbing and atmospheric tale of a young woman's fear-and, for me, the darkest in tone of all the stories.

Kill Two Birds is the only episode I would class as duff overall, a minority of others are weak stories, but with good and effective detail and scenes, or good stories overall, but with weak or silly scenes or aspects of plot. For these minor caveats, I give the Thriller box set four out of five overall.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
TAKES ME BACK TO WHEN I WAS A KID AND MY BROTHER AND I USED TO BE TERRIFIED JUST BY THE THEME TUNE ON IT'S OWN! UNFORTUNATELY WATCHING THEM NOW YOU CAN SEE THAT THE ACTING IS VERY OVER THE TOP AND DATED, BUT THE STORIES ARE STILL GOOD. WORTH THE MONEY JUST FOR THE NOSTALGIA!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2016
very good series better than tales of the unexpected,remember the music from when i was a kid still decent stories or these years later the music is creepy when your a kid and its well worth buying because theres only a few crap ones in it most were good .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse