Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
51
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.09


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2016
This review is specifically for the 1995 MCA CD release. The songs themselves are a mixed bag. The title track is their first stab at an extended, ahem, "rock opera" and doesn't quite click performance-wise or production-wise (the definitive version was captured in late 1968 at the Rolling Stones Rock n Roll Circus) but is still of immense interest and naive charm. Other material ranges from the mod pop of "So Sad About Us" to the macabre musings of John Entwistle - "Boris the Spider" & "Whiskey Man" - to Keith Moon's loon-about "Cobwebs and Strange". Definitely not The Who's best album ("Sell Out" for this reviewer) but a worthy and entertaining disc, which the bonus material emphasizes.

However, this 1995 version is baffling aurally. The mixes are both mono and stereo with no apparent rhyme or reason in the running order. The mastering itself is adequate except in the case of "I Need You", which finds the cymbals running amok sonically. They're loud and tinny. I am always skipping this track, which I do not have to do on earlier versions of this CD (both the 1988 Polydor and MCA versions for example).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
I am familiar with Tommy and Quadrophenia. But The Who's early albums I don't know that exept My Generation and The Kids Are Alright, of course. Run, run, run and So Sad About Us and Happy Jack are amazing songs too. I think some of the songs are composed by other Who members than Townsend, which I find very refreshing. Pete Townsend is an amazing composer, but it is amazing listening to songs composed by other band members. And the wonderful thing about the album is that it is NOT mainstream pop!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
The who like it was back then -timeless
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
good good. M.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
great lp
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2005
It's a shame that when a band produces a number of great albums that some of their lesser known albums fall by the wayside. This is certainly one of those. It's not that this is their best (but by no means their worst), but it deserves more exposure than it gets.
John Entwistle's greatest song is here for a start, the arachnophobic 'Boris the Spider'. He was apparently stuck for material to write about, and noticed a spider...the rest is history! There is also the best song that Keith Moon's name was put to - the insanely twisted 'Cobwebs and Strange' that could only have come from the head of someone like Keith Moon. It feels like Pete Townsend took a backseat in the songwriting department here, as there's also a rare contribution from Roger Daltrey, and the bonus tracks are covers versions that appeared on the b-sides of singles.
Pete Townsend's outstanding contribution here though is 'A Quick One While He's Away'. It's the first of his 'rock operas', but it stands in the shadows of the overrated 'Tommy' and the excellent 'Quadrophenia'.
This album sits well alongside the classics 'The Who Sell Out', 'Tommy', 'Live at Leeds', 'Who's Next' and 'Quadrophenia', and is certainly better than any of the albums not mentioned above.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
This is probably my favorite Who album. The themes, moods, textures of the songs resemble a kaleidoscopic fanfare. Quirky themes abound; phobias, whiskey addiction, and the famous mini-opera of A Quick One with its many different parts -some excellent, some good.

Keith Moon's and John Entwhistle's contributions are whimsical and humorous. Whiskey and Strange is one of the few instrumentals tracks I enjoy listening to, and Boris the Spider is deserving of its reputation. And Roger Daltrey's See My Way fits in the category of: it's so bad, it's good. Special mention goes to So Sad About Us, and to the excellent cover of Heatwave, with its melodic intensity redolent -in some weird way- of 80s cop TV shows (don't ask me why, this is always the association it bring to my mind).

I would have rated the album with 4-stars if it wasn't for the plethora of marvelous extras. Standouts are the surf music covers of: Bucket T, and Barbara Ann, Doctor Doctor, and the Moon/ Entwhistle penned In the City (Jam fans will notice a similarity with a famous song of the latter band).

Overall I think this album deserves -at least- to be judged without any preconceptions on the part of the listener. Maybe the experience will be surprisingly pleasant.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
This is probably the least well known of their 60s output but its by no means a mediocre or filler album by any stretch. Theres some killer Who cuts here such as Run Run Run, So Sad About Us and the ambitious title track itself. Elsewhere, the Who's eccentric side comes to the fore with two John Entwistle numbers Whiskey Man & Boris the Spider. Even Keith Moon gets on the writing credits with I Need You and Cobwebs & Strange. Roger Daltrey contributes with a Buddy Holly style track See My Way and Townshend's knack for a catchy pop song in Don't Look Away make this a very enjoyable set. My only gripe with this re-issue is with the bonus material. The compilers didn't include the full Ready Steady Who EP and missed out the best track from it, Circles. However, I'm not sure whether that was down to a space issue on the cd itself or a possible license problem with the ownership of the track - it was at the centre of a row between the Who and their original producer Shel Talmy back in the early months of 1966. Its definitely worth buying but personally, I would love to see this album given the deluxe treatment the other two early Who albums received recently. They could issue a second disc of the original mono album mix and this time include Circles as well along with the alternate version of I'm A Boy first heard on Meaty Beaty Big & Bouncy plus any other off-cuts, alternate takes, demos etc. In fact see The Who Sell Out's deluxe edition for a great example!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2016
I have every album & DVD of the who this is my fave album they made they where also the greatest live band ever.Crying shame keith and john are no longer with us.Love to watch pete smash his guitars and keith demolish his drums great memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 August 2004
In 1995, the Who's 1st LP for the Reaction label, A Quick One, from 1966, was remastered, remixed in analogue and re-issued in the UK by Polydor (527 758-2), complete with 10 extra tracks and a colour booklet with extensive notes.

A Quick One, featuring a cover by the very fashionable Pop Art graphic artist Alan Aldridge, showed that the Who had developed a unique sound and style of their own. Gone was the profusion of cover versions as found on My Generation, their first album, with all members of the band contributing to the composer credits. Only one cover, Martha and the Vandellas' Heatwave, in an arrangement from an Everly Brothers album, made the final tracklisting (an earlier version had been dropped from the My Generation album, and in America even this new version was replaced by the hit single Happy Jack).

A Quick One lacked the wild savagery soundwise of the first album, but still had all the elements of it including Keith Moon's powerhouse drumming and chaotic creative energy, as showcased on the well-named instrumental Cobwebs And Strange. The songs were in the main light-hearted and enjoyably immature, John Entwistle's Boris The Spider and Whiskey Man in particular showed a unique humour. Pete Townshend's songwriting talents continued to develop. The album opened with his thunderous Run, Run Run, a song that had earlier been given to The Cat to record on a single produced by Pete Townshend. Along the way came So Sad About Us, later to be covered by the Breeders and the Jam (who also revived the Who's version of Heatwave). The album finale was the ten-minute mini-opera A Quick One (While He's Away), which set in motion a whole new direction for his talents, and led, of course, to Tommy.

The extra tracks began with most of the contemporaneous Ready Steady Who! EP: Batman, Bucket T and Barbara Ann, the three surf music covers from side 1, and Disguises from side 2 (Peculiarly, Circles is not included on this or, it seems, any other Who CD except in an earlier recording). The surfer sides were the influence of Keith Moon, who had played in a surf combo called the Beachcombers in the surfing paradise of Wembley, London.

The B-sides of Happy Jack (I've Been Away), Pictures Of Lily (Doctor, Doctor) and I'm A Boy (In The City) follow, all written or co-written by John Entwistle, and three previously unreleased tracks complete the package. These are an acoustic version of Happy Jack, a great cover of the Everly Brothers' Man With Money and an anarchic version of My Generation which appears to begin in mono and segues gloriously into a stereo feedback-drenched rendition of Land Of Hope And Glory. This was originally intended for the Ready Steady Who! EP, released to tie-in with their appearance on the famous TV show, but was not music from the show itself.

A Quick One was originally released in mono in the UK, and according to the booklet in both mono and stereo versions in the US, although the 1995 re-issue CD appears not to have had access to the stereo masters if such they were (they may just have been electronically re-channeled fake stereo). Run, Run, Run appeared in a stereo version previously available on the vinyl Backtrack 3 compilation sampler, but, apart from Whiskey Man the rest of the original album was monaural, with 5 of the bonus tracks in stereo, including the Batman theme, which may have come from the same Backtrack series.

This release of this stereo edition of the album has nothing on the CD itself to differentiate it from the 1995 edition which appeared alongside it on the record shop shelves and which had a sticker saying it was newly remastered and remixed. The publication date on both sleeve and disc is still given as 1995, and the booklet is an exact reprint of the 1995 edition. There is not even a sticker with additional information on the cover of the case of the British re-issue.

This poor and rather wasteful promotion and lack of demarcation is a shame because when I finally tracked down the correct copy it more than lived up to expectations. The whole of A Quick One is in full stereo. Run, Run, Run is in a new and slightly longer mix, and all the bonus tracks are stereo too, with the sole exception of the acoustic Happy Jack. This gives a bigger, clearer sound allowing many of the production subtleties to be fully appreciated for the first time thanks to the separation, especially for headphone listening, and particularly enhances the vocal harmonies.

The absence of a revised booklet means one unfortunately cannot tell whether these mixes are derived from 1966 stereo masters or were newly created from multi-track tapes for this release.
11 Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)