Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
28
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2008
This is by far the best thing i have heard for a very long time, i have followed Paul Weller since his early days and i am still surprised and amazed at his depth and quality, this CD captures it all, the atmosphere the quality of both his voice and musical talents, dont wait just buy it...
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
Paul Weller is one of those eternally young, classy statesmen whom one always feels rather jealous of. These 39 tracks are proof that he can do little wrong. Of course, his own classics are treated to both bare-boned reworkings for different BBC sessions as well as sharp-dressed, exciting concerts. But it's the covers that really are the taste-treat here.Check out the bluesy Corrina,Corrina, his take on Canadian Gordon Lightfoot's folk classic Early Morning Rain, the cooly raw Pretty Flamingo, and concert treasures What's Goin' On and Walk On Gilded Splinters. Wellr finds ways to possess these songs so they rise way above mere imitation. Both discs are set up chronolgically as they should be. If you're meeting him for the first time, you'll be enchanted, and longtime fans will find enough mouth-watering treats to keep them in the candy-store until the last song.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2008
The time span covered here gives valuable and rare insight on how Weller picked himself up from the dip at the end of The Style Council days. Always an artist to exude supreme confidence, you can pick up little fragments of him feeling his way back in and then you get it full on. If you're new and interested in getting to know the artist; if you've followed him since TOTP appearance and that Heinz apron or, indeed, at any point through his immense career - this is indispensable. Re-Mastering excellent.
Oh, and the packaging is not bad either!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
...excellent set,sadly I missed the limited 4cd box,didn't know just how limited it was,until it'd gone,but I'm completely happy with this 2cd set,and can't really see how the other could've really bettered it.First rate,and then some.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
I was so glad to play this again and again.
There are great versions of Science and "Up in Suzee's room".
Also CD3 is all live, with an early 1990s acid jazz concert, featuring 7 great songs (including Style Council masterpieces "My ever changing moods," "A Man of Great Promise" and "Speak like a child", late Jam song "Pity Poor Alfie" , cover of "Just like Yesterday" and great version of "Work to do" as well as perhaps the best recording ever of Paul's greatest song "Kosmos."
That song alone sells it for me.
This is a thoroughly enjoyable collection, even if you're not a Weller fan.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2009
Great value and excellent alternative live versions of his studio greats. I like Weller's acoustic as much as his rock stuff.

Highly recommended to Weller fans. If you don't know Weller (is there anyone?)start with As Is Now and Wild Wood CDs.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
Good mix of tracks , some versions I had not heard before. These BBC sessions are always woth buying , I think that one's opinion on this one will depend on liking the balance of tracks from his different phases -Style Council, Solo or covers. Well worth a listen but wheras I was expecting it to be great it is merely very good !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
I bought this 4 CD set for my wife at Christmas and can honestly say that from a non Paul Wellar follower, this album is very good. I would recommend it to anybody who listens to music.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2010
4 CDs just full of Weller magic. Something for every mood. The first two CDs are outakes from guest spots on radio shows, the third and fourth are from BBC concert out takes. I just love the way the recordings are faithful to the moment and bring home the joy of "performance". Paul Weller is a consumate performer, his best recordings are his live recordings. You get really close to him on these tracks. Wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Excellent double CD a good mixture of old favourites and covers of a few classics ,disc 1 is a studio album and disc 2 a live session, overall a fantastic buy any Weller fan will enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)